Sunroof repair

halfbreed

Sunroof repair

Postby halfbreed » April 20th, 2006, 7:07 pm

ok, problem is, it doesn't slide back. it drops down but won't slide back. i can even raise it but other than that, no go.

what can i check or who can i go by to check it out for me? wondering if its anything serious, i.e if i'll hadda replace it nuh. lemme know whats up.

original a31 cefiro sunroof.

robbieg

Re: Sunroof repair

Postby robbieg » November 30th, 2012, 10:29 am

Old topic....but having this same issue in an eighth Gen Galant (Sharkmouth).....

Any help?

carter2

Postby carter2 » December 3rd, 2012, 2:20 am

Remove sun roof switch cover. Remove large screw. Ensure not to lose spring washer or shim. Insert "S" shaped screwdriver into hole and turn drive shaft to operate.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » December 3rd, 2012, 9:43 am

carter2 is that the manual way to open the sunroof?

xtech

Postby xtech » December 10th, 2012, 4:42 pm

no manual options on Galants.....if the motor clicking an nothing happening more than likely the lithium grease has turned to hard plastic.
You will have to take it down and try to dissolve the mess. or buy a working roof

robbieg

Postby robbieg » December 10th, 2012, 5:41 pm

xtech, thanks for the response... i will take off the glass and check the tracks out... I have actually been wanting to do that, but I have not been able to time the weather to get chance...

Any recommendations on what I can use to dissolve that grease?

chronoz3x

Postby chronoz3x » November 29th, 2016, 9:51 am

Hey Tuners, my sunroof on 2006 CS3 Lancer was stuck open yesterday. Got it to close with some WD40 and hand strength but it is not fully closed and sealed. Can anyone help me with this, looking for any experienced techs in this area.

Much Thanks.