WTK where does build over engine mounts with polyurethane

faster the better

WTK where does build over engine mounts with polyurethane

Postby faster the better » September 20th, 2010, 2:56 pm

wha do over a mount with polyurethane so i doh have to buy a new one every 5-6 months
hear bout a place down south cipero street bout once i pass couva i loss
have anywhere else closer up north does do it

Dave-ve

Re: WTK where does build over engine mounts with polyurethan

Postby Dave-ve » September 20th, 2010, 4:03 pm

what engine? you may be able to get poly inserts for it.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » September 21st, 2010, 9:59 am

fwd sr20 rear engine mount the one that like to buss

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 26th, 2010, 1:24 pm

^^^get through yet?

faster the better

Postby faster the better » September 27th, 2010, 8:47 am

nah nuh yet
still sourcing a place

ivar

Postby ivar » September 27th, 2010, 1:46 pm

sasco cipero street......

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » September 27th, 2010, 7:24 pm

if you are looking at making solid mounts, be warned, a lot of vibration gets transferred to the chassis. mine took about 4 months to settle in before vibration was tolerable. the mount lasted about 4 years before the rubber deformed and needed replacing.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » September 28th, 2010, 9:08 am

ivar wrote:sasco cipero street......

yeah i know bout there but i will never find there nuh i go get loss and turn round

Dave-ve wrote:if you are looking at making solid mounts, be warned, a lot of vibration gets transferred to the chassis. mine took about 4 months to settle in before vibration was tolerable. the mount lasted about 4 years before the rubber deformed and needed replacing.

thats the thing self i want i cyah be changing that mount every 5 months

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » September 28th, 2010, 10:52 am

the place is easy to find. head west from the Mon Repos roundabout into San Fernando and turn left at the second traffic light onto Cipero street. drive till you see the first street on the right(Suttom street). sasco is the 2nd or 3rd building opposite this.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » September 28th, 2010, 11:50 am

i will try and find the place
or i hadda get a guide
saturday i will swing down there

abbow

Postby abbow » September 30th, 2010, 1:34 pm

SASCO 652-8786

If you are close by and cant find it...call the number and he will direct you from wherever you are.

Dont do the solid mounts...have it done with the spaces. it works better than the original thing. I had all my mounts redone and it works well.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » September 30th, 2010, 1:46 pm

thanx bro for the advise
will do that didnt know they did it with spaces
but thanx i will look for the place saturday

yakuza

Postby yakuza » September 30th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Something like this you looking for?

+Mello+

Postby +Mello+ » October 1st, 2010, 5:35 pm

^^^ level vibration!!!

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » October 1st, 2010, 6:15 pm

^ but with improved acceleration.

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 1st, 2010, 6:29 pm

Ofcourse..one thing for another.Plus this this wont mashop as fast even if d driver like to "mash out" often

dreadman

Postby dreadman » October 3rd, 2010, 12:38 am

polyurethane bushings are great to use but even better with the spaces as abbow said......it allows more movement between the inner bushin to the outter housing creatin less vibration felt from inside d vehicle.....dats y original bushings have spaces on some sides of the bushings

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 3rd, 2010, 7:21 pm

^^^well, as said above bro....u can't have something for nothing! pros and cons! :|

faster the better

Postby faster the better » October 4th, 2010, 9:04 am

good advise bout the spaces in the mounts
i wha get it done soon

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 6th, 2010, 9:09 pm

Sasco is good if you just want a mount done over in the normal "rubber". That's what they do.
Be warned, you have to walk with the old mount before they give you one (hopefully thay have one that was already made over). Also, they just do a simple moulded mount that is not like the original. i.e. with the number of spaces and orientation of the spaces relative to the mount housing to minimize vibration.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » October 7th, 2010, 7:09 pm

i have the old mount and all here
but they does do it in polyurethane????
i doh wha no normal rubber

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 7th, 2010, 7:36 pm

not polyu. normal rubber compound.

imperial

Postby imperial » October 13th, 2010, 11:48 pm

The local polyurethane is RUBBISH.
I did over my gearbox mount and rear engine (x member) (SR20DET FWD) mount because my whole front suspension is polyurethane (Energy Suspension... never done ting) and within 2 months... it mash tuh F!CK up!
$1000 gone down de drain.
I went and had it done over by Sasco... everything back to normal.
My theory is... with that kinda power... you have to give up some luxuries... and the vibration wasn't so unbearable as to stop driving the car totally and I re did ALL my mounts to SOLID rubber mounts.
Car is driven everyday... my old man doesn't complain either.
Had it in the car about 5 years now (done by Sasco), I jus went and play farse and try the polyurethane that I see a machine shop advertising in the express...

So its up to you... but in my view, the LOCAL polyurethane is rubbish.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » October 14th, 2010, 3:37 pm

scene scene i open to advise right now cause the new mount aint buss yet

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 16th, 2011, 8:51 pm

^^^what u decided? i need to replace my sr tranny mount!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 18th, 2011, 9:51 am

sasco ftw....i did my swap 9 months now an the mount they made for me still in top condition, hadda carry the others to make over....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 20th, 2011, 3:01 pm

went yesterday by sasco and made over my tranny mount.SOLID,no spaces!

the youth man kept askin me if i sure i wanted it solid! lol

installed this morning....have to carry it for a run to see how she pullin! :twisted:

*fraid to leave home,them phagwa people might spray down meh car!* :shock: :oops:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 21st, 2011, 6:53 am

yeh they doh recommend full solid, the metal bushing where the bolt passes through usually lets loose from the rubber after a while.

me ent know when u goh check me to tag along for a test run too :lol:

faster the better

Postby faster the better » March 21st, 2011, 7:32 am

how the feeling yuh getting plenty vibration??

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 1st, 2011, 10:16 pm

NXTREME wrote:yeh they doh recommend full solid, the metal bushing where the bolt passes through usually lets loose from the rubber after a while.

me ent know when u goh check me to tag along for a test run too :lol:

when u ready! :P