Excessive kick between 1st and 2nd gear change

CUTLASSMECHANIC

Excessive kick between 1st and 2nd gear change

Postby CUTLASSMECHANIC » March 21st, 2009, 5:15 pm

Hello !
My B14 recently developed an excessive kick when changing from 1st to 2nd gear. I have changed two bad mounting rubbers, and the automatic transmission fluid. Still no improvement. Anyone had this problem before

Gool

Postby Gool » March 22nd, 2009, 1:53 pm

could be solenoids...

+Mello+

Postby +Mello+ » March 22nd, 2009, 1:56 pm

yea, I had a friend with the same problem, it was his transmittion, not sure exactly what was the cause, but he had to change the transmittion. The reason you had to change the mounts was because of the kick. The kick if it continues to happen for long enough and is strong enough. It destroys the transittion mounts. Its a common problem with the nissan transmittions. I know to people with wingroads that it occured to.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » March 23rd, 2009, 1:42 pm

+Mello+ wrote:yea, I had a friend with the same problem, it was his transmittion, not sure exactly what was the cause, but he had to change the transmittion. The reason you had to change the mounts was because of the kick. The kick if it continues to happen for long enough and is strong enough. It destroys the transittion mounts. Its a common problem with the nissan transmittions. I know to people with wingroads that it occured to.

Bugwana?

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 23rd, 2009, 7:23 pm

umm its not the engine mounts?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 24th, 2009, 6:39 am

check all engine mounting!

praise

Postby praise » March 25th, 2009, 2:10 pm

The band needs tightening. Check with an automatic transmission repair shop and get the band tighten. You can also take the opportunity to changed the ATF fluid.
Only the back piece of the transmission needs to be open to do this. However, it takes a little time because of the amount of space to work and the transmission needs to be completely cold before opening.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 26th, 2009, 7:08 am

^^^good info! :|

abbow

Postby abbow » March 26th, 2009, 1:47 pm

robbieq, i can imagine someone reading out loud what you typed there and they are going to sound like Jack Warner fuh real.....

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 26th, 2009, 2:20 pm

CUTLASSMECHANIC, this happed to my car....

there is a spring in the valve body which releases A/T fluid pressure in a controlled manner, giving you smooth transmission shifting...

The spring is broken..that's why you have that hard shifting...."it can chirp tyres 1st & 2nd gears" and also buss yuh mounts..............

solution: change the Tranny and done......don't waste time to repair it.....

ivar

Postby ivar » March 26th, 2009, 2:27 pm

you sure is de band dat need tightening cause i gettin de same prob.

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » March 26th, 2009, 6:08 pm

I am also getting this going from 1st to 2nd then a loud 'gunk' also when braking at slower speeds.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 26th, 2009, 7:02 pm

in the B14 tranny a broken spring in the valve body causes that, in the QG's and other electronic tranny also maybe a broken spring in the valve body or the solenoids in the valve body bad or the speed sensor malfunctioning. scanning them maybe the only way to know if is really a sensor. which is a waste of time and money to change because a bank of solenoids is $2500 +

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » March 26th, 2009, 7:47 pm

i had this exact problem before, my dad took the car to a mechanic in san juan, it cost $500 in total to repair,this includes a transmission oil change, it is a broken spring in the transmission or something like that. contact anil^^^^^

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » March 27th, 2009, 8:42 am

TKO_69 wrote:I am also getting this going from 1st to 2nd then a loud 'gunk' also when braking at slower speeds.

hey anil could this be a mount or also the same spring thingy you talking bout?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 27th, 2009, 4:54 pm

could be either one of them

CUTLASSMECHANIC

Postby CUTLASSMECHANIC » March 28th, 2009, 11:08 am

Is this spring sold separately? where do I get it ??

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 30th, 2009, 2:14 am

CUTLASSMECHANIC wrote:Is this spring sold separately? where do I get it ??

by massy

GA16

Postby GA16 » March 30th, 2009, 3:58 pm

this happened to my b13 once, the spring in the valve body is broken/damaged, as mentioned above, I took my car to this guy in La Romain (keith Charles) and he just dropped the pan under the car and changed out the spring and new oil and good to go again, paid about two hundred and something for the job (can't remember exact figure), and worked well since.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 31st, 2009, 7:14 am

GA16 wrote:this happened to my b13 once, the spring in the valve body is broken/damaged, as mentioned above, I took my car to this guy in La Romain (keith Charles) and he just dropped the pan under the car and changed out the spring and new oil and good to go again, paid about two hundred and something for the job (can't remember exact figure), and worked well since.

sounds like real good service bro!

:P

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » March 31st, 2009, 10:45 am

well it's not the mount, changed it saturday and still getting the kick, anyone knows where i can get the spring fixed around the east-west corridor.

ramptr

Postby ramptr » March 31st, 2009, 9:36 pm

cutlass mechanic

the best option is to up grade dat car.....think about it

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » April 9th, 2009, 10:08 pm

Anybody know the part number for this spring?

I have the same issue with my P11. SR18 Automatic.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 10th, 2009, 9:38 am

Talk to a Tranny specialist 1st....

yea, its a common broken spring like Anil and Bluespeed said...may cost abt $500~ 800 to repair..

roseman

Postby roseman » April 17th, 2009, 8:38 am

yea fellas, i had the same problem with my b14.

the problem is a spring in the transmission. i got it fixed at chaguanas autosupplies (transmission specialist)

once that spring is changed, ur problem would be solved. it cost me bout $300, but that was bout 4years ago

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 17th, 2009, 10:28 pm

Sheriff

Re: Excessive kick between 1st and 2nd gear change

Postby Sheriff » March 31st, 2011, 4:13 pm

Partfinder, where in sando you getting this spring to buy?
Thanks.

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » May 4th, 2011, 11:40 pm

anyone ever try adjust the kickdown cable and see if that helps?

Jasonjx241

Postby Jasonjx241 » September 3rd, 2024, 7:53 am

I am getting this same problem atm , changed the transmission and still gets the samething, the mechanic takes out the kick down cable so I wasn't feeling it when it kicked and if I do put back the kick down cable the transmission will kick and the cable will jump out

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2024, 3:40 pm

Experienced a similar issue , and the electrician had to change the drop resistor .