gears changing in 1st 2nd and 3rd

NotHim

gears changing in 1st 2nd and 3rd

Postby NotHim » June 24th, 2013, 9:31 pm

hey guys ..I've a ck4 lancer with a 4G15 and for the longest while I realized that when
I'm in 1st, 2nd or 3rd gear it shifts to the next gear as though I'm in drive
could someone explain what is causing that?

Re: gears changing in 1st 2nd and 3rd

Postby stev » June 24th, 2013, 10:05 pm

not sure what u trying to explain there buddy.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 24th, 2013, 10:38 pm

You have a tiptronic?

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 24th, 2013, 11:24 pm

nope its a four speed automatic transmission right ..but whenever i put it in 1st gear when the rpm hits around 6000+ the gear changes as if I"m in drive

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 25th, 2013, 12:23 am

Isn't that transmission computer controlled? Probably the computer shifts the gear to prevent damage to the transmission, even if the selector is in first gear.

Postby stev » June 25th, 2013, 6:39 am

why in the world are u putting it in 1st and revving to 6000 RPM?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 25th, 2013, 4:12 pm

Are you trying to go through the gears like a manual? Please don't. If the computer is doing that consider yourself lucky that it's protecting your pocket from you.

Leave the Auto in "D" please unless needed to use specific gear. Is it sticking in any gear?

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 25th, 2013, 8:34 pm

trini iceman wrote:Are you trying to go through the gears like a manual? Please don't. If the computer is doing that consider yourself lucky that it's protecting your pocket from you.

Leave the Auto in "D" please unless needed to use specific gear. Is it sticking in any gear?

I will thank you
and it isn't sticking in any gear it stuck in 2 once and every time after that it changed

zorced

Postby zorced » June 25th, 2013, 10:01 pm

trini iceman wrote:Are you trying to go through the gears like a manual? Please don't.

Leave the Auto in "D" please unless needed to use specific gear.

Why not?

Is this 4g15 specific advice or general AT?

skibz

Postby skibz » June 25th, 2013, 10:51 pm

@op : are you trying to redline the gears? Srs business.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 25th, 2013, 11:20 pm

Fellas if you want to audition for Fast 7 buy my car 6a13tt FTO w/5sp box. What I'm reading here reminds me of myself in the day playing racer boy. I feel the man wants more involvement when driving, then go manual, swap in a 4g18 and rough me up when I'm driving my GF's Tiida.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 27th, 2013, 6:38 am

lol ihu soldier but for real you put it simple is really more involvement i want ..thanks alot guys i think i'll swap out for a 4G92 mivec in the near future either tip or manual

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 27th, 2013, 11:00 pm

Tip is like having to take care of a baby, try to get manual.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 28th, 2013, 4:02 pm

well boy we go see cuz I nuh really able with the manual na :oops:

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » June 28th, 2013, 5:44 pm

^ you'll catch on quickly.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » June 29th, 2013, 6:30 am

I know i will but i rel don't want the gears right now I'd rather baby a tiptronic tranny

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 2nd, 2013, 11:46 am

Hi Nothim i can tell u first hand from my P11 CVT M6 it works like a dream...... until you get the urge to plant the right foot. Right now im seriously thinking about a mgb. Not everyday ur gonna feel like rocking d baby.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » August 3rd, 2013, 9:58 pm

well I've taken all opinions into consideration and decided manual when i do chance the engine ..but wht i saying is dis ...tiptronic slowing phasing out manual ..manual if for old school to their core drivers but same way fuel injected replaced carburated wait and see wht tip is gnna do
WAIT WAIT don't bash me yet just saying:
http://www.edmunds.com/fuel-economy/fiv ... hifts.html

Postby BrotherHood » August 5th, 2013, 4:26 pm

trini iceman wrote:Fellas if you want to audition for Fast 7 buy my car 6a13tt FTO w/5sp box. What I'm reading here reminds me of myself in the day playing racer boy. I feel the man wants more involvement when driving, then go manual, swap in a 4g18 and rough me up when I'm driving my GF's Tiida.

:lol: :lol: :rofl: :rofl:

NotHim

Postby NotHim » August 5th, 2013, 6:21 pm

trini iceman wrote:Fellas if you want to audition for Fast 7 buy my car 6a13tt FTO w/5sp box. What I'm reading here reminds me of myself in the day playing racer boy. I feel the man wants more involvement when driving, then go manual, swap in a 4g18 and rough me up when I'm driving my GF's Tiida.

hear na ..ur fto is the black one from eldorado?

Jono_

Postby Jono_ » January 27th, 2015, 12:29 pm

yo trini iceman I getting some problems there with my fto and was wondering if you ever had any similar problems with yours....need help

Postby DVSTT » January 27th, 2015, 1:21 pm

stev wrote:why in the world are u putting it in 1st and revving to 6000 RPM?

Seems OP just got his license