5a ge? any one

mrboxman

5a ge? any one

Postby mrboxman » March 2nd, 2005, 12:43 am

is it possible to simply replace the head of a 5a block with that of a 4a-ge 16valve silver topz/
and if so
would all of the oil passages and the 5a injectors fit in? perfectly?

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » March 2nd, 2005, 12:47 am

I believe that they are completly different. Trac is de man to answer that for sure though. :|

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 2nd, 2005, 12:59 am

cuz a guy told me today that it can be done so i wanna hear what allyuh fellas have to say

WadadliX

Postby WadadliX » March 2nd, 2005, 3:00 am

never heard of it...i know u can swap wit a 7a-fe

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » March 2nd, 2005, 3:25 am

^^^ nope the 5afe is totally diffreent to the 4age but the 7a fe and 4age 20v head works its known as a 1.8 20v

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 2nd, 2005, 5:41 am

5AGE is a nickname for a stroker kit offered by a few companies, HKS is one, goes up to 1.7l but is such a tight fit that some internal grinding needs to be done to creat clearance around the crankshaft.

Postby Hook » March 2nd, 2005, 12:20 pm

even if it could work (which it won't)...why would u want to swap a 1.6L block with a 1.5L block anyway?

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 2nd, 2005, 3:59 pm

well i already have the 5a in and i put it in very recently so instead of spendin oneseta chinkaling to buy a 4age which is about 2.5 times the price of the 5a i cud get a head quite cheaply and get a lil extra pull

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 2nd, 2005, 5:15 pm

Sometime a little extra is too little, considering the work being done, i think that you would even need to swap over to the harness and brain of the head being used, again 'even if it were possible'. So in theory even that is not a easy cheap straightforward mod.
Um, pricewise, you could probly get a 4afe for a whopping 15hp extra for less than half the price of a silvertop (im guessing)
I saw an immaculately well done 5aFE -> 4AGE swap last week, so well done that the owner insists its original and advertized the car for sale as a corolla GT (nevermind the AE100 5AFE badge on the firewall he know everything bout corollas and is original :? ..)
Then theres nitrous..

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 2nd, 2005, 11:58 pm

haha fuh real

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » March 7th, 2005, 1:29 pm

like forest said, you'll need the brain and harness for it to work properly. its only worth the effort if you can get the parts AND engine work done cheaply. otherwise you should just swap in a 4age and done all de talk.
it will never be as fast as a 4a, so you'll have to look at your long term goals.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 8th, 2005, 12:32 am

thanks fellas

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2005, 3:03 am

it would never work, the water ports and exhaust mani is different, so i dunno where you getting a H/G for that