starting problems honda civic

rodcivic1

starting problems honda civic

Postby rodcivic1 » November 12th, 2008, 7:40 pm

I recently changed my engine and put in a d15b v-tec I'm getting a hard start when the engine is cold i have to dope the engine any ideas?

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2008, 8:06 pm

check:

spark plugs, plug wires, distributor timing

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » November 13th, 2008, 12:47 am

check/change the spark plugs

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » November 13th, 2008, 8:56 am

what engine did you have in before

Postby crazybalhead » November 13th, 2008, 10:04 am

Clean the throttle body and IACV.

Postby Rainman » November 13th, 2008, 10:55 am

^^^^what they said.

although i would check the IACV stepper motor first, then the IACV and TB, then move onto timing/electrical distribution system. another thing you can check for if it is a foreign used engine is your fuel rail. sometime when they move the engines they attach a chain or sling to the fuel rail, if the rail bends upwards your injectors may not be seating properly check that as well.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 13th, 2008, 11:11 am

sometime when they move the engines they attach a chain or sling to the fuel rail, if the rail bends upwards your injectors may not be seating properly check that as well.

Heavens to Betsy no!...... :shock:

venum

Postby venum » November 13th, 2008, 11:50 am

what gas you using ?

super or premuim

friend of mine experienced similar with his EJ16 (Subie 1.6 TS)

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 17th, 2008, 9:09 pm

de choke?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 18th, 2008, 9:35 am

if u got ru dawg,,,clean yuh tb,take out the sensor(idle i think) and get it cleaned up,that does get real durtteeee,,,i had probs with mine and i did clean it,now no more probs.i took out my intake,,cleaned it properly,cleaned the tb outside of the engine