WTK: Which is better oil

knight

WTK: Which is better oil

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 2:19 pm

guys which oil is better red line or royal purple for a lancer cedia?

car boutique says red line is better....

EVA Unit-01

Re: WTK: Which is better oil

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 5th, 2010, 2:25 pm

i say check the Tech forums, it have posts there bout this...

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 5th, 2010, 2:26 pm

which one do they sell?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » July 5th, 2010, 2:30 pm

I sell them for the same price at the moment... so check me when you ready!
You cant go wrong with either.
Without doing Used Oil Analysis (UOA), nobody will be able to give you an objective answer.
If you're doubling your oil change interval from 5k km to 10k km, both are fine.
I just recommend changing your oil filter at the OEM interval of 5k km.
Of course you will need to top up.

knight

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 2:31 pm

they sell red line, but not sure which i shold get.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 5th, 2010, 3:18 pm

Redline has a slightly higher (almost negligible) viscosity index, which relates to how stable oil viscosity remains in cold and hot conditions. However, Royal Purple has a superior flow rate... actually its one of the best period. This means it'll protect the engine faster at each start up. It might take donkey years to observe the difference between the 2, so in reality they both measure up, but clinically speaking, RP is better

I'm basing this opinion on standardised ASTM tests for motor oils.

knight

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 3:20 pm

thanks that should help. however what body oil would you recommend for my lancer cedia which is about 8 yrs now? 20/50/

lyndondz

Postby lyndondz » July 5th, 2010, 3:49 pm

From a practical standpoint I've used Redline in everything from my SR20 B13 to my EJ20 WRX and NEVER had a problem in any of my 5 cars so far....

20W50 is what i use. One of the key reasons for my choice was availabilty as well. You can get Redline get at more retailers than royal purple....

knight

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 3:54 pm

thanks

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 5th, 2010, 4:01 pm

the 4G1* series of Mitsu engines supposed to use 10W40, but given our climate and the engine's lack of variable valve timing, 20W50 is fine

knight

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 4:12 pm

great 20/50 it is.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 5th, 2010, 6:15 pm

knight wrote:guys which oil is better red line or royal purple for a lancer cedia?

Ask them why redline is better....would love to hear the answer

GLXXXTACY

Postby GLXXXTACY » July 5th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Castrol GTX bro. recommended by fellow lancer users!

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 5th, 2010, 6:53 pm

AMSOIL!!!!!!!!!!!!

W2J

Postby W2J » July 5th, 2010, 7:33 pm

knight wrote:guys which oil is better red line or royal purple for a lancer cedia?

neither AMSOIL FTW, when a company does test and show proof that there oil is superior and they have not been sued and put out of business you know it true.

http://www.synthetic-motor-oil-change-and-filters.com/amsoil_articles/amsoil-vs-redline-oil/

http://www.worldsbestoil.ca/dyno-test.php

knight

Postby knight » July 5th, 2010, 8:41 pm

tough choice now hmmmm

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 5th, 2010, 10:10 pm

Amsoil is overrated IMO... the only data showing its 'superior' is from sources that are actually selling their products. Analysis of 3rd party results using industry standardised tests show Amsoil isn't any better than RP or Redline... actually it performed worse... but relatively speaking of course. Not saying for a moment that its not any good... just overly hyped by invested parties

Amsoil also uses the ASTM D4172 test for its motor oils, and touts the results as the basis of its superiority, but in reality this test caters to gear lubricants, not motor oil. As such, no other producer uses this test for engine oil. Its also beyond me why Amsoil does not conform to SAE testing and classification. Every other engine oil on the market has this classification (or equivalent depending on market) which offers consumers the peace of mind that a governing body approves the quality of the product, much like ISO and UL classifications in other products. So on that alone, I'd go with a different brand.

At the end of the day, the choice is yours... all these oils are largely the same in performance, and with whatever slight variations exist, in a small economy oriented 4 cylinder engine you will not observe any difference.... but you went looking for RP, so I say stick with what you know.

And lemme say one time that I do not use RP... so anyone thinking my opinion is biased becuz I use it etc is wrong. All the data is online for all to see. If you dont want to take my word, do your own analysis. I'm sure you'll reach the same conclusion

GLXXXTACY

Postby GLXXXTACY » July 5th, 2010, 10:41 pm

^^^yep castrol gtx 20w-50 is suited for our climate n gets the job done. amsoil, rp, redline...or whatever gibberish ppl dus use to gain 1 hp do so at the expense of their engines!

knight

Postby knight » July 6th, 2010, 7:43 am

yes i am using castrol gtx 20/50 at the moment

W2J

Postby W2J » July 6th, 2010, 10:08 am

damieG82 wrote:Amsoil is overrated IMO... the only data showing its 'superior' is from sources that are actually selling their products. Analysis of 3rd party results using industry standardised tests show Amsoil isn't any better than RP or Redline... actually it performed worse... but relatively speaking of course. Not saying for a moment that its not any good... just overly hyped by invested parties

Amsoil also uses the ASTM D4172 test for its motor oils, and touts the results as the basis of its superiority, but in reality this test caters to gear lubricants, not motor oil. As such, no other producer uses this test for engine oil. Its also beyond me why Amsoil does not conform to SAE testing and classification. Every other engine oil on the market has this classification (or equivalent depending on market) which offers consumers the peace of mind that a governing body approves the quality of the product, much like ISO and UL classifications in other products. So on that alone, I'd go with a different brand.

At the end of the day, the choice is yours... all these oils are largely the same in performance, and with whatever slight variations exist, in a small economy oriented 4 cylinder engine you will not observe any difference.... but you went looking for RP, so I say stick with what you know.

