Toyota men, is dis true?

Postby gt4tified » September 4th, 2004, 11:24 pm

Fellas, met this guy with a Toyota Corolla BZ Touring Wagon to sell. It has a 5spd gearbox and when shifting from 1st to 2nd he has to double clutch before otherwise you'll hear a grating noise.

He says that someone from toyota says that its a synchronizing problem or something like that and its because the BZ was supposed to have come with a 6 spd box. Apparently there's nothing he could do about it other than upgrade the box, but the thing is....the vehicle is stock!

He did mention however that the previous owner had changed in a TRD clutch and clutch-cable.

What's the deal here? Is something really wrong or is he telling the truth? Finally, what else can be done to resolve the problem? Help mih out here please...

WadadliX

Postby WadadliX » September 4th, 2004, 11:25 pm

from the little bit that i know off i think that's BS...wait for dem other guys. they are experts an can tell u if it's so

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 5th, 2004, 12:02 am

paging Trac!!!

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » September 5th, 2004, 1:39 am

? the gearbo might have some wear n tear on the syn chros, as for his BS bout TRD this and dat.............hmmmmmm BS. And you sure that box is cable? and not hyd cause if not why on earth you have to double clutch?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 5th, 2004, 6:37 am

if the synchros are gone/going he will have tuh double clutch to match engine speed with the gear box..., but i think he will have to do that with all the gears,,, and in both up and down shift.

Postby gt4tified » September 5th, 2004, 11:21 am

but i think he will have to do that with all the gears,,, and in both up and down shift.

Well I was in the car and he was only doing it for shifting up from 1st to 2nd, but the other gears engaged fine. That's exactly why I found it strange Kes :?

Whey trac dey?

JWT

Postby JWT » September 5th, 2004, 10:09 pm

pull down the gear box and see
chances are it might have some problem inside

in my experience when something breaks it will affect only some gears and the others will work
caus ewhat ever breaks it wil be stuck that wil affect 2 gears like 1st and 2nd or 3and 4

pul it down and seee

Sully

Postby Sully » September 5th, 2004, 11:29 pm

I think that there's a problem with the box. I know other people who have a 5 speed manual on a 20 valve and don't have that problem.

Postby gt4tified » September 5th, 2004, 11:53 pm

A cousin of mine told me today that the problem might be that when the clutch plate was mounted that it was not centered properly. Y'all think that this might be true?

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2004, 11:22 am

definate syncro problem, especially if he has to double clutch, he's trying to match up the speed with the double clutchin so it wont grate, dat g/box woul dhave to be taken down, opened up and change every single syncro, not just the one that grinds, once you in there change from 1-5th syncro, also check the forks one time as yuh open it up, that "needing a 6 foward box to cure the grinding" is BS, the syncros are gone in the 5 foward box, and if it does not change it would get worst, soon all gears would grate and sometimes it would pop outta gear or it wont want to go in, there is a g/box fluid you could ues to temporary cure it, but its not a syncro repair in a bottle, the grinding would definately return. Its up to you really, either you can fix it and let him minus the cost, or let him fix it, but make sure and change all the syncros one time, be preventive.

Postby gt4tified » September 6th, 2004, 12:34 pm

Thanks Trac. Any idea how much changing the synchros will run me up? A ball-park figure at least?

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2004, 12:48 pm

iownacivic wrote:Thanks Trac. Any idea how much changing the synchros will run me up? A ball-park figure at least?

well the syncros from toyota for my 3sgte cost me between 15-20us for one, if its a BZ then you have the 4age engine, so it should be cheaper, you can source it frok Barbados, you would get it faster, if not you could get it at www.Jaymarkstoyota.com
Its the 5 foward g/box you got, so you need the 5 syncros, 1st through 5th gear, if you got a crunching reverse gear and want to change that to then by all means, its reall how your money run, i didnt change my reverse gear syncro, i dont need to slam in reverse gear if i'm raceing, but its up to you, i does just put it revers reallll slow lol :lol:

Postby gt4tified » September 6th, 2004, 3:16 pm

Thanx again paddna!

