Car doors making noise more now

Postby aaron17 » May 11th, 2019, 10:35 am

I lubricated the rubber trim on the doors with cyclo silicone spray and wiped off the excess. Now I think the noise is worse..wtf.Any thoughts or a different product?

hong kong phooey

Re: Car doors making noise more now

Postby hong kong phooey » May 11th, 2019, 10:47 am

what king of noise is it a rattling ?
does your door also carry a buffer rubber near the bottom ?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » May 11th, 2019, 12:29 pm

WD-40 fixes everything try that
if it have excess doh bother with it leff it alone let it do its work

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2019, 12:56 pm

^WD-40 degrades natural rubber over time. And it's not really a lubricant. It removes water and dissolves the sticky stuff that makes things seize up.

OP we can't really help without more info. Upload a video nah.

Postby shogun » May 11th, 2019, 1:31 pm

All trim clips secured and not moving/pinching/rubbing?

Like was said above, maybe a short clip/vid might be helpful.

Postby aaron17 » May 11th, 2019, 4:11 pm

shogun wrote:All trim clips secured and not moving/pinching/rubbing?

Like was said above, maybe a short clip/vid might be helpful.
I will double check this and see....I am thinking of spraying it back with it and not wiping it off..only where it drips.

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2019, 11:27 am

Automotive weather stripping is EPDM rubber or silicone rubber.

WD40 penetrants evaporate to leave behind a film of mineral oil. WD40 not being a lubricant is a popular myth. It's simply not a very effective lubricant.

WD40 works well at treating automotive weather stripping.

Silicone is excellent for treating weather stripping squeak. If the squeak persists after spraying, you may have door panel abrasion from loose fasteners. You can switch to Teflon spray or flocked tape in areas of friction.

maj. tom wrote:^WD-40 degrades natural rubber over time. And it's not really a lubricant. It removes water and dissolves the sticky stuff that makes things seize up.

OP we can't really help without more info. Upload a video nah.

Postby aaron17 » May 17th, 2019, 7:28 pm

Just an update.... where the hard door rubber seal meets at the top, I placed some thin foam tape there as the door had play which was rubbing . I replicated movement by pressing and shaking the door to test it.Did all 4 and its sounding as if I now bought the car. No sound of doors rattling any more. Now this opens up more avenue to attack other rattles.....

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2019, 2:55 am

aaron17 wrote:Just an update.... where the hard door rubber seal meets at the top, I placed some thin foam tape there as the door had play which was rubbing . I replicated movement by pressing and shaking the door to test it.Did all 4 and its sounding as if I now bought the car. No sound of doors rattling any more. Now this opens up more avenue to attack other rattles.....

What is "foam tape " ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 18th, 2019, 4:58 am

I'm thinking it might be weather strip foam adhesive tape

Essentially a foam strip with adhesive on one side.

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2019, 9:07 am

RedVEVO wrote:What is "foam tape " ?

There are different types of foam, depending on application. You can also use UHMW and flocked tape.

https://www.amazon.com/Adhesive-Insulat ... B07H5B9RZY

https://foamtapes.net/marketapplications/squeak-reduction-anti-rattle-tape/0-18in-x-1in-x-50ft-anti-squeak-tape.aspx

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2019, 1:57 am

adnj wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:What is "foam tape " ?

There are different types of foam, depending on application. You can also use UHMW and flocked tape.

https://www.amazon.com/Adhesive-Insulat ... B07H5B9RZY

https://foamtapes.net/marketapplications/squeak-reduction-anti-rattle-tape/0-18in-x-1in-x-50ft-anti-squeak-tape.aspx

OK