wtk-AC working when driving,but not cooling when standstill

area6

wtk-AC working when driving,but not cooling when standstill

Postby area6 » February 2nd, 2010, 7:25 pm

yea people my ac works fine when i am driving,,,works tops no problems but as soon as i stop the car and idling it blows normal,,,not even cool but just like if a fan was on,,what could be the problem,,someone told me the expansion valve but thought i would get some ides before i jump to anything

silver racer

Postby silver racer » February 2nd, 2010, 7:51 pm

dat same prob happened 2 me wit my ck. it turned out 2 be my fans were at fault. it wasn't spinning as fast.

dunno if dat mite be d same reason wrt 2 u doh.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » February 2nd, 2010, 9:11 pm

check ur fans. when u drive ur condenser gets airflow and cools. if ur fans not working ull defn get this problem. if was ur ex valve it simply wudnt cool

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » February 2nd, 2010, 10:23 pm

A diagnostic will tell you :lol: :lol: BTW i'm dead serious :|

V2NR 3.0

Re: wtk-AC working when driving,but not cooling when standst

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 2nd, 2010, 10:31 pm

area6 wrote:yea people my ac works fine when i am driving,,,works tops no problems but as soon as i stop the car and idling it blows normal,,,not even cool but just like if a fan was on,,what could be the problem,,someone told me the expansion valve but thought i would get some ides before i jump to anything

Encountered this problem already.

1. Are you hearing a loud noise when the theromstat changes ? If yes, its the expsnsion valve.

2. The AC unit has a (i dont want to use the wrong terminology) compressor clutch and this may need changing.

Its one out of the two items identified above.

Lets see how this turns out....

area6

Postby area6 » February 3rd, 2010, 7:16 am

well i will check and see these problems but not sure at all,,,,willl let the ec man check itback too

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 3rd, 2010, 8:15 am

if you need a really good ac man, let me now

Mosaic

Use a hose....B4 the water police!

Postby Mosaic » February 3rd, 2010, 11:05 am

While at home under cover of darkness.....idle the car and put a hose running water on the condenser. It by the radiator. If it cools then , then u a/c fan ain't cutting it.

Can u imagin wasa spending $$ on water police, but can't fix a leak. Govt Paying Calder hart $200K /month, an we plebs can't wash a car or even a pet dog with water pressure?

Did u know as well...that WASA wants to put a water meter becuz....air in the water results in a nice fat water bill, anything that spins the little turbine in the flowmeter adds to ur bill. The very leaks in their system will contribute air in the line and u gotta pay for that as though u using water.

Hmm, Property Tax, Water tax, Premium Fuel tax, Electricity Tax...inflation, anyone got a raise this year to pay for all dat?

Meanwhile u can't even go to a beach to breeze off cuz the police say...its a good chance d tief will break u car.

area6

Postby area6 » February 3rd, 2010, 4:19 pm

lordddddddddddd,,,,,how else will they try to kill us

Chiney

Postby Chiney » February 6th, 2010, 12:01 pm

Yeh dude. My problem was the exactly wat ur experiencing. U need to check ur fans. Its actually an easy fix. U can double check by simply jus idling and wen it gets hot you jus rev to about 2000rpm. And it still blows hot, check ur fans! It will cause ur expansion valve and drier to work faulty. Its easy to change the fans urself too

ivar

a/c prob.

Postby ivar » February 6th, 2010, 4:22 pm

check both fans, check if they coming on an how fast they spinning?

moti

Postby moti » February 7th, 2010, 7:43 pm

maybe only one is working, have the car idling and switch on the AC, once this is done open the hood and see how many fans are spinning. if it's one that there's you problem. however the two can be spinning but just not as fast as needed.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » February 7th, 2010, 9:19 pm

^^ truth

Postby Rooki3 » February 7th, 2010, 9:23 pm

i say fan, the same thing happened to me, in the day time the ac won't get cold, but at night its freezing, the fan is needed to keep the condenser cool, have an electrician check it

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 8th, 2010, 11:24 am

just my experience.. same problem when standstill. ac blowing hot.. I re-gassed and now i can park up for an hour or more in the hot sun and ac still blows cold. I'm not doubting it could be the fans too..

moti

Postby moti » February 8th, 2010, 12:19 pm

i think a great working system need no gas up :?

