IS HIDS ILLEGAL Not no long thing to read

musikboyzz

IS HIDS ILLEGAL Not no long thing to read

Postby musikboyzz » October 16th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Is Hids illegal.. if so up to what temperature is legal>> need some yes or no and temp..

Re: IS HIDS ILLEGAL Not no long thing to read

Postby BrotherHood » October 16th, 2012, 10:56 pm

IMO, anything over 6000K(crystal white) is illegal.

5000K is ideal!

Postby BrotherHood » October 16th, 2012, 10:57 pm

...then again, there are relative threads about HID. Do a search.

musikboyzz

Postby musikboyzz » October 17th, 2012, 12:19 am

diff threads reporting diff

Postby equipped2ripp » October 17th, 2012, 3:10 am

no, it's not.

anything over 8000K and the police may stop you.

I recommend 5000K or 6000K though.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 17th, 2012, 3:41 pm

didn't they say at one point in time that the light emitted from the headlight should give a yellowish glow (ie- normal), not white?

Postby Morpheus » October 18th, 2012, 1:16 am

Putting HIDs in "regular" headlights should be...............

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 18th, 2012, 9:05 am

Even if it's not illegal, improperly installed ones are a big nuisance. I've hit many a pothole in Central thanks to inconsiderate drivers...don't talk for the ones who have a reverse rake thanks to what I guess is music in their trunk.

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 18th, 2012, 12:32 pm

HIDs in regular reflector type housings produce alot of annoying glare for oncoming drivers...HIDs should only be used with the proper projector lenses to focus the light...this gives much better visibility as the lenses spread the light wide but low with a clean cutoff...there are a couple people who advertise HID retrofitting(where they retrofit an HID projector into your factory housing) on the classifieds section...

Postby black start » October 24th, 2012, 1:13 pm

I ha hids (4300k or 5000k, can't remember) in my b13 without projectors. Visibility increased greatly and the lights never really glared or blinded on coming drivers (I actually checked this to ensure there won't be any problems with other drivers). Its all about the install, the condition of your lights and how your light is adjusted.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2012, 1:58 pm

as far as I understand it all depends on the ocifer you bounce up,cuz each one ah dem have ah different law,one does say

no unauthorised lights so ticket
anything not yellow=ticket
da din come with the car=ticket

Postby black start » October 24th, 2012, 2:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as far as I understand it all depends on the ocifer you bounce up,cuz each one ah dem have ah different law,one does say

you is ah black man/rasta=ticket

fixed

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2012, 4:28 pm

lost soul wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as far as I understand it all depends on the ocifer you bounce up,cuz each one ah dem have ah different law,one does say

you is ah black man/rasta=ticket

fixed

like u get shafff wid dat :lol: :lol:

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » October 30th, 2012, 3:08 am

a police man told me its illegal

Trini Retrofits

Postby Trini Retrofits » November 8th, 2012, 8:41 am

if do a proper HID Projector Retrofit you should not get any problems as there will be no glare and you will get a wide uniformed pattern. Make sure its a RHD (Right Hand Drive) projector as well.
Also dont go with anything higher than 6000k, i recommend 4300k or 5000k. i don't think anyone that did a retrofit by me has had problems with the law, but as the guy said them officers have their own law's.

marvocs3

Postby marvocs3 » November 8th, 2012, 3:17 pm

ppl saying up to 8000k legal, but to play it safish 6000k an under>>cause the 8000k hav ah blueish effect,wen d popo stop yuh they will say how dem lights blue soo boy>>ticket$$$$