Now, whey de Bajan dey??? :mrgreen:
:roll: Seriously though...whey 'im? I need to get some prices!

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2004, 3:34 pm

pm Sully, he has the phone # for toyota in Barbados

Sully

Postby Sully » September 7th, 2004, 12:13 pm

http://www.nassco-barbados.com/html/contact_us.cfm

For anyone else that needs it too.

Postby gt4tified » September 7th, 2004, 8:23 pm

Thanks Sully, and while this thread still have life, allyuh tell mih if iz ah good buy nah. I eh have much xperience with toyota prices.
Like I said is a BZ touring, 1998 registered PBJ series, original engine (1.6 TwinCam, 20 valve) factory extractors, K&N filter, Greddy exhaust, ABS, 5fwd manual, exterior (original paint job) & interior in excellent condition.

As I said only 1 problem which thanx to Trac I have ascertained that its the synchros which are worn. Apart from that, the man calling $46k including transfer ($2k). I believe I should be able to get him to knock off another $2k for the syncro problem from this price. What allyuh tink about it? Good price or not? Oho, one more ting, it doing 142,000km (but really does not show it).

Sully

Postby Sully » September 7th, 2004, 9:48 pm

At that milage you may need to change things like the timing belt, tensioner, maybe the head gasket will require changing, and perhaps most of the main seals may need changing. I'm not sure how much that is going to set you back. Consider it regular maintenance.

You'll also want to change the gear oil, regualar oil and other fluids while you're at it. Factor that cost in then think if it's still worth it.

Something that you didn't mention is the condition of the body, and paint. That should also be considered when you're looking at the car.

Postby gt4tified » September 8th, 2004, 2:02 am

I did mention it ... BTW. What is the tensioner?

Postby Team Loco » September 9th, 2004, 7:33 am

hear what fellas......i went through this nightmare already. My GT came with the blacktop 6 forward. Not for hell from 1 to 2 would go in without grating.....took down the gearbox, cracked it open, and yes, it was a syncro problem.....problem solved. Those boxes ratios really nice, but when they decide to give trouble they is real headache.

Postby AllTrac » September 9th, 2004, 1:52 pm

^^^but its a beautiful engine eh 8)

Postby gt4tified » September 9th, 2004, 3:16 pm

Yuh done know...Man I see this man rip up ah SR20 Primera Wagon with ah slightly modded BZ Touring.

I may be biased toward Hondas but Toyota don't make sheit...dat's 4 sure :!:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 9th, 2004, 6:26 pm

Ah bz bustin up ah sr20 wagon is small peas......stock it shoudl rip it up....look at the power to weight ratios.

sr20 wagon = 148hp and 1350kg
bz touring = 160hp and 1250kg

:mrgreen:

Postby gt4tified » September 9th, 2004, 8:37 pm

man know he stuff bwoy...(iownacivic backs away into the corner, tails betwen legs) urr urr urr.

Postby AllTrac » September 9th, 2004, 8:59 pm

iownacivic wrote:...(iownacivic backs away into the corner, tails betwen legs) urr urr urr.

roflmao! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » September 9th, 2004, 9:46 pm

seanf3000, The BZ touring wagon weighs as much as a Levin? The gross weight of a Levin is 1240kg.

Postby Team Loco » September 10th, 2004, 7:40 am

*Sad*, i just convert the GT from 6 forward to auto cause my sister has the car now.......going to drive it for the first time today....it just won't be the same

and yes a blacktop and the 6 forward would be available for sale soon complete with everything, down to the shifter, pedals and even a damn GT emblem with it

:( :( :( :( :( :(

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 10th, 2004, 2:43 pm

whoops....mistake there....ah put the fielder Z weight instead.

The bz touring iz 1140kg curb

Sully

Postby Sully » September 11th, 2004, 2:41 am

ok. That makes a lot more sense. The curb weight of the Levin is 1020kg.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 12th, 2004, 12:09 am

thaz why i glad meh car light yes........ 8)

Sully

Postby Sully » September 12th, 2004, 10:01 am

On that note, what exactly is curb weight? And how does that relate to net weight?