Best Tuner in Trinidad...

Postby Wizard » April 29th, 2004, 8:12 pm

So who is it ?

I have heard 3 main names...

Yanci (sp?)
Prentice
Tola

But I've also heard real people saying Yanci and Tola are not experienced tuners. Is dat true ? Who's the best ? For Nissans and Hondas ?

JWT

Postby JWT » April 29th, 2004, 8:31 pm

hmm the best honda tuner from what i heard is TOLA
and the best all round is Prentice

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 29th, 2004, 8:49 pm

Yeah , but when yuh go by Tola de WOMAN does watch what yuh driving an say OR IS AHH HONDA YUH DRIVING.....$$$$$ BY $$$$$$$$$
aN ENT DEY SAY PRENTICE DOES bun do----------oops VERY sorry!!
:oops: :oops: I learn my bloody lesson BY GOING BY DEM FELLAS DE HARD WAY YES!!!!!!

De Best Tuner in Trinidad iS TRY TO MOST TINGS BY ----------------------

YOURSELF!!!!!!!!

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » April 29th, 2004, 8:53 pm

^^^^ :? :? :|

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » April 29th, 2004, 9:59 pm

Prentice is the best all-round.

JWT

Postby JWT » April 29th, 2004, 10:00 pm

i doe understand people u know
we eh ask abot a man past

neways props to both mechanics both proved themselves on the race track
anyone is safe with anyone of either Prentice or Tolas

Sully

Postby Sully » April 29th, 2004, 10:02 pm

Nissan: Swami Dave
Toyota: Trac, Toysport
Honda: DropShop ... you know you just going to end up with rice anyway.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 29th, 2004, 11:14 pm

Honda: DropShop ... you know you just going to end up with rice anyway.

like no body like drop shop

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 30th, 2004, 7:44 am

lol, trac is a boss with toyota

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 30th, 2004, 8:00 am

ONCE AHH DOG SUCKING EGG FROM YOUNG , IT GO ALWAYS SUCK EGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

ZORT

Postby ZORT » April 30th, 2004, 8:30 am

The best tuners if yourself - you first have to understand what you want done. Research via the web and book. Ensure who ever you choose will take the time to ensure you understand what is being done.

At the end of the day you need to know cause it is your car.

zort

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 30th, 2004, 8:55 am

Zort, daz de same ting ahh trying to explain................................BUUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT?????????????????????
Dem aint wah listen to ahh man like me so ................pay de price$$$$$
an in de long run yuh go find out how much these pro's ROB DE A$$

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2004, 9:03 am

Zort way is also the cheapest :mrgreen:
I am not too technically minded but most principles I understand so from there I can feel my way around. Therefore I must have a back up.
You mechanic choice will also dictate what u want your car to do. Reputations will also help in deciding who u choose. Their initial price will also decide whether you will go back there but relationships aren't built overnight so the famialiarity aspect would take time to build.
My mechanic assembled alot of those roro cars and troubled shot them also. Most problems he will know how to deal with them and he also has 6 cars that drive wallerfield, compete and drive back home and they run from 16secs braket to 11 and change. They all place in their respective brackets also so the cars and drivers are continuous in their performance.
My 51cents in meh wallet.

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » April 30th, 2004, 12:01 pm

Toyota: Trac, Toysport

where dem men from? dey really good?

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » April 30th, 2004, 12:11 pm

:? ah would think this would be important?

Wizard

Postby Wizard » April 30th, 2004, 1:38 pm

blu-rolla wrote:

:? ah would think this would be important?

sometimes dat is a sign of experience.

but tuning yuh self ? I would love to, but tuning is pure experience and I tink I would rather trust someone who does it for a living rather than a closet tuner (me).

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2004, 1:44 pm

i first major tuning bug was misplacing spark plug wires, if u want to learn u have to do some stuff wrong and then move from there and experience is the key here
Remember, this is your car we talking about, don't kid yourself, if it is out of your league then leave it for a pro cause as the saying goes, you might do more damage.

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » April 30th, 2004, 2:56 pm

sometimes dat is a sign of experience.

what? gaining experience on my car and then telling me "well now ah know what not to do"
:? :evil: SLAP.

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » April 30th, 2004, 5:26 pm

Now that is why yuh must have a mechanic like mine.. d man buff me a time and tell me what to do and where to get a part for the car.. and then he tell me to check him after so he could look to see if I do everything correct. Well I was a happy camper that whole day... Take down distributor, get a "new" one, change plugs and wires.. I ran into some probs gave him a call he told me what to do and got it working. :mrgreen:

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 30th, 2004, 5:46 pm

hey blu-rolla, yuh damn right!!!!!! it come like dat hot shot mechanic/electrition in Gasparillo dat (CHINEEBOY PANG ) an dem used to go by. ( and yuh see ahh say USE to go by) after ahh give de man meh external coil to put some proper connectors an adjust meh timing, De man do some SHITE an ehh even solder no wires but twiss it up wit wit his hand like if is he sister hair he trying to canerow, put some small peice of electrical tape, den bun up my computer an ahh module an den tell me i have to bring another computer an module for him to install. so when i ask him why i must buy it he say IT WAS NOT HIS FAULT. I TOW MY CAR AWAY YES :evil: :evil: DAT IS WHY I ORGANISE MY OWN COIL MY D@MN SELF..................what it cost meh to do by meh pardner shop?????
2-Carib and 2-Stag------------2 for meh parnah an de nex 2 for me :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » April 30th, 2004, 6:24 pm

Ive had problems with so called good mechanics in the past.....for the past 10 years I have been doing most of the work on my car for myself and I stick to the same line of car so it is easy...........b11 then b13 and now b14.
I have been tuning my cars for the past 10 years with no problem

