Primera CVT M6 tranny mash up now

Krakkle

Primera CVT M6 tranny mash up now

Postby Krakkle » March 16th, 2006, 4:49 pm

Mih tiptronic tranny "mash up" now....... i.e. clutch(es) burn, I aint getting no reverse gear plus ah getting forward drive in "N" AND "D" !!! :(

Is there any recommended mechanic to repair Tiptronic or should I just search for a regular automatic tranny for conversion ?? (Is wife car nuh, so manual box out of the question).

Advice plz. :roll:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 16th, 2006, 5:06 pm

how u manage to do that one :shock:

You can get the CVT trannies in the bamboo. If you don't use the manual mode at all and don't mind pure auto, those should be easier to find. I think u'd need to get the ECU too, and gas mileage will go up a little

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 16th, 2006, 5:25 pm

[quote="flatline"]how u manage to do that one :shock:

Left the car by a straightener to fix a lil dent and when we went back to collect car....reverse not engaging !

I feel they drive (& fcuk up) de tranny but I can't prove it ...... (needless to say....wife rel stresed out over loss of use of car so I need to get it fix ASAP.)

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 16th, 2006, 6:03 pm

pappy it ent have no clutch in dem tranny, and if yuh getting any gear at all an d car moving den it mean dat yuh belt intact so take ah few deep breaths and count to 10.

Ok so possible 2 problems, check your selector cable for play, check under the car and at the tranny, make sure cable is secured properly on both ends as well as cable housing. If it is loose that is your problem. If it appears secure then the problem is in the valve body, so mechanic time check Darren Cassie (Gasparillo) or Kieth Charles (La Romaine) other forum members could point u to places central and north if u need.

When last did u change the tranny oil and what is the kilometerage on the car.

Ah see yuh now post up dat d straightener do it, where was the dent? U check under the car to see if d champion jack up on d tranny and distort something?

Rx

Postby Rx » March 17th, 2006, 5:38 am

do a complete tranny flush ......... as already mentioned .....check ALL sensors.

lol @ KILOMETERAGE :lol:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 17th, 2006, 7:02 am

Wanna buy a cvt tranny (hyper cvt m6) I'll sell you mine, once you could wait for me to install a gearbox......

pm me and let me know.

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 17th, 2006, 1:02 pm

check under the car to see if d champion jack up on d tranny and distort something?[/quote]

krackkorn, thanks for the heads up: I'll check out these pointers.

Car got a lil dent in back bumper so no physical damage to tranny.

New step motor/shift switch & fluid installed in late 2004. Mileage currently @ 110,000 kms ....fluid probably due for change right about now. :roll:

BTW, I did climb a steep hill recently (to get money from man who hit de car) and the tranny worked fine ....... maybe the hill-climb bun out sumthing?

killerhyundai, I doh mind buying your CVT but I need it right now!! 8-)

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 17th, 2006, 1:36 pm

Ok, I'll make some calls today, once I can get a gearbox installed quickly, you can get my tranny next week!!! (By sunday I'll know for sure, you could wait that long?)

pm me or call 688-9755, ask for Christopher.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 17th, 2006, 1:38 pm

Oh Krack korn, You could tell me how to fool the ecu into thinking the cvt tranny is in drive and still there?

Thanks.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 17th, 2006, 1:51 pm

^greddy mms...lol

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 17th, 2006, 2:18 pm

No, I mean to prevent the ecu from going into safe mode...

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 17th, 2006, 7:04 pm

killer , u will need to wait 3 weeks before I can give u that info. If u in ah rush contact SR20VE for that. U should still get the mss or any other rpm switch as u going manual, u would want to engage cams at lower rpm's than stock engagement points.

Krakkle, It could aslo be the PNP (park neutral position) switch, I dont know if that is what u were refering to when u said 'shift switch'. Climbing hills wouldn't damage nutten, as ah said check ur selector cable, if is not that or the PNP switch u will need to service the valve body.

There is stuff out there to help free sticking valves etc. in the tranny, but they are for normal autos and the only problem I can foresee is compatibility with the cvt fluid, it might not cause ah problem but then again it might, I don't know. So physical servicing of the valve body would be necessary.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 17th, 2006, 7:33 pm

chris check this site...

http://www.digitaltrading.co.uk/sr20ve/electronic.htm

i not really seein neting bout wat u askin bout but it have some good info bout the conversion

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » March 17th, 2006, 9:41 pm

Check for CVT light blinking on the dash.. the number of blinks indicates what possible damages to sensor...

