VQ30DET IN A C34 MEDALIST???

supermanhhh

VQ30DET IN A C34 MEDALIST???

Postby supermanhhh » June 18th, 2012, 9:08 am

Good day fellow tuners, I have stock RB20 single cam engine and tranny in my Laurel. Recently (yesterday) the transmission is no more. So I decided to change engine and tranny, my mechanic advised me to put in a VQ30DET 5 speed Transmission (I don't like manual). Initially I was thinking RB25DE Neo & 4 speed tranny. A very good friend of mine advised me not to put the VQ and put the RB25DE Neo. So I would like to hear from my fellow tuners what is there opinion.

P.S. Those who don't know the VQ30 engines, they are V6 3 Litre engines from the Cima & Gloria. I think those cars are AWD.

(I recently changed to 5 hole R33 Brakes, 4 piston front and 2 piston back with original Skyline rims.) :twisted:
Last edited by supermanhhh on June 18th, 2012, 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

supermanhhh

Re: VQ30DET IN A C34 MEDALIST???

Postby supermanhhh » June 18th, 2012, 9:13 am

You can check: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_VQ_engine
For more info on the VQ.

Postby cinco » June 18th, 2012, 1:00 pm

so u asking if to do it?

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 18th, 2012, 1:05 pm

I am asking what you guy's think. Or whatever knowledge or info tuners have.

S.W 15

Postby S.W 15 » June 18th, 2012, 2:19 pm

I think you should put the RB25DE NEO & Transmission. Or If you can get a RB25DET NEO & Transmission. Sometimes newer engine is not neccesarilly better.

audiomagicians

Postby audiomagicians » June 18th, 2012, 10:34 pm

well see the vq is a great engine will rip the crap out of de rb but not many people in trinidad can wire dat PROPERLY and tune......if u lookin at de one from by dem people by bicks i suggest not the tps and the intake are damaged on dat one and we all know how easy those parts will be to find...it have rb all over de place like ants so i woulda advise u to go roti bake...

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 19th, 2012, 12:52 pm

It is the one by Bicks my mechanic was telling me about. You have a point there about the availability for parts RB vs VQ. Point & opinion noted!

Postby Ted_v2 » June 19th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Best turbo engine for that car

rb25DET
best non turbo rb25DE

with both you would have no problem with parts ect parts are easily accessable

shouldnt by much for both engines

recently heard prices was like 10k for a rb25det auto
and 4k with a rb25de auto
prob thats my price or something but thats a good estimation

S.W 15

Postby S.W 15 » June 20th, 2012, 11:21 am

Nice!

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 20th, 2012, 11:27 am

Sweet engines! But what about the RB25DE NEO? Bicks had a RB25DE & 5 speed Tranny for $6000.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 20th, 2012, 11:29 am

If I can get a RB for $4000 that would be wicked!

Postby Ted_v2 » June 20th, 2012, 11:41 am

https://www.facebook.com/groups/210592938965823/ in this group you could get some more advice ect

but personally i dont like the neo engines but thats just me,

for more options check out the bamboo Lots more engines up there and a wider range and prices are a lil better as well as quality of engines Imo

wait ur car is white and crims down by chance

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 20th, 2012, 2:59 pm

No scene pardner, thanks!

Sorry it's black with black skyline rims!

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 22nd, 2012, 8:04 am

So far I'm leaning towards RB25DE NEO (Not the Tiptronic transmission. Normal tranny).

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 22nd, 2012, 8:09 am

Will be checking bicks next week. Will post what they have & prices. Possibly pics also!

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 26th, 2012, 2:27 pm

I might take out the old engine & tranny weekend. I might buy an engine & tranny.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 30th, 2012, 11:33 am

Bought a RB25DE NEO & Tranny by Bicks for $5,000. I saw a RB25DET NEO for $6,000 but I wasn't feeling the turbo. I dropped it by the mechanic this morning so hopefully by next week I'll be driving!

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 30th, 2012, 11:34 am

Thanks for all the suggestions! Word up fellow tuners!!!

S.W 15

Postby S.W 15 » June 30th, 2012, 5:27 pm

No scene pardner! Would love to see it run!

Postby Ted_v2 » June 30th, 2012, 6:10 pm

pics pics pics

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » June 30th, 2012, 7:43 pm

Soon!

Postby sliderz1 » June 30th, 2012, 9:15 pm

in for pics

Price of the VQ?

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 1st, 2012, 9:18 am

I think it was $9,000 for a VQ30DET.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 5th, 2012, 12:49 pm

Engine Removal!
THE_PHANTOM_ENGINE_REMOVAL.jpg

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 5th, 2012, 12:50 pm

Engine is being changed at QUETECH in Quarry Village, Siparia. Opposite IVAR Foreign Used Parts.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 5th, 2012, 8:01 pm

RB25DE NEO Engine & Transmission is in The Phantom. Did over the exhaust to 2.5 straight pipe and a mean barrel. It running like a damn thief!!! :D :lol: :twisted: :P 8-) :wink:

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 5th, 2012, 8:03 pm

Pics of engine tomorrow!

Postby Ted_v2 » July 5th, 2012, 8:36 pm

supermanhhh wrote:RB25DE NEO Engine & Transmission is in The Phantom. Did over the exhaust to 2.5 straight pipe and a mean barrel. It running like a damn thief!!! :D :lol: :twisted: :P 8-) :wink:

how much did the exhaust cost? i hadda do over mines :oops:

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 6th, 2012, 7:54 am

It cost me $2000. But thats with a new downpipe from manifold and without barrel in center. It would have costed $2400 with the center barrel (I like noise so I left it out). I think it would have costed about $1200 with just the exaust pipe. I did it by Salandy in Siparia (at the side of Republic Bank).

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » July 6th, 2012, 8:00 am

New engine!!! RB25DE NEO in yuh mudda ass!!!
THE_PHANTOM_RB25DE_NEO_03.jpg
THE_PHANTOM_RB25DE_NEO_02.jpg