speadfreak

RemoteTurbo (STSTURBO)

Postby speadfreak » March 17th, 2005, 10:33 am

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » March 21st, 2005, 6:01 am

yea, they specialize with custom turbo kits for cars that have no aftermarket support when it comes to boosting. I read about them in Import Magazine. Interesting enough no one offers a turbo kit for a '91 acura integra.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 21st, 2005, 1:47 pm

I think i saw this on speedchannel, "Two guys garage"
Im suspicious of certain thermal issues, like the cooling of the exhaust gas before it hits the turbo, and the absence of an intercooler due to them saying that the compressor-> manifold distance is great enough that the air will cool down and dont need an intercooler, but itll work. The fact that the entire system does run cooler underbonnet, and apparent installation ease, is nice.
But they have failed to make any statements or provisions for additional fueling, which is a must, so consider it half a kit, they made the easy stuff easier, the tuning is the important issue..

Postby X2 » March 21st, 2005, 2:12 pm

The article on it in the last issue of HCI detailed a type R kit WITH intercooler and proper fuelling. Kit is selling for close to $3800 USD !!! And NO MANIFOLD !!! OMIG !

There are PLENTY issues and questions to be answered on that.... wanna start a discussion ? I'm game and have been considering a remote mount for a while. I'm used to seeing it on domestic (USDM) trucks with V8's.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 27th, 2005, 12:21 pm

I wanna try it, but I'm not gonna but their kit. ALL I need to know is the specs of the turbo they're using, everything else (except maybe the oil scvenging pump) can be sourced/fabricated for less (ESPECIALLY THE PIPING!) :mrgreen:

What size turbo yuh think they using???

Postby X2 » May 27th, 2005, 1:46 pm

That is a 'secret' spec turbo... doubt they'd give away the best part of their kit...

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 27th, 2005, 2:41 pm

Yeah, true, but You think would work, that's the main thing, everything else is easy to do/get in my opinion

plex

Postby plex » June 3rd, 2005, 4:06 pm

interesting reading..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2005, 2:35 pm

whats so secret about the turbo, you can use any turbo that will suit your application, hp goals and response you looking for,

tubo sizing is about using mathematical equations to calulate/choose the right compressor and turbine for a wanted HP level based on boost and engine displacement etc.. you can theoretically use ANY turbo with this kind of remote turbo set up..