ENGINE TRANSFER

slow323

ENGINE TRANSFER

Postby slow323 » March 25th, 2009, 3:22 pm

Guys, partner of mine selling a car, which he is getting financing to pay for it,
the car has had an engine change that hasn't gone on the certified copy, now that the car has to be sold the finance company doesn't want to release the funds till the engine change has been rectified.
Problem is the guy doesn't have the bill where he purchased the engine can he still go to the licensing office and get it changed without the receipt for the engine
any advice would be grateful

Postby Hook » March 25th, 2009, 4:58 pm

AFAIK u need the receipt

vin123

Postby vin123 » March 25th, 2009, 5:42 pm

no he can't, jus go and ask for another receipt...
same thing happened with me when i went to do engine change, i "misplaced" mines but jus went by d mech and made over one...
u need to get it or they'll think d engine was stolen

slow323

Postby slow323 » March 25th, 2009, 10:07 pm

update.
partner got another receipt, so he should be good to go with that
thanks for the advice guys

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 26th, 2009, 7:00 am

can anyone give the steps that involves doing an engine change? :oops:

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » March 26th, 2009, 7:32 am

1. Receipt with correct engine #

2. Full out the change of engine form which is available in licensing office

3. Carry car over the 'pit' area for a licensing officer to check also have certified copy of vehicle.

4. Once everything is ok, the officer will sign the change of engine form and he will sens you to the cashier to pay a fee of $20 and you may have to pay and extra $ 20 for the new certified copy.

5. Next few weeks your new engine will be on the certified copy.

Postby Hook » March 26th, 2009, 9:10 am

^^^ correct...the little yellow form u need to fill out

note however that the new engine number must be CLEARLY visible...Lic. Officers don't like to have to do any kinda hard work to find it, so the onus is on you to make it visible...walk with a stick of chalk or some WD40 if u think you'll run into probs seeing it (d pit is covered so it's a lil darker than the outside)
what I've done before is to clean the area with a little emery, when the engine is cold of course (like the same morning b4 u leave home) so that the area is clean and the stamped number remains dark

also, I've seen ppl go in for simple stuff (engine change, colour change etc.) and bonx up some officers who make them have to take off their illegal aftermarket fogs and strip tint and stuff before they get to what they came for...don't make urself stay longer than u have to

slow323

engine transfer

Postby slow323 » March 26th, 2009, 11:40 am

awesomeandre wrote:1. Receipt with correct engine #

3. Carry car over the 'pit' area for a licensing officer to check also have certified copy of vehicle.

4. Once everything is ok, the officer will sign the change of engine form and he will sens you to the cashier to pay a fee of $20 and you may have to pay and extra $ 20 for the new certified copy.

steps should be made into a sticky so steps would be readily found for reference

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 27th, 2009, 6:41 am

awesomeandre wrote:1. Receipt with correct engine #

thanks man...... :P

lol @ hook! :oops:

Postby Hook » March 27th, 2009, 5:22 pm

^^^ thas serious talk jed....see me helpin out some stranger trying to spray WD40 in some lil crevice by the radiator hose for mister occifer to see the engine number...all this after another officer made him pull out of teh line and strip off his tint...pressure

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2009, 10:37 am

^gadd.....doh talk bout if de engine hotttt too

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 29th, 2009, 5:18 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ thas serious talk jed....see me helpin out some stranger trying to spray WD40 in some lil crevice by the radiator hose for mister occifer to see the engine number...all this after another officer made him pull out of teh line and strip off his tint...pressure

respect!!!!!!!!!

8-)

Rayden6

Re: ENGINE TRANSFER

Postby Rayden6 » February 20th, 2021, 2:14 pm

What's the cost now to do Colour,Engine changes

Re: ENGINE TRANSFER

Postby *KRONIK* » February 20th, 2021, 3:04 pm

Rayden6 wrote:What's the cost now to do Colour,Engine changes