Apparent Radiator Problem *

V2NR 3.0

Apparent Radiator Problem *

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 18th, 2009, 12:31 pm

Good Day,

Im having an apparent radiator problem. The temperature gauge starts rising when the car is going up hill (maracas). From the time down-hill driving starts the temperature drops.

When the car is on normal road - the temperature holds.

What on earth is going on ?

Its a 3-core brass radiator
Last edited by V2NR 3.0 on April 19th, 2009, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2009, 3:37 pm

checked your transmission oil ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 18th, 2009, 4:08 pm

losing water? if yes, get a pressure test done.

is your rad fan connected directly, or does it work with the oem fan switch?
is the fan switch operational? does the temp also go up in traffic?

when last was your tranny fluid changed? it may be that the tranny overheat is manifesting itself in the rad.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 18th, 2009, 6:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:when last was your tranny fluid changed? it may be that the tranny overheat is manifesting itself in the rad.

:oops: Thanks for that.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 18th, 2009, 7:13 pm

starts rising to how high? (jus slightly higher or redzone high?)

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 18th, 2009, 7:57 pm

D man runnin gearbox not tranny.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 18th, 2009, 9:45 pm

yakuza wrote:D man runnin gearbox not tranny.

^^^ if this is true then the tranny fluid problem is out

I've noticed, especially with older cars, that this is normal since you have the engine at hi-rev to climb the hills and you not moving fast enough to have natural air-flow through the radiator. The temperature raises a little and the fan doesn't cut off as often as it normally does.

That should explain it; temperature regularizes on normal roads and downhill.

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2009, 9:49 pm

for the uninformed a transmission is a transmission weather it be automatic transmission or manual transmission :arrow:

low transmission oil could be the culprit

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 18th, 2009, 9:59 pm

buzz wrote:for the uninformed a transmission is a transmission weather it be automatic transmission or manual transmission :arrow:

low transmission oil could be the culprit

D man runnin a "manual transmission", that is NOT connected to the radiator in any way.

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2009, 11:30 pm

thought it was AT

my bad

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2009, 11:34 pm

ok now read it over :oops: :lol:

theblitz theory sounds correct and have witnessed myself with a MT but not by much though *shruggs*

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2009, 9:33 am

The temperature gauge is an autometer water temperature gauge. The engine is sr20det. Going uphill, the temperature increases From about 180f to about 202f. Ironically, on the decline it returns to 180f.

Into full boost it also goes up to about 204f (pretty hard driving)

Could this in anyway be because of a radiator flow problem?.

V2NR 3.0

Apparent Radiator Problem*

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2009, 9:36 am

theblitz: It starts heating to about 202-204f from 180f

The possibility of a fan switch is out since the fans are direct.

Someone mentioned a radiator leak...would this cause it?

Postby Hook » April 19th, 2009, 9:43 am

has ur thermostat been gutted?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2009, 9:51 am

Hook wrote:has ur thermostat been gutted?

No sure what you mean - but there is a NISMO thermostat inside which is supposed to give you a ten-degree lower operating temp. So imagine if i didnt have it :shock:

Postby Hook » April 19th, 2009, 10:00 am

was just wondering if it's still present and operational or if it had been gutted out

and u say this only happens going uphill? what about in standstill traffic?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 19th, 2009, 1:09 pm

booge, I don't think you have a problem at all :lol:

but to make sure, answer the question about standstill traffic.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2009, 2:13 pm

^^^^

Standstill traffic is okay - 185f

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 19th, 2009, 2:24 pm

ok well then the rise in temperature is normal since the engine is running hotter since you revving high and not moving as fast as you normally would; less air is moving onto the radiator and intercooler. Standstill traffic is ok since you are at idle most of the time.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 19th, 2009, 8:53 pm

booge, you still runnin d single flexalite fan, you have a stock automatic radiator?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2009, 9:00 pm

yakuza wrote:booge, you still runnin d single flexalite fan, you have a stock automatic radiator?

Yes my fan set up is the same and the radiator has been re-built to 3 core brass.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » April 19th, 2009, 9:08 pm

Time to get some dual speed fans, comes off the CD20 B14.

Postby brams112 » April 19th, 2009, 10:17 pm

allyuh eh ask the man if he running water or coolant,plus he needs to know what is the normal operating temp,on most cars it is half way or slightly over,,,,,,,but mostly halfway in normal driving,if fluid is going low> gasket why not check a mech :P

f8less

Postby f8less » April 19th, 2009, 10:25 pm

I don't think the temp should go past 180-185f whether in traffic, going up a hill, or hard drivin. The problem with those brass rads. is that they don't dissipate heat as fast as an aluminum one, that may be a problem. Maybe you need to increase the fan capacity an also check to see the direction of air flow from the fan. It can also be a tuning problem. I have the experience of drivin a vehicle with an s15 engine usin that same a/meter guage, the first person to tune the management system had the temp goin up to 202avg. After re-tuning...under normal drivin condition it stays at 160avg an heavy drivin it goes to 180 an stays there. Also, inspect the water lines for any signs of leakage after drivin, especially the one to the turbo.

Postby crazybalhead » April 20th, 2009, 7:05 am

180-204 def F is NORMAL. at higher loads the temp will increase. My car does it all the time. The fans cut it at about 98 deg C, which is about 208 F.

Normal thing.

All this "advice" people giving. I am sure your stock gauge does not even move. Which is why I would recommend an aftermarket water temp gauge for any performance vehicle.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 20th, 2009, 7:14 am

crazybalhead wrote:180-204 def F is NORMAL. at higher loads the temp will increase. My car does it all the time. The fans cut it at about 98 deg C, which is about 208 F.

Normal thing.

All this "advice" people giving. I am sure your stock gauge does not even move. Which is why I would recommend an aftermarket water temp gauge for any performance vehicle.
nice :)

Postby crazybalhead » April 20th, 2009, 9:26 am

f8less, 160 deg f is too cool. Your car will run rich and not run properly.

Well thais my opinion anyway.

f8less

Postby f8less » April 20th, 2009, 6:06 pm

crazybalhead wrote:f8less, 160 deg f is too cool. Your car will run rich and not run properly.

Well thais my opinion anyway.

Thought so mehself... but this was after the dyno with haltech. Properly tuned. After some hard revvin it goes up to 180f but never crosses that.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 20th, 2009, 9:54 pm

crazybalhead wrote:180-204 def F is NORMAL. at higher loads the temp will increase. My car does it all the time. The fans cut it at about 98 deg C, which is about 208 F.

Normal thing.

Well this is exactly whats happening.

Car runs glycoshell (think i spelt wrong)...fan is in correct direction and tuning is good. Therefore nothing to worry about then ?

f8less

Postby f8less » April 23rd, 2009, 1:54 am

I asked aroun an 204F seems ok to some. Nothin to hott ur head bout!!!
I guess...........