Corollaman

What car would you buy?

Postby Corollaman » June 15th, 2005, 11:36 pm

Greetings tuners,

I am thinking of buying a new ride but I would like some opinions,

If you had to choose a mid sized sedan or a station wagon based on the following criteria, what would you choose? Auto or manual, it doesn't matter. Neither does the brand.

1. Safety
2. Ride quality and general comfort
3. Resale value after 3-4 years
4. Ease of maintenance ie cost and availability of parts
5. Fuel Economy
6. Cost

As much as i hate to admit it, speed is not an issue. As long as it could go 120km/h i happy. And the cost of maintaining something exotic is out of the question.

What would you buy? Would you go brand new or foreign/local used?

I was considering a pickup as well? Would it make sense to buy one, considering the above factors?

Opinions appreciated
thanks
Avin.

olton

Postby olton » June 16th, 2005, 5:56 am

1st hit - Corolla Fielder Wagon (RORO)

Thought about a Peugeot 307Sw, but it won't do too well on resale, maintenance and initial cost.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » June 16th, 2005, 6:15 am

Ditto :mrgreen:

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 16th, 2005, 7:46 am

Interesting

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 16th, 2005, 8:08 am

same here...hands down ...local or roro

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 16th, 2005, 9:52 am

Brand doesn't matter ??? :shock:

Point is, in our market, if you want reliability and resale value = Toyota or Nissan

My opinion on the pickup is, while a good diesel pickup would be nice, you very rarely can get a good price on a pickup, either local used or RORO, too much commercial demand.

Xman

Postby Xman » June 16th, 2005, 9:54 am

Corolla.....is maintenance really necessary (built tough)......very good re-sale value....Toyota known for best suspensions in the world...

only ting is that the car is not much of a looker....

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 16th, 2005, 10:19 am

Raziel wrote:Brand doesn't matter ??? :shock:

When i said brand does not matter, it meant that i not biased toward any one brand of car. SO, Nissan, Toyota, Honda, etc etc it makes no difference.

Postby crazybalhead » June 16th, 2005, 10:28 am

Boy buy a wingroad or a corolla wagon, yuh cyah go wrong.

I wouldn't buy a used pick up so easy nah.

The disadvantages with a pickup are, bad diesl (in Trinidad) meaning smoke and maintenance
Bad ride not too comfortable.

Good points, excellent mileage, (meh pops does always laff at me when I tell him how much money I spend in gas, he has a frontier and spends less than half of that.

So I would say yuh tending towards one of the first two.

Then again yuh could never go wrong with a lil civic for resale value and reliability! :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 16th, 2005, 10:51 am

Check meh avitar check meh signature

Nissan_Shift_Great cars

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 16th, 2005, 11:17 am

crazybalhead,

I hear yuh!

One thing though, how come every one going for the wagons? Is it because of the extra storage space?

Xman

Postby Xman » June 16th, 2005, 11:46 am

One thing though, how come every one going for the wagons? Is it because of the extra storage space?

Boy I have a corolla wagon...I have a 5 cubic foot box ( 2 12's) and could still pack 12 cases off carib in d back....or two coolers...and ah doh have to drop d back seat.....

and if I have to drop it ah could hold real sheit.....

I have the car for 1 and 1/2 years no fault........while somebody I know bought a b15 at the same time with less than half the KM and velocity joints gone through already..

Ah mean it have things ah doh like but the good outweighs the bad.......no bias

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 16th, 2005, 11:46 am

corolla local roro it dosent matter.......rolla

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 16th, 2005, 11:57 am

Xman, you can't compare a Fielder to a B15/Wingroad. Those cars are not of the same calibre.

Fielder is a damn good car, best wagon on the market right now I would say

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 16th, 2005, 12:47 pm

I agree but I am a young fella and them Bulging eyes in fron calle lights reminds me of the old school bugy and that kind of ugliness should be shot and killed........Change the lights and I will sell meh wingroad

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 16th, 2005, 4:50 pm

^^daz probably why Toyota selling alot of them with eyelids.

hehh

Postby hehh » June 16th, 2005, 5:44 pm

is resale on roro good ? or do ppl stay away from that ? cuz in that case it is foreign used then locally used... :?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 16th, 2005, 8:04 pm

olton wrote:1st hit - Corolla Fielder Wagon (RORO)

Based on your criteria I have to agree. Personally I would have bought a Protege 5 Wagon 2.0 Tiptronic, but its just that I am partial to Mazda. :wink:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 16th, 2005, 9:29 pm

what engine do you guys get with these down there? 2zz? also, do you get the 4wd models as well?

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » June 16th, 2005, 11:48 pm

Well it's unanimous...fielder wagon....or if u doh like the wagon the corolla sedan...bess ride imho

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 16th, 2005, 11:51 pm

Man just buy the pickup nah! I seriously considering trading my car for a pickup

speadfreak

Postby speadfreak » June 17th, 2005, 1:00 am

You cant go rong Wiyh a toyota RUNX :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Anton

Postby Anton » June 17th, 2005, 3:01 pm

Xman wrote:only ting is that the car is not much of a looker....

I find them attractive enough. The sportier options do show a different side to the 'rolla

Xman

Postby Xman » June 17th, 2005, 4:31 pm

The sportier options do show a different side to the 'rolla

It always surprises me hoe the sportier or fully loaded version of any car does look 100% different (better) than the stock....

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 17th, 2005, 11:04 pm

Yeah boy. I found the eyelids in particular really did the trick

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » June 18th, 2005, 7:59 am

what engine do you guys get with these down there? 2zz? also, do you get the 4wd models as well?

it have a few 2zz's but thats RORO. local toyota doesn't even give the 1zz, at least without a special order. they have the crappy 1nzFE.
now i'm not saying the 1nz isn't a good engine..................if you're a 60 year old grandmother :mrgreen:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 19th, 2005, 4:49 pm

^^eh heh boi........i haven't bounced up anyone with a 2zz in a fielder yet....just the couple of runxs or so.

Lots of people wouldn't want to pay the diff in price for the 1zz compared to the 1nz.....but i did anyway.

But i'm happy enough with the 1zz for the while, but if i have to replace it...it would be with the 2zz aerotourer.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 19th, 2005, 4:52 pm

aiight aiight repeat after me S L O W Y O T A.......
now quicker now SLOWYOTA

SLOWYOTA

perfect now dont buy one :mrgreen:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 19th, 2005, 6:44 pm

^^^eh heh......daz what you feel!!!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 19th, 2005, 6:51 pm

yeah I go say it again SLOWYOTA