radiator fan

slustarlet

radiator fan

Postby slustarlet » March 31st, 2006, 11:52 pm

could someone tell me how to go about running the radiator fan direct, so it will be on all the time..

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 1st, 2006, 2:19 am

year? make? model?

slustarlet

Postby slustarlet » April 1st, 2006, 9:56 am

VW golf gti 2000 1.8T

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 1st, 2006, 12:17 pm

y u want it to run all the time? is it overheating? check yur thermostat.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 2nd, 2006, 12:04 pm

same question ^^^^ why would you need it to run all the time. thats not healthy.
it can be done using a relay and a switch inside to turn it on but again why ??

aidan

Postby aidan » April 2nd, 2006, 12:47 pm

my pops do that to my sunny,cuz d thermostat was givin trouble,but he put in a switch insdie,kina like an override ting incase d thermostat fail.but in a new golf,why?

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 2nd, 2006, 9:13 pm

Fans will usually burn out if you run them all the time. You can buy a switch with it's own thermostat to run it independant of your factory thermostat. e.g.

http://www.alamomotorsports.com/pmc/Cat_page19.html

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » April 2nd, 2006, 9:44 pm

I think you should be able to run the lead going to the thermostat through a switch inside the car or simply grounding it somewhere in the engine bay should activate the fan relay (I think)

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 3rd, 2006, 12:11 am

korolla

Postby korolla » April 3rd, 2006, 7:19 am

running the fan directly will damage the motor in it these fans, for they are design to work intermittently. When you are driving these fan don't come on they only come on in traffic to aid with the cooling. If you need to have then constanly running to cool your engine you should take the car to a good mechanic.

scoob

Postby scoob » April 6th, 2006, 11:55 am

If u want to cycle the fan based on temp, use the following circuit:
http://www.subaruelectrical.com/subaru_temp_sensor.htm

A different resistor value is needed on the top left for the VW based on what voltage you want to kee the temp sensor output at (ie. the desired engine temp).

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 6th, 2006, 12:54 pm

Running your fan all the time is not a good thing, if your car is overheating get your cooling system pressure checked the thermostat replaced, the rad cap and the coolant replaced. you may need to replace the hoses as well

Having to run your fan like that on a new car is a band aid on the problem, worse yet if it's a golf GTi.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » April 8th, 2006, 11:17 am

Search the net.. there are a few mods out there.. e.g .. in RX7's there is a little re-wire job on the relay pack to run a switch inside the car.. Low/Hi .. you can set it how you want.. do the search meng...

demented

Postby demented » April 8th, 2006, 10:33 pm

If the thermostat has only 1 wire all you have to do is disconnect it and the fan runs all the time...if there are 2 wires just join them together and the fan runs all the time.

It is not wise to run tha fan all the time because:

1. The engine was designed to work at a particular temperature (not too cold and not too hot). hence efficiency will be lost!

2. The fan's life-span will be drastically shortened, and you will have to replace your fan often.

larafan

Postby larafan » April 9th, 2006, 1:10 pm

drive fast..yuh aint go need no fan then