wtk: who repairs a/c compressors

Lean Wid IT

wtk: who repairs a/c compressors

Postby Lean Wid IT » November 26th, 2009, 8:12 pm

so goin dwn the rd this evening put on my a/c and hear this whirring noise and hot air coming out.......took it off n it stopped put it back on again and rev the noise got louder with hot air still!!

so i carried the car to get it check and so said the compressor knock out....

but looking for a foreign used one is such a big risk so i was wondering if anyone knows who can repair compressors.....cuz it might be a lil difficult to find a replacement

it's for an evo 4

thanx in advance

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » November 26th, 2009, 11:00 pm

would like to kno as well...cuz i cant get a compressor for my car aswell

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 27th, 2009, 9:26 am

Lean Wid IT wrote:...who can repair compressors...
Been there...Done that locally!...Twice!...NEVER AGAIN!
Trust me you don't need the headache...especially from those A/C shops near Morvant and Arouca.

Just BUY a used compressor from a low-milage US Evo 9 on eBay...(pretty cheap.)
You may need a US shipping address...so join eCourier...or SkyBox.
Then you have the service for other purchases too.

Or buy a new, "universal" from Cool Aire in Barataria...(much more expensive.)

I did both (for two cars)...Good results both times, too!

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 27th, 2009, 10:36 am

Sanctifier wrote:
Just BUY a used compressor from a low-milage US Evo 9 on eBay...(pretty cheap.)
You may need a US shipping address...so join eCourier...or SkyBox.
Then you have the service for other purchases too.

cheaper depending on what you bringing down.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 27th, 2009, 3:47 pm

Repairing of Compressors can be very tricky and most of the times expensive. Hit the bamboo my brother !

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 28th, 2009, 1:28 pm

Sanctifier wrote:...a used compressor from a low-milage US Evo 9 on eBay...(pretty cheap.)...
legendkiller@1891 wrote:cheaper depending on what you bringing down.

How about these prices legendkiller. First 4 are from a crashed Evo 9 doing about 24,000 miles.
Fifth is from a 2006 Evo 8: Front & Rear Brembo calipers & rotors...(for my rwd Lancer 1800 GSR) :twisted:
Sanctifier wrote:EVO IX A/C compressor............... OEM 24k...... US $100.00

EVO IX OEM Starter..................... OEM 24k...... US $89.00

EVO IX Factory Alternator............. OEM 24k...... US $78.00

EVO IX POWER STEERING PUMP.... OEM 24K...... US $149.95

2006 EVO 8 BREMBO CALIPERS & ROTORS (x 4) US $456.11

Sometimes it's a bit lower but for convenience, just multiply by 9 or 9.5 (max) for TOTAL LANDED COST... 8-)
Sanctifier wrote:btw the 1st four parts are in EXCELLENT condition...
and BREMBO CALIPERS: Front pair could use a repaint (maybe)...Rear pair are in EXCELLENT condition.
and OEM ROTORS are also in VERY GOOD condition.
Prices MUCH better than in Bamboo Village, not so?

My $0.02¢

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 28th, 2009, 8:04 pm

yep that's some pretty sweet prices. but when i said that i was referring to everything in general like clothes, shoes, music, pc parts, rim's etc yuh get the picture? like for example when something in hong kong, it have to ship to miami (way the skybox is) and then ship to trinidad, thats alot depending on what it is because they charge by weight you no that.