Mileage currently @ 110,000

Change that fluid meng.. do a complete flush @ MASTSERV if possible

KRACK KORN

Check yuh PM

m6

Postby m6 » March 17th, 2006, 11:42 pm

Killer Hyundai bring de car boy I go show you how to fool the ECU into thinking it in Drive Did it a couple times already!

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 18th, 2006, 7:42 am

Aaron 2NR, I see u mention this before in a next post and u suggesting it again here.

The UK fella ended up using a SR16VE ecu. This ecu is already designed for a manual car and doesn't require the jedi mind trick, he got the mss to be able to custom adjust cam switching points, read the man webpage good.

It have good info yes but it not applicable to what killer wants to do, neither with the hardware that he has. If killer gets an mss then it is a good resource for setting it up, the mss comes with japanese instructions only, mine did anyway, so u have to depend on these fellas that did trial and error and got it to work.

from U.K sr20ve website:

Here it is finished!

An SR16VE ECU running an 8,500 rev limit, no Speed limit and infinitely variable user determined cam-switching.

Also the wiring diagram on that website is questionable because anyone that owns a VE can tell u that it has no EGR system.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 18th, 2006, 8:13 am

Cool scene fellas, Thanks! I trying to organise the gearbox now.....one other thing, a pulsar gearbox has a mechanical or electronic speed sensor?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 18th, 2006, 2:00 pm

^^ It mechanical sensor buddy...

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » March 18th, 2006, 2:44 pm

i have a broken cvt tranny to so if you want to buy it for parts pm me ...the belt buss in it ...You should check me so i can try and diagnose your problem to ....

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 19th, 2006, 8:39 pm

Thanks Picasso, can that be changed to an electronic one?

southside crew

Postby southside crew » March 19th, 2006, 11:46 pm

Killer I have seen some pulsar with electronic speedo sensor...

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 20th, 2006, 4:04 pm

sr20ve wrote:i have a broken cvt tranny to so if you want to buy it for parts pm me ...the belt buss in it ...You should check me so i can try and diagnose your problem to ....

Thanks for the offer and all the advice fellas ....... but mech located a regular CVT tranny, transferred my sensors over and basically combined parts from the two and made one functional unit. Should be rolling by 5pm today. :D

Killerhyunai , dude I really appreciated your offer of an M6 tranny as well but my mech pulled thru on the job over the weekend. Enjoy your manual box when you get it cause it should take much more jamming than the CVT unit !! 8-)

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » March 20th, 2006, 9:25 pm

Thanks for the offer and all the advice fellas ....... but mech located a regular CVT tranny, transferred my sensors over and basically combined parts from the two and made one functional unit. Should be rolling by 5pm today.

Where your mechanic located??? and when yuh say regular CVT Tranny yuh mean Hyper CVT and not Hyper CVT M6?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 21st, 2006, 6:50 am

Cool scene Krakkle, no problem. I f you need a backup unit, let me know.

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 21st, 2006, 1:23 pm

Where your mechanic located??? and when yuh say regular CVT Tranny yuh mean Hyper CVT and not Hyper CVT M6?[/quote]

RYO That's right, the donor tranny was from a car without manual/tiptronic option. (The mech. is in Calcutta #2, Freeport.)
Last edited by Krakkle on March 22nd, 2006, 9:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 21st, 2006, 6:10 pm

Krakkle, the Hypertronic CVT transmisson REF06A or REF06V that came in the HP11, QP11, HU14, QB15 are all the same internally. The difference would be in the bell housing if they came off SR20's and QG18DD's. The M6 option is a function of the tranny controller (brain) only there is nothing physical in the tranny that makes it M6 or not.

There is not a CVT of this model mated to the SR18 (to my knowlege) only to the QG18DD and SR20's. The same tranny is also fitted to the QR20 and 25's of the newer primera, not sure of the bell housing as I haven't had one apart yet.

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » March 22nd, 2006, 9:58 am

[quote="krack korn"]Krakkle,The M6 option is a function of the tranny controller (brain) only there is nothing physical in the tranny that makes it M6 or not.

That's the truth there ^^^ meng. My post (was edited &) is now correct. :oops:

Stay Tuned

Re: Primera CVT M6 tranny mash up now

Postby Stay Tuned » April 20th, 2011, 6:00 pm

So wat was actually wrong with it?

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » April 21st, 2011, 9:50 am

(Wow, this is a blast from the past.)

Honestly, I left the old tranny by the mech & he probably never tore it apart to pin-point the problem. Once the replacement worked, we were too happy to worry about the old one. 8-)

Car was sold since 2008 & AFAIK it still performing good with new owner.

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » April 21st, 2011, 10:24 pm

k man thanks for the reply!