would a cone filter on QG15(y11) burn more gas?

archangel2011

would a cone filter on QG15(y11) burn more gas?

Postby archangel2011 » February 17th, 2011, 4:09 pm

did some investigating on this and got conflicting responses.my main concern is fuel efficiency,was considering putting a cone filter (K&N) with adapter where the original filter is and just removing filter box part. one person said it will burn less gas plus the benfits of performance, aggresive sound of engine etc. etc. another person says it will burn slightly more gas but a drop in K&N filter will be more efficient.would appreciate some expert advice please.thanks in advance.

Re: would a cone filter on QG15(y11) burn more gas?

Postby A172 » February 17th, 2011, 5:43 pm

nah...no noticeable change

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 17th, 2011, 5:51 pm

drop in will be better, cone will suck in more warm air, and you will have to press more to get the same acceleration

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » February 18th, 2011, 9:05 pm

A filter change alone should have no noticeable effect on gas consumption or fuel mileage.
There will be an increase in induction noise with a cone filter as opposed to a drop in filter.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 19th, 2011, 5:02 am

Actually, with a cone filter the theory is that you can;t burn the candle at both ends..

If you drive conservatively you should see a small improvement in economy (almost negligible) but if you drive hard like I do, you will actually burn more fuel as the engine will have more induction air, and will compensate by giving more fuel (with open throttle of course)..

So it goes either way.. That said, keeping a filter clean or new is the best way to improve mileage... Forget all the rest

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » February 19th, 2011, 12:46 pm

^^ My point exactly^^
The increase that most people see when the change the filter is due to their driving style and not the filter.
Most people who put on a cone filter do it for performance, which usually means that their foot kinda heavy to begin with.
I placed a K&N cone filter kit on my BMW, because it was actually cheaper than the original replacement filter, with absolutely no change in the fuel consumption.

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » February 19th, 2011, 2:00 pm

thanks so far guys for the info,still trying to make a decision which way to go-cone or drop in filter.unfortunately its a wingroad and not a BMW.lol.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » February 19th, 2011, 4:34 pm

archangel2011 wrote:thanks so far guys for the info,still trying to make a decision which way to go-cone or drop in filter.unfortunately its a wingroad and not a BMW.lol.

The type of car makes no difference
LOL

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 27th, 2011, 7:25 am

I had the same choice to make and i went with the drop in....mainly because i have a padna with the cone and because or our climate and dust down here it get dirty really really fast. Had good results from the drop in though :mrgreen: