WTK: A/C Problem Diagnosis

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 15th, 2008, 4:37 pm

Vehicle:
Mitsubishi CK Lancer (1997)

Problem:
After about just over of an hour's running of the a/c, the air coming out of the vents seems to be less intense than when it was now switched on. A secondary problem (not sure if it is associated with the first) is that the temperature of the air is not as cold as it used to be, say, a month ago. This problem was noticed to suddenly occur and did not happen over a period of a few days.

An a/c shop I took it to said that there may be a leak in the system and the expansion valve, blower motor, drier, pressure switch and some other (minor) parts had to be replaced. Their quote for this work was around $3,300.00. The a/c place said that if the evaporator had to also be replaced, then the cost for the work (including a new evaporator and accessories) would go up to around $6,000.00.

Questions:
1) Could anyone confirm or comment on the a/c shop's diagnosis?
2) Could anyone recommend an a/c shop (either in the San Fernando environs or the Tacarigua environs) where I could get a second opinion?

Any assistance that can be provided will be sincerely appreciated.

Thank you.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 15th, 2008, 11:20 pm

3300 is way too much ...like them wah rob you blind or wah ..........your problem could vary.......is your condenser getting hott ............could be a leak does it go dead after a month or so???

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 16th, 2008, 6:43 am

D_bodyguard wrote:3300 is way too much ...like them wah rob you blind or wah ..........

Which is why I want a second opinion.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 16th, 2008, 7:02 am

Maybe this thread might be of some assistance

The A/C problem thread. Check here first!

cool

Postby cool » December 16th, 2008, 9:27 am

?mmmmm?m???
Last edited by cool on January 23rd, 2021, 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 16th, 2008, 4:06 pm

cool wrote:...so you would really have to get it checked at a place you can trust so they would not make you change many parts unnecessarily.

Can anyone recommend a trustworthy place?

Given the amount of money that may be involved in this repair, location does not really matter.

Thanks.

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2008, 6:40 pm

Sachin A/C in the bamboo, drive straight down a good way in
they are on the same/behind compound as a Chinese restaurant on the left
they will charge you $40 to do an assessment

cool

Postby cool » December 17th, 2008, 7:45 am

Last edited by cool on June 13th, 2020, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

sharkmouth

Re: WTK: A/C Problem Diagnosis

Postby sharkmouth » July 7th, 2010, 11:46 pm

Was your system pressure tested before they reccommended you to change your condenser?If not you are being robbed.It could be a variety of things...but better get a honest person,i can't recommend anyone though.g/l