Problem with Almera n 17" rims

Rodn3y

Problem with Almera n 17" rims

Postby Rodn3y » May 15th, 2007, 3:56 pm

whazzup fellas.. i recently bought 17" black n polish R1 racing sport rims with 215/45/17 tires. the brand is triangle.

the problem is that d car shakes at 100 n over till about 130-140 den i tink i stops. all d windshield wipers does shake. i saw the people speed balance both tyres in front n d machine was readin 0 ... which is ok... but i still get d shake

ny ideas on how to solve this or what i can check to c what is causin it ...

btw d car came with 185/65/15 (stock nissan rims) so d 17" is jus a little bigger n real light in weight .....

thanks

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 15th, 2007, 6:46 pm

wham bro like yuh buy d set of rims well did the problem start only when you put on d new rims ?? 2 is the shake comming from the front or back? left or right? new or used tyres to find the correct on just interchange the tyre with one of d old rims or and yuh selling d old set?

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 16th, 2007, 7:35 am

well is new tyres n d shake comin from d front n it not stoppin ... not even at 150 kmph
both sides shakin in d front, i think d left side more.. n i never got that problem with d previous rims.

n i had to trade in d old rims to cover the tyres for d new rims.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 16th, 2007, 7:36 am

how to post pics on d forum?

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 16th, 2007, 7:50 am

are they used tyres?

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 16th, 2007, 8:03 am

nah brand new tyres... triangle - 215/45/17

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » May 16th, 2007, 8:19 am

Rodney - you might want to try any or all of the following:

1. Speed balance the rear set, and try those in front
2. Try another tyre shop to re-check the wheels/tyre combination (all four)
3. Double check your alignment (even though this should not be bad as you did not have the problem before)
4. Are the weights you using clip on - or stick on weights? On my set of 16" Enkei's on my Accord - there was a sticker on the rim that said to use only stick on weights..not sure why...but I am also using stick on weights on my 17" Firenze on my Primera - no problems.

I see men using the Triangle an ting - but I've never heard of it in the past - so I did not go for it when I recently bought my new set of 17's. Put it this way - I wouldn't trust it personally.

Hope this helps.

Pedro

Postby Pedro » May 16th, 2007, 9:02 am

Oi Rodney... I feeling yuh pain. I have a similar problem. I too put on 17 on my Almera with the same size and profile tires. Speedbalance, align and everything as well. But I getting a slighst shake as well around 100 - 110. It seems to fade off after about 120... but I worrying if it will get worst.

I asked a couple of tuners before hand about the implications of 17s on the Almera and the general advice was that, bushings might get worn faster and the ride might be a little rough. So I assuming is normal what I feeling. However I was advised to change the springs. One tuner has the same size rims and tires (profile as well) as we do and he changed to some TEIN S-Tech springs and he says that the ride is 100% better, so I going for that soon. PM TunerImports about the springs is like $1800 so I think it is worth the investment if it works.

Any other tuners wanna help me and Rodney out with some advice?

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 16th, 2007, 12:27 pm

carry it @ Mileage mack or Masterserve and let them speed balance cuzz my bro van real had a shaking prob wen he put on his rims and tires( they were bought and speed balanced by deans) and wen mileage mack speed balanced all shaking stopped...... try that and see because plenty tireshops in trinidad cannot speed balance properly

Postby Greypatch » May 16th, 2007, 2:20 pm

speed balance yuh tyres hoss..

i have 17" on an almera with no problems

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 16th, 2007, 2:41 pm

wha kinda 17" ... cud u tell me wha profile tyres n type n wha off set d rims is... tanks shotta

pamay

Postby pamay » May 16th, 2007, 5:20 pm

dude have you checked if the rim is sitting totally flush with the disc surface cause that maybe your prob and try to get the centering piece for the rim that maybe the prob.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 16th, 2007, 9:01 pm

wha centering piece for the rim u talkin bout? pamay

pamay

Postby pamay » May 16th, 2007, 9:35 pm

there i snormally a plastic centering piece that comes with the rims
so you wont that little hop causing vibration
check and feel on a very smooth road about 55kph you will get it very slight

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 17th, 2007, 7:15 am

d rim have d centerpiece on ... but i'll check d other thing later...

azis

Postby azis » May 17th, 2007, 8:30 am

speed balance all four yuh tyres boy i had the prob and it was that.... alot of people out there does just balance the front and not the back and believe it or not that vibration does come from the back but it does travel to the front at high speeds
try it yuh go like it

eitech

Postby eitech » May 17th, 2007, 9:17 am

fuh real..i went by real ppl to balance my new rims and tyres, and is d 7th company get it right. Is either the ppl dunno what dey doin or is d machine not accurate. hmm, masterserv and locklin was 2 ah dem... :shock: and my rims are 15" :shock: ...is a youth livin right next to me fix me up.

Snyper

Postby Snyper » May 19th, 2007, 8:42 pm

Speed balance yuh rims i had the same problem they say that these rims suppose to be balanced inside and outside.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 19th, 2007, 8:55 pm

Ah see yuh went with looks instead ah performance, well anyways speed balance all four wheels, if dat dosen't work carry the car back by the place where u buy the the rims and tyres and let them check and see if yuh get ah defective tyre. Yo, V&S in chaguanas on ramsaran st. does do ah good job, yuh should check dem to balance the rims for yuh.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 20th, 2007, 10:11 am

nah nah looks is 17" chrome n thing ... i buy dem rims so i cud drive fast tru all dem bumps in d road :D cuz dem rims nah so heavy

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 20th, 2007, 9:52 pm

17" to drive fast tru all dem bumps yuh say. Dat go make it worst :|

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 20th, 2007, 9:58 pm

How you getting problems with putting on 17"s and man fitting 20's on them almera ? :lol: :lol:

azis

Postby azis » May 21st, 2007, 7:19 am

eitech

Postby eitech » May 21st, 2007, 8:09 am

hmm...20s?..d car musbe fuh show and doh leave d well paved street.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 21st, 2007, 8:56 am

nah i c ah almera by price mart with 20" drivin like normal more dan once... but d 20" look kinda shitty cuz half d rim was up in d wheel well... :mrgreen:

azis

Postby azis » May 22nd, 2007, 2:30 pm

^^^ but thaz a nice look :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 22nd, 2007, 3:52 pm

hmm...20s?..d car musbe fuh show and doh leave d well paved street.

I have seen 20's on the B15, N16 and Y11 at stock hight and dropped to the ground and they don't have issues like this fella. You obviously bought a rim toooo broad or not running a spacer in the back. I got a Y11 dropped to the ground and I have used 225/40/17's and never got problems. :|

eitech

Postby eitech » May 22nd, 2007, 4:43 pm

as yet... :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 22nd, 2007, 5:08 pm

^^ No wonder people doh get far... all that negativity you moving with what positive out comes can really happen for you :lol: :lol: :lol:

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 22nd, 2007, 9:30 pm

well i speed balance all four rims n tyres n d shakin stop. i passin 100..120.. n no shakin.. i good to go dey... tanks fellas for d help n to d other tuners who had d same shakin problem.. b4 u buy front shocks n thing

try speed balance'in yur 4 rims n tyres