NISSAN TIIDA KNOCKING SOUND WHEN TURNING

nebula

NISSAN TIIDA KNOCKING SOUND WHEN TURNING

Postby nebula » March 24th, 2013, 11:48 am

Hey does anybody know what may be causing a knocking sound when i slowly turn my steering wheel. The car is 1 year old with 7000km. Any suggestions cuz Nissan like them enh really have a clue themselves.

Re: NISSAN TIIDA KNOCKING SOUND WHEN TURNING

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 24th, 2013, 7:43 pm

Jack the car up and re-check all the wheel nuts to ensure that they are tight.

nebula

Postby nebula » March 25th, 2013, 6:33 am

yeah i did that .......but that wasnt it. Any other technical suggestions?

eitech

Postby eitech » March 25th, 2013, 10:50 am

Cv joint?

nebula

Postby nebula » March 26th, 2013, 9:45 pm

nissan said some padding that goes under the spring but they have to order it and call ......still waiting on that call (steups), but reading online most drivers said that didnt solve the problem .

syntax

Postby syntax » March 28th, 2013, 7:39 am

shock head bearing may be busted or want greasing

syntax

Postby syntax » March 28th, 2013, 7:46 am

or it could be the steering coupling which is notorious for goin bad in these cars but then again you car is new but then again nissan quality have fallen

eitech

Postby eitech » March 28th, 2013, 12:00 pm

Shock mount bearing?

Postby sliderz1 » March 28th, 2013, 10:33 pm

Last edited by sliderz1 on June 24th, 2013, 6:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

deliah

Postby deliah » March 29th, 2013, 2:43 am

this is not a good sign-soon the entire will start knocking and falling apart.....beware

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » April 2nd, 2013, 1:54 pm

Nissan Tiida

There's your problem right there

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » April 4th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Tarantula wrote:
Nissan Tiida

There's your problem right there

nah i have to disagree. tiida is a very good car for the price

nebula

Postby nebula » June 23rd, 2013, 11:11 am

PROBLEM FIXED : replaced Nissan Tiida Steering Column Cup Link and no more knocking sound. It was a Manufacturer's Defect.

PART NO: 48080-9EC0A
JOINT ASSY-STEERING COLUMN, LOWER

Hope this helps other out there with a similar problem on their Nissan Tiida Wagon .

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » December 16th, 2013, 1:14 am

What price you paid

The Outlaw

Postby The Outlaw » March 2nd, 2014, 7:33 pm

check the ends on the sta bar and take of one end on each side and see if u still getting the noise

Skyline007

Postby Skyline007 » October 2nd, 2015, 9:25 am

certified_dealer wrote:What price you paid

X2?

Postby X_Factor » October 5th, 2015, 12:05 am

had a similar prob with the nissan note.....the guys at the alignment shop took it out clamped and re greased it....worked like a charm....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 5th, 2015, 5:21 pm

nebula wrote:. . . Hope this helps other out there with a similar problem on their Nissan Tiida Wagon.

Tiidas come in a wagon variant?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 5th, 2015, 6:58 pm

is the muffler bearings

daryl10

Postby daryl10 » March 24th, 2016, 10:58 pm

Hey where did you fixed it and what price you paid ?

Postby X_Factor » March 25th, 2016, 12:41 am

its call the steering joint assembly
part number 480809EC0A
there are a few fixes on the net
or you can just change it entirely

trivan

Postby trivan » March 25th, 2016, 3:25 am

Getting a squeaking creaking noise from the rear of my tiida hatchback. It almost sounds like it's coming from the inside. Anyone came across this problem?thx.

HOTPIG175

Postby HOTPIG175 » February 4th, 2019, 3:10 am

nebula wrote:PROBLEM FIXED : replaced Nissan Tiida Steering Column Cup Link and no more knocking sound. It was a Manufacturer's Defect.

Hope this helps other out there with a similar problem on their Nissan Tiida Wagon .

Hey, thanks for your info, but what is the steering cup? I downloaded an exploded parts view, and their is nothing described as that, nor does there seem to be a universal coupling.

It's just got another roadworthy cert, and my friend doesn't even notice it, but I dropped her off at the airport at 5 a.m., and every time we took of from the lights, at low speed, there was a definite knock/shock through the steering wheel.

As she doesn't seem to notice it, I'm wondering how bad she'll let it get - like, "Hi, my steering wheel just came off - rescue me!".

Parts view here: http://zinref.ru/avtomobili/Nissan/001_ ... H/1218.htm

Thanks, Andy

HOTPIG175

Postby HOTPIG175 » February 4th, 2019, 3:19 am

nebula wrote:PROBLEM FIXED : replaced Nissan Tiida Steering Column Cup Link and no more knocking sound. It was a Manufacturer's Defect.

Sorry, back again.

If there is a universal at the bottom of the steering column, then I had one go wrong on an 85 HiAce van, and it rolled and was written off. And it had been put through a roadworthy check four days before, so I guess the Tiida is off the road until the mystery is solved.

And yeah, for all the Tiida knockers, this is a 1.8, mint condition, and cost NZ$3500, 160,000 km, complete with nice 15" wheels.

Tiida's are everywhere here, and most of the rental companies are using them, so they can't be as bad as several people are making out.

Certainly better than a poxy RAV4...

HOTPIG175

Postby HOTPIG175 » February 4th, 2019, 3:31 am

And re the RAV4, we have one, 2.4 litre. It's a joke, with a 600+ page owner's manual, and it has only just passed the 100,000 km mark.

It's noisy, gutless, eats fuel and handles like a sack of hammers.

Have to buy expensive tyres, and can't even tow a small boat up the beach.

Last service by Toyota cost $900.00, and it came back with dirty and low engine oil, and a fault light on the dash.

Cruise control doesn't work, the rear door/tailgate has incurable rattles, and the accelerator pedal has a massive dead spot in it.

My '95 Ford laser 1.6 DOHC, with 315,000 km's on it, is nicer to drive.

So, if you feel the need to knock the Tiida, then why are you on the forum in the first place????
Last edited by HOTPIG175 on February 4th, 2019, 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

HOTPIG175

Postby HOTPIG175 » February 4th, 2019, 3:42 am

Sorry people,

I just found the universal.

http://zinref.ru/avtomobili/Nissan/001_ ... H/1217.htm

THAT doesn't look like fun to replace...

Cheers, Andy