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 8th, 2010, 2:54 pm

^^Is area6,'s a/c working great? :?

moti

Postby moti » February 8th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Goolie wrote:^^Is area6,'s a/c working great? :?

you lost me there pal, but really if the system need gas then where did the first set go if there was no repairs done

TOIZ WIT NOIZ

Postby TOIZ WIT NOIZ » February 8th, 2010, 9:56 pm

compressor going thru bro not pumping the gas

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 8th, 2010, 11:43 pm

moti wrote:

you lost me there pal, but really if the system need gas then where did the first set go if there was no repairs done

i was simply giving my experience in a similar situation TO THE GUY HAVING THE PROBLEM and what was the solution.. btw I can read normal font size aite :lol:

moti

Postby moti » February 9th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Goolie wrote:
moti wrote:

i was simply giving my experience in a similar situation TO THE GUY HAVING THE PROBLEM and what was the solution.. btw I can read normal font size aite :lol:

yeah no scene pal, buh i waz jus sayin nah, but again it's not only the fans can cause this problem eh :?

cool

Postby cool » February 13th, 2010, 6:33 pm

this can be caused by most of the things mentioned.first things like the condenser fan,compressor clutch slippage,compressor belt tension,condenser coils blocked partially,it can also be a restriction,a leak in the system,,the valve that directs water into the heater coils can also be leaking,in other words, the best thing would be to carry it by an a.c. repairman and he should check the operating pressures first after making other preliminary checks,then by the pressure readings and other observations he should be able to isolate the problem.(i fix refrigerators.)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 13th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Breds, as i mentioned above - its your clutch thats slipping which is affecting the expansion valve

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » February 14th, 2010, 1:14 am

a simple thing that causes this prob is the recycle air button off

dreadman

Postby dreadman » February 14th, 2010, 3:29 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Breds, as i mentioned above - its your clutch thats slipping which is affecting the expansion valve

if it was d clutch it wouldnt b workin when the car moving.......
it could also b dat d fins in d condenser is blocked or clogged.....preventin air from passin freely through the fins when d car is at standstill and when d car in motion it gettin d air to pass through

aliyah

Postby aliyah » February 17th, 2010, 10:20 pm

people.....there are many problems that can cause your a/c to not work properly when your car is idling.....eg.....as dreadman said.......................................................condenser fins dirty {external} condenser clogged{internal}...........................dryer clogged {passage is really small}........................... compressor not pumping as it should{even though it pumping it not pumping d right psi}.....so is only when you rev it will work.......................too little gas.................too much gas..............too little oil.............too much oil............system was vacuumed properly etc etc etc...........so people, go by a proper a/c man and dont waste yuh hard earned money replacing fans that is not really the problem..........THAT IS SOMETHING YOU DONT WANT TO TROUBLE SHOOT BY YOURSELF!!!!!!

krack korn

Postby krack korn » February 26th, 2010, 10:41 am

(almost)all ac systems loose gas over time, especially if it has been sitting rather than working. The compressor has a seal that is going to loose a few molecules all the time, it adds up over years. Any rubber seal or rubberish seal in the system u going to loose a little over time.

a full welded metal system with no ports and hermetically sealed compressor can theoretically have no leaks and still there is a chance of escape through the electrical connection.

only an adsorbtion system can be leak free to my knowledge.

A simple thing is to just unscrew the protector caps from the ac high and low ports you will hear a small "pschew" that is pressure escaping, where did it come from?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2010, 10:47 am

Alot of good advice above ....but it seems as though when your RPM drops the ac cuts off.......