And lemme say one time that I do not use RP... so anyone thinking my opinion is biased becuz I use it etc is wrong. All the data is online for all to see. If you dont want to take my word, do your own analysis. I'm sure you'll reach the same conclusion

damieG82 check and see who RP and RL buys there base oil from vs what AMSOIL use.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 6th, 2010, 10:21 am

AMSOIL without a doubt....

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 6th, 2010, 10:39 am

GLXXXTACY wrote:Castrol GTX bro. recommended by fellow lancer users!

erm... no, eh! Shell Helix Ultra 5W40. recommended by the Car Manufacturer!!!

but honestly, OP, there's no real noticeable difference performance-wise between brands. just make sure the oil is of the correct body to suit YOUR engine (given it's age, use, etc)

only the best

Postby only the best » July 6th, 2010, 11:03 am

fresh castrol syntec you only gettin 5000 - 7000 kms before the oil breaking down. it does not even protect well when new cause it is a fake synthetic made mainly from hydrocracked crude oil. experience 15,000 kms of ultimate protection with Schaeffer's at less than twice the cost...

mobil is the same story as castrol but it also burns off like a beyotch. zero burn off with Schaeffer's.

royal purple additive synerlec is not comparable to Micron Moly® and Penetro90®, used in Schaeffer's. the purple is also a dye that goes brown quickly. so many people have crap reviews about their oil online.

amsoil oils are not all API rated. they have crap reviews online as well.

redline is a Group V synthetic, but still no 500,000 psi moly.

only schaeffer's got a moly that bonds to all your parts, providing a 500,000 psi film strength lubricating coating, which is pretty much indestructible. click on the link below to find out why Schaeffer's is the best.

http://www.schaefferoil.com

for the best oil ever + deliveries to a mutually convenient meeting point, after normal working hours including weekend, call 703-9647

GLXXXTACY

Postby GLXXXTACY » July 6th, 2010, 2:32 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
GLXXXTACY wrote:Castrol GTX bro. recommended by fellow lancer users!

erm... no, eh! Shell Helix Ultra 5W40. recommended by the Car Manufacturer!!!

but honestly, OP, there's no real noticeable difference performance-wise between brands. just make sure the oil is of the correct body to suit YOUR engine (given it's age, use, etc)

EVA boi, i have d manual and u can use 5 body or 20 body oil but for our climate, it recommends 20 body. if u ever used 20body, what diff do u notice when compared to 5 body oil?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 6th, 2010, 3:33 pm

^^^ d only odda oil i tried wuz Mobil 1 10w30, there wuz a discernable reduction in power.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 6th, 2010, 3:57 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:^^^ d only odda oil i tried wuz Mobil 1 10w30, there wuz a discernable reduction in power.

becuz that's too thin for that engine (assuming u also have a Lancer). 10W30, though the most versatile oil body, will not lubricate effectively in an engine that from the outset, needs a denser oil, and does not have additional valve train tech which might necessitate the lighter oil.

GLXXXTACY the number before the 'W', that refers to winter performance and has no bearing on our climate. As such, 0, 5, 10, or 20 W will work in T&T just fine... its the two numbers AFTER the W that are important. It is always advised that a thicker oil be used in a climate like ours. Incremental increases of '10' is common, so for an engine needing 10W30 normally, down here 10W40 is fine. Likewise in one needing 10W40 (like the Lancer), then 20W50 is fine

Spectre
Location: Constanly using the savannah as my personal raceteack

Postby Spectre » July 6th, 2010, 5:44 pm

Eneos anyone?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 6th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Read here

http://www.animegame.com/cars/Oil%20Tests.pdf

Although they did not try Amsoil, draw your own conclusion from the results.

We can talk about Amsoil when the results come from a NON Amsoil branded source.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 6th, 2010, 7:38 pm

I'm surprised no one else has said, but there's actually contemplation about Amsoil/Redline/RP....for a Cedia? Keeping in mind that "resellers" are coming in here and posting why "their" oil brand is superior?

Hell....I'd have used GTX in that Lancer....seriously. For a non-high-revving, non turbo/supercharged car....is it really necessary to be so anal about oil brand? Different engines respond differently to various oil brands. Lemme say this real slow:

There is NO WAY
of knowing or PROVING WHICH
is better for YOUR engine
UNLESS YOU DO
A USED OIL ANALYSIS
(as BigZ said).

Check Mora Oil laboratories. They did that for retail customers.

You're probably better off buying GTX and changing at 5K km intervals and using an OE/Sakura/Purolator oil filter, rather than using XX synth brand and cycling that oil over 10-12K km anyways....and using a Fram-crapt filter that many folks swear by.

Yes.....go ahead....flame me.

DamieG82 wrote:At the end of the day, the choice is yours... all these oils are largely the same in performance, and with whatever slight variations exist, in a small economy oriented 4 cylinder engine you will not observe any difference... but you went looking for RP, so I say stick with what you know.

Yuh preach dey palos....well said!!! 8-) 8-)

I love to read when folks say they tried "XX" oil and they felt more power from the engine/it run quieter/it gain a supercharged effect/I beat up the nearest skyline/whatever other crap.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on July 6th, 2010, 7:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.

GLXXXTACY

Postby GLXXXTACY » July 6th, 2010, 7:42 pm

yep my point exactly, castrol dus d wuk for a lazy 4g18 engine and who dus wait 10,000 km 2 change oil? is evry 5000km oil n filter dus change in my car fadda. we in TRINIDAD...not AMERICA