Mitsubishi Galant Idle problems

Rah

Mitsubishi Galant Idle problems

Postby Rah » November 11th, 2004, 11:47 am

yow purchased a galant vrg(2000 cc ea7a model) in july and since then i have have been having idle problems. Car idle is very erratic, usually idles at around 500 rpm in gear, when it does this the car vibrates alot(as is expected) I know the galants and generally all gdi engines idle lower than other cars but still... I have been to several mechanics, heard everyting from failing idle motor to bad injectors. Also was told by a south mechanic that it could be carbon depoits on the intake valves and ports. What u guys think ? Generally bad idle seems to be the major fault with the 2000 cc cars, i have heard alot of ppl having problems with this. Have any of u mitsu guys had this problem ? What do yall cars idle at ? Mine when its working decent(usually after a good service ofinjectors throttle body, motor etc) will idle good at 750.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 12th, 2004, 3:04 am

I've got the 1800 GDI Galant....my idle is around 700. However I occasionally experience a drop in rpm when idling in traffic (to around that same 500), but it usually revs back up to normal.......I think I'm due for an injector clean as well!

Have you checked the condition of your fuel filter by any chance?????

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » November 13th, 2004, 8:20 am

fuel filter..
MAF Sensor...
injector clean
TPS
throttle body clean..
yuh have a list to start......work with that... :mrgreen:

Postby wagon r » November 13th, 2004, 3:18 pm

could be injectors and carbon on the plugs building up. i had that problem, changed those two things and i was gone.

start with the basics and move from there....

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 13th, 2004, 3:39 pm

Try and get your hands on a maf sensor and swap it in and see if that cures it.

Rah

Postby Rah » November 15th, 2004, 12:14 pm

thanks for the tips, i actually had the gas tank repainted and fuel lines blown out. Did this because i was also getting a problem of injectors dirtying very quickly. Gas tank did have some sediment in it and was flaking a little but on the whole it wasnt that bad. As for filter, wasnt there to see teh condition of the filter, honestly can say thats something i havent tried. Have swapped out maf already, one of the 1st things we did, also changed plugs to denso iridium. Injectors have been tested, flow pattern is good, jus needed to clean. Suspect i may have to do the top overhaul to see if there is carbon build up on the intake valves and ports. Was hoping i didnt have to go that far :( I was told that was the problem by the mitsu guy in south, was jus trying different things before i did the surgery.

Postby wagon r » November 16th, 2004, 9:18 am

glad to see things sortin themselves out. keep us in de loop as to the progress and hope yuh pocket don't have to dig too deep.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 16th, 2004, 12:44 pm

TPS may need adjusting. Easy way is to turn on all your load A/C Lights ect and adjust until you get a smooth idle.

Regards
Gerrard

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » November 16th, 2004, 1:04 pm

^^^^ that could be the problem ... because the way that the gdi was design for build up of carbon is unlikely .... also what gas are u using the super with 92 ron or the priemum with 95 ron if the super switch to the perimum because the gdi is a very hi compression engine and it uses the gas to cool the camber temps to prevent deternation or idle down the engine and retard to timing ...

W2J

Postby W2J » November 16th, 2004, 5:33 pm

GDI was not made for export because of the high sulphur content of the gas in other countries. The first thing that normally fails in the GDI cars are the second fuel pump Try the TPS first that should help with the idle

Regards
Gerrard

Rah

Postby Rah » November 28th, 2004, 5:13 pm

Hey jus updating yall. Had to do some major engine work, car was leaking oil because of bad seals, cleaned out chambers, intake valves, polished head, the works. Car is running good, no more dirty injectors( the injectors for gdis are in the chambers so the leakin oil was causing build up of carbon on their tips) But still had the vibration, did a throttle clean my self and its idling as smooth as eva. I saw that the oustide of the throttle place was clean, but when i checked inside......carbon for so, used a tooth brush,cloth and some carbuerator cleaner. Many mitsus especially gdis seem to give this rough idle at some point another, ur best bet, try the throttle body clean and work from there.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 28th, 2004, 6:09 pm

how much did that engine work cost you and where ????

Postby wagon r » November 29th, 2004, 10:02 am

^^wha he said...

Rah

Postby Rah » November 29th, 2004, 6:39 pm

Did it south by RC. Good work, no clue on price doh, person who sold the car will pay for it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 29th, 2004, 11:33 pm

lucky you, btw what is the engine type??? is it the 4G94 GDI

B10N1C Tuner

Re: Mitsubishi Galant Idle problems

Postby B10N1C Tuner » May 23rd, 2012, 9:20 pm

I have a 4G93 Galant experiencing the same problems, was working fine an then suddenly started to have idle problems and was back firing when i hit the accelerator. any suggestions? I'm assuming it's the fuel pressure regulator or the idle control thingy.... :/ btw i'm selling :D

Postby rollingstock » May 24th, 2012, 1:47 pm

^ If it's backfiring, definitely the high pressure fuel pump, get someone with the proper scan tool to check your fuel pressure, optimal should be 5.0mpa, the pressure can be adjusted by turning a screw anti-clockwise.

damean siu

Postby damean siu » September 14th, 2015, 1:53 pm

Who fix d problem do u have contact number