fellas i have a big Problem

CarelessJohn

fellas i have a big Problem

Postby CarelessJohn » July 12th, 2009, 10:17 pm

Ok here is the deal I have 18" chrome on my car but the problem is i have the snap in centre caps is plastic and now one of the caps is really slack and i think it may fly out at anytime so could someone please help me on how I could fix this....
Last edited by CarelessJohn on July 12th, 2009, 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

subzerounlimited

Postby subzerounlimited » July 12th, 2009, 10:31 pm

the snap in centre caps metal or plastic?

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » July 12th, 2009, 10:52 pm

is plastic

subzerounlimited

Postby subzerounlimited » July 12th, 2009, 11:13 pm

dang... have the same prob on a van... luckilly though those screw down... in your case ... maybe you could have someone fiberglass the edge for a better fit.... or some other plastic application that would make for a better fit...
other than this... my last idead would be to stick a small magnet behind the plastic cap or something if its close enough to the metal so that it can hold well...maybe this would hold it...
:)

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2009, 11:21 pm

pull the cap out and stretch the metal ring behind it and reinsert it
they get lose with age man its inevitable

dregz

Postby dregz » July 12th, 2009, 11:28 pm

if dat doh work get it remade by any fiberglass workshop.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 13th, 2009, 6:07 am

Why don't you just fix it place with a small diameter Allen bolt?

1. Take rim off and place horizontal on the ground

2. Fix plastic cap in place

3. Drill small hole through plastic cap and into rim

4. Tap threads into hole drilled into rim

5. Mount rim back onto vehicle

6. Put plastic cap back onto rim, aligning the hole in the plastic cap with that in the rim

7. Pass Allen bolt through hole in plastic cap and screw into rim

8. Tighten gently so as to hold plastic cap firmly in place but so as not to crack or damage plastic cap

My TT$0.03.

vans

Postby vans » July 13th, 2009, 7:46 am

^^^ good advice , but a little risky.

yellow

Postby yellow » July 13th, 2009, 8:39 am

Do what the tyre shops do ......... put it back on with clear silicone paste on the edges....you know d silicone that holds aquariams together.

biggreen

Postby biggreen » July 13th, 2009, 8:44 am

x2^

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » July 13th, 2009, 11:35 am

Thank you very much fellas but if i have to do this i think i need to get it professionally done because i don't want to fuc up the thing... so advice is still needed thank you so much fellas....Oh another thing it don't have any metal ring at the back it just snaps in....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 13th, 2009, 12:25 pm

CarelessJohn wrote:Thank you very much fellas but if i have to do this i think i need to get it professionally done because i don't want to fuc up the thing... so advice is still needed thank you so much fellas....Oh another thing it don't have any metal ring at the back it just snaps in....

The method I described above does not require any professional to do it. Just take your time. That's all. I did that to the centre caps on my rims and they have been like that for the past 5 years with no problems. As soon as you sense some resistance when tightening the Allen bolt to secure the plastic cap, you stop.

Equipment:

One electric drill
One thread tapper
Allen bolts with washers for the head

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » July 13th, 2009, 1:35 pm

ok man cool by the way what is a thread tapper

neckto

Postby neckto » July 13th, 2009, 3:32 pm

sheesh

well if u dont know better take it to a machine shop and get it done before u break the thing
also the slilcine works just as well
or u can wrap some thread seal around the circum fo the cap and reinsert in firmly, but u will have to redo it everytime u take it off though

subzerounlimited

Postby subzerounlimited » July 13th, 2009, 6:39 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
CarelessJohn wrote:Thank you very much fellas but if i have to do this i think i need to get it professionally done because i don't want to fuc up the thing... so advice is still needed thank you so much fellas....Oh another thing it don't have any metal ring at the back it just snaps in....

The method I described above does not require any professional to do it. Just take your time. That's all. I did that to the centre caps on my rims and they have been like that for the past 5 years with no problems. As soon as you sense some resistance when tightening the Allen bolt to secure the plastic cap, you stop.

Equipment:

One electric drill
One thread tapper
Allen bolts with washers for the head

one question with this...
sometimes the bolt runs slack and often have to be re-tightened... any idea to fix this...

Postby X2 » July 13th, 2009, 7:52 pm

Use some 2 part epoxy to reform the size of the inner part of the cap.

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » July 13th, 2009, 11:29 pm

well i can't really do that b cuz the centre cap has like 4 clips at the rim of it to snap onto the wheel it self

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » July 15th, 2009, 12:18 am

ok cool I found the problem the clips on the inside of the cap well three is broken i used crazy glue to stick it back but when i snap it back in it breaking off again anyone has anyother ideas

Postby X2 » July 15th, 2009, 1:15 am

well lets try this again...

2 part epoxy to reform the clips (or broken pieces)

Postby sMASH » July 17th, 2009, 10:24 am

yellow wrote:Do what the tyre shops do ......... put it back on with clear silicone paste on the edges....you know d silicone that holds aquariams together.

this is very cheap, very strong, easy to go back to previous condition by simply removing the silicone.... when music was in the car, i silicone up nearly ever ting dat used to fall out, most frequently the rear view mirror screw used to back out, causing it to fall.

Postby cinco » July 17th, 2009, 8:46 pm

CarelessJohn wrote:ok cool I found the problem the clips on the inside of the cap well three is broken i used crazy glue to stick it back but when i snap it back in it breaking off again anyone has anyother ideas

plastic welding the clips back into place

best method to DIY is get a soldering iron and a piece of plastic and reowkr it yourself