sr20 gear box stuck in 4th gear....

BlitzMekenzie

sr20 gear box stuck in 4th gear....

Postby BlitzMekenzie » April 4th, 2010, 12:36 pm

today i drove out the road and on the way back home the gear just stuck in 4th gear, i wasnt running hard or anything like that, normal cool driving and it just stick, 1,2,3 and resv. gear not going in, and b4 i had no problems like that at all, any suggestions to what may have occured? thanks

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 4th, 2010, 1:06 pm

something similar happened to me execpt NO gear was engaging. Problem was the shifter rod had detached from the GB. Jack up ur car or go up on a ramp and inspect if it's intact.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » April 4th, 2010, 5:53 pm

ooooh okk, well i was thinking about that same thing earlier today, " what if d shifter pop out or something", well yeh ill look up into that, but thanks for the tip Goolie..

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 4th, 2010, 7:04 pm

yea no probs, hope its as simple as dat and not a problem with the GB

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » April 5th, 2010, 10:43 pm

while doin as Goolie, said, also check an see if the bolt going through the back engine mount on the crossmember has not fallin out or if the whole mount has not become unbolted from the gearbox backet.... same thing happenend to a padna. MAKE SURE AN CHECK ALL D MOUNT Bolts ehh :lol: :lol:

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » April 6th, 2010, 9:05 pm

i use to get this problem alot.. mechanic said that the back bracket by the gearbox broke. but i only use to get this prob. when i drive really hard..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 15th, 2010, 8:37 am

I hate these boxes for that - i always get stuck in 2nd gear - thats why i switched to Tranny....problems done....

wilddog

Re: sr20 gear box stuck in 4th gear....

Postby wilddog » May 17th, 2010, 11:59 am

get better bolts

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 17th, 2010, 4:43 pm

wilddog wrote:get better bolts

Explain please

thingcall

Postby thingcall » June 8th, 2010, 8:11 pm

d gearlever stick in one positsion or it moving around?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 18th, 2010, 10:59 pm

With the coming of wallerfield, im really considering putting in my gearbox, but it seems that the inherrent problem is these boxes sticking in a gear...i heard there was a solution for this - can anyone shed any light ? - Referring to the "Big Spline" gearboxes