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 30th, 2004, 6:54 pm

Now dont get me wrong, but i know is not everything you can do for yourself but try to read and understand as ZORT said and then you can actually do some of the things yourself. Even if you are going to carry the car by a mechanic, some people hand them the keys and maybee take a seat not wanting to see what the mechanic is actually doing. just by looking on and asking some simple questions you some times realise that you could of saved that same money for something else. Take for eg; you know how much people cant change disk pads because why??? They dont want to learn. They will own the car for 2-3 years and will always pay somebody about $30 - $40 just to do that. Changing oil is another thing. Now if you are a woman i'll understand your nails and other things. :D :D Check dis one, ahh was by meh pardnah place who selling lil stuff for cars de odder day an ahh man driving ahh Ceferro by some headlight bulbs an asking where in de Mount Hope area have ahh mechanic to get it installed.
when we ask de man so whyyou cyah put it in youself ......... dis was de answer I FRAID I GET SHOCK YES :? :? :? nw dah one was de best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

all motor

Re: Best Tuner in Trinidad...

Postby all motor » April 30th, 2004, 7:32 pm

Wizard wrote:Yanci (sp?)
Last edited by all motor on June 21st, 2004, 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » April 30th, 2004, 11:08 pm

fellas i always encourage tuners to try to do all the work themselves, if you are not mechanically inclined or dont have the tools, carry it by a mechanic and stay with them while they do the work, watch and learn everything, ask questions, nuttin makes a quack mechanic more uneasy than a extremely car concious owner.
Find out everything, when they said they have changed parts ask to see the old worn parts, when they bought stuff ask for reciepts, when you bring new parts and its installed let them show you where, your best bet is to stay the entire time with your car, and get to know about your car, do research, get a broken motor and scrap it and change old oil pumps and thing :mrgreen: dont encourage workers to behave loosely arround your car or lean on it to eat ah doubles, let them know that you are extremely anal when it come to your car so they know if you where to ever leave it there they wont FCUK with it!! :twisted: Also(i always do this) ask past customers about the mechanic before you do major work, when it comes to mechanics, customers cant have a love, hate relationship with them, is either they good, or they is ah quack.
I myself have been burnt by mechanics, i didnt have the tools or time to do the work myself, after wasting money behind them, i have assembled enough tools to do minor work and my Toyota BG book, its like my bible :mrgreen:
I do have other mechanics who do other work for me like some suspension and other real greasy jobs, but its under my conditions, they have to come home by me, and they have to be able to take correction. Obviously they are compensated for it, but i dont want to leave my car by any mechanic, no one, and I MEAN NO ONE WOULD CARE FOR YOUR CARE BUT YOU! i've seen it for myself, guy left his red 300zx, it came in clean and shiney, even when the owner dropped it off he leaned on it and before he left he took out his handkerchif and wipped the area he leaned 8) as soon as he leave, i see fellas changeing dey b13 oil and resting de bottle on he bonnet , oil and thing leaking all over the bonnet :(

as for recommending mechanics, i CANNOT vouch for these 2 but i have gotten some good review on them
Hakim
Prentice

as for them being ontime with your car, GET PREPARED TO WAIT :( most mechanics, when they say 2 weeks, its usually 2 months :|

Postby Hook » May 1st, 2004, 7:20 am

I'm diggin wha Nick Jr. sayin dey...my mech know when I show up by him dat is either some sheit ah do or sumting I know I cyar handle...

if is de former, he'll organize mih wid where to get whatever, how much NOT to pay and how to do it while he watchin me do it fuh mihself...
if is de latter, he'll either do it himself while givin lil brief explanations and entertaining questions or de same ting like wha ah type above dey...

iz not like he givin away he business either. I sure he glad to have anodda grease monkey in de shop when he have cars park up all out in de road and ah man dey who could handle he scene wid his own ride...I learn how to change oil+filter, plugs, shocks, cradle bushings, brakes, how to scrap down and clean out a carb, flush radiator, adjusting timing, tweaking the timing advance curve and a whole bunch of other stuff I too lazy to try and remember now...and because iz me doin it fuh mihself, iz only small money passin!

DNicK

Postby DNicK » May 3rd, 2004, 8:14 am

^^agree with everything you said there. that's what i do, i even help fix other ppls cars too.

ziontrain

Postby ziontrain » May 3rd, 2004, 10:43 am

prentice is the best tuner and no other tuner is even near to his experiance and no how of high perf. cars just lood and who tunes tweaty,superman,aboud,that says it all

blu-rolla

Postby blu-rolla » May 3rd, 2004, 11:26 am

in my HUMBLE opinion, ah good tuner iz not de men who work on a few very fast cars that have owners with very deep pockets to buy all de top brand parts,
a good tuner iz de one who could make a escort with ah push rod engine do ah easy 13 second quater ml, and still drive it 120km to work everyday, RELIABLY. dat iz de man who truly understand how de engine supposed to work and can get it to do exactly what it was designed to do.

and on top of that, treat your car in the exact same way, not because you have money, but because he wouldn't settle fuh anything sub-standard. I know men like dat, and when yuh ask dem how much$$, "just gimme anything nah, doh studdy it". :shock:

probably de first time yuh would willingly pay ah mechanic extra.

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2004, 11:28 am

^^^^^ thas ,my mechanic, all does drive and race and drive back home for the daily commute

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » May 3rd, 2004, 12:27 pm

It had a fella with a beat up ole Hatch back Lazer.. when I tell you beat up... no windscreen on 17's chrome, come up wallers a day and cut everybody skin... never saw it after that. But the damn car was wukin' so who ever tune that... is a god tuner :lol: :lol: