Which to choose?

KE70corolla

Which to choose?

Postby KE70corolla » April 18th, 2009, 1:19 pm

Hey guys, I have a choice between a 2005 mitsu 1.6 GLXI lancer verses a honda 2005 1.6 VTI (both auto)...

What are the pros and cons of them?

Please vote because I need to make a choice....

Also, are there any mods that are readily available to either one?

Postby bushwakka » April 18th, 2009, 11:02 pm

if u want ppl to vote...maybe u shud create a poll?

Postby gt4tified » April 18th, 2009, 11:10 pm

Daz like choosing between a french fry and a potato....but as said, create a poll.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 18th, 2009, 11:12 pm

Both similar. But you'll need a poll for sure.

Postby 0001 » April 18th, 2009, 11:34 pm

both are reliable cars.........parts are available

dont kno much bout the gas millage for the lancer though but the civic will give u good millage

in terms of performance they are similar

i would tell u take the honda cuz i hav one and i never had any problems wit it.......

i am not saying that the lancer is not a good car but that is what i would choose

there are plenty mods available for the two cars.......but what are u talking about performance or appearance?

srnoth

Postby srnoth » April 18th, 2009, 11:58 pm

Lancers are very reliable... once you change transmission fluid according to your maintenance schedule.

Personally I find the interiors on the lancers were much more interesting... much more modern. Civic interiors were for a long time boxy and old fashioned... although they seem to have done a good job with the 08 civic... very modern interior.

I also prefer the look of the lancer... but that is personal preference.

Don't think you'll have a problem finding parts for either car, and reliability should be similar.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 19th, 2009, 2:10 am

Had both a Lancer and Civic (older models though). I have to say I miss the Civic much more.

Marct

Postby Marct » April 19th, 2009, 6:58 am

DTAC wrote:Had both a Lancer and Civic (older models though). I have to say I miss the Civic much more.

same here- creature comforts in the lancer are way better than the civic,better mileage too....

however the vtec was a bytch though great acceleration in the civic

parts for the civic are more expensive than the lancer

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 19th, 2009, 8:21 am

I thought I created a poll.... *scratches head*

Well I saw a manual 1.6 Vtec 2005 VTI (since I posted this thread)... That seems like fun...

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » April 19th, 2009, 11:07 am

VTi ;)

then again, im biased...

Postby bushwakka » April 19th, 2009, 1:31 pm

srnoth wrote:Lancers are very reliable... once you change transmission fluid according to your maintenance schedule.

Personally I find the interiors on the lancers were much more interesting... much more modern. Civic interiors were for a long time boxy and old fashioned... although they seem to have done a good job with the 08 civic... very modern interior.

I also prefer the look of the lancer... but that is personal preference.

Don't think you'll have a problem finding parts for either car, and reliability should be similar.

2 modern....who likes looking at a digital speedometer? apart from that...velly nice

f8less

Postby f8less » April 19th, 2009, 10:37 pm

The suspension on the Vti is excellent. Very well built. The fuel efficiency is extremely excellent as well.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 19th, 2009, 10:40 pm

<------

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2009, 10:54 pm

drove the new civic on a regular basis
suspsnsion too soft...handles like a pirogue
had issues with dashboard trim, power windows and leaking / malfunctioning windscreen washer motor / bottle
trunk too shallow to be practical for a car that size

Lancers we used took tons of abuse without a squeak

Lancer FTW

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » April 20th, 2009, 11:06 pm

wait na.....lancer talk an Rush aint jump in yet!!????....

performance round the same
but i'll choose the lancer
2005 is the frog eye ones ent??
either way, LANCER for it!!!

sheenz

Postby sheenz » April 21st, 2009, 10:36 am

srnoth wrote:

i totally agree...saw both and preferred the lancer
if the performance is practically the same... go for the look...
and by the look of things..the lancer take win by a long margin..

Postby bushwakka » April 21st, 2009, 6:52 pm

badmanbopeep wrote:wait na.....lancer talk an Rush aint jump in yet!!????....

performance round the same
but i'll choose the lancer
2005 is the frog eye ones ent??
either way, LANCER for it!!!

frog eye? wey de fack alyuh duz come up wit dese names for headlights? i still want sumone to explain to me how an 05 impreza looks like peanuts

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 22nd, 2009, 2:58 am

IMO lancer is a better choice...
the Civic part are a bit more and have a better acceleration but overall the lancer.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 22nd, 2009, 6:00 am

Dude, best flip a coin, yes! :lol:

Postby bushwakka » April 22nd, 2009, 6:06 pm

this dude eh make a poll yet? :?

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 22nd, 2009, 8:42 pm

I am going for the manual VTI....

I give up on the poll....

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 22nd, 2009, 8:50 pm

KE70corolla wrote:I am going for the manual VTI....

I give up on the poll....

I'd go with that also, but its really a tough decision there.....both vehicles have their 'ups and downs'.....but i find the VTi also has a sexy look to it :roll: :)

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 22nd, 2009, 9:33 pm

Anzar, yea i totally agree with you... Plus I can have some fun with the manual transmission....

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 22nd, 2009, 10:24 pm

KE70corolla wrote:Anzar, yea i totally agree with you... Plus I can have some fun with the manual transmission....

freal, but just dont put it on your tuner ride, there are real honda haterz on the forum......... i also own a ek3 just to send up the mileage an refrain from sending up the scooby mileage, and yet i never had any major problems with the ek3, manual transmisson also. But it all depends on the owner also, i hope you keep the Vti in tops condition......GL with your new buy