Irridium Plugs

Postby turbosingh » March 16th, 2011, 11:20 am

I have noticed recently the number of inferior NGK Irridium plugs in the country.Bought a set of brand new plugs for my RB an the car breaking up when boost comes in.Then i bought some Bosch an the car reving out clean.

5forward

Re: Irridium Plugs

Postby 5forward » March 16th, 2011, 1:06 pm

Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

But what exactly do u mean by "breaking up" ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 16th, 2011, 11:02 pm

there was a thread somewhere about imitation ngk plugs...

QG

Postby QG » March 16th, 2011, 11:24 pm

Ohhh i now hearing about it....i will do a search on those fake plugs

Postby turbosingh » March 17th, 2011, 6:30 am

5forward wrote:Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

Misfireing or detonation.

5forward

Postby 5forward » March 17th, 2011, 7:40 am

Scene.Good thing i bought the super 4

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 18th, 2011, 9:49 am

turbosingh wrote:
5forward wrote:Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

Misfireing or detonation.

i bought a set of the NGK, worked fine for 3 months, after that i had the same problem, purchased another set from a different supplier in January, so far so good. i hear the v-power, as long as gapped properly, they work fine as well.

aidey

Postby aidey » May 2nd, 2011, 10:00 am

:-( Changed plugs in my rb few weeks ago.Hope i dont get these problems.Used the NGK Iridiums

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » May 3rd, 2011, 10:26 am

careful who allyuh buying from yes.

Postby turbosingh » May 3rd, 2011, 11:17 am

NXTREME wrote:careful who allyuh buying from yes.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 10th, 2011, 6:32 am

i bought my set from gerard...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 10th, 2011, 9:51 pm

Postby turbosingh » May 10th, 2011, 9:59 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:Fake NGK Spark Plugs

Very Good info Vega!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » May 11th, 2011, 5:38 am

i goin an look for some HKS or sumting yes...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 11th, 2011, 8:06 am

turbosingh wrote:

Very Good info Vega!

X2!

S.W 15

Postby S.W 15 » May 20th, 2011, 8:24 am

I have Irriidium plugs in my RB25 for almost a year now and never had any problems. Good info on the fake ones, will definitley look out for that when I am buying again!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 22nd, 2011, 8:49 pm

I'm glad that I am importing plugs from the states for all my vehicles, at least that way I dont have to worry about the fakes...

A real shame that the consumer has to be abused like this in T+T

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 22nd, 2011, 8:51 pm

i think the "denso" irridium are good though...correct me if i'm wrong

RyoTech PerFormance

Postby RyoTech PerFormance » May 23rd, 2011, 12:24 am

We at Ryotech Peformance will like to inform our customers that ALL NGK / NTK products sold buy us are directly imported from NGK Japan and are 100% Genuine.

I had a customer who bought a set of iridiums or platinums (can't recall) from a popular NGK retailer and the grounding strap actually broke off near the apex. They didn't even last him 24hrs...... please check for genuine markings when buying to prevent problems.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 23rd, 2011, 3:49 pm

Denso makes two kinds of iridium plug.. A long life version and an ultra-fine tip "performance" version..

If going denso, go for the long life... The shorter lifespan isnt worth it for the .05hp or whatever the finer tip will produce..

That said, if you can get genuine NGK iridium IX, then its a superb plug..

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 23rd, 2011, 4:43 pm

how do i go about telling the difference between the denso "long life" version and the "performance" version?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » May 23rd, 2011, 4:56 pm

Fantastic info.
Thanxs VegA!!!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 23rd, 2011, 9:48 pm

The Denso plugs have different product codes.. I dont know them offhand but it can easily be found online...

The tip diameter is also significantly different between the two models and so is the packaging, naming etc..

Sorry I cant search right now but im on the school cumputers.. Just check out denso website

dreadman

Postby dreadman » May 30th, 2011, 2:41 pm

i recently bought a ga15 head an block an with it i got denso plugs out of japan(not iridiums)........working good. actually i find it workin better dan d iridiums

rez

Postby rez » May 30th, 2011, 6:46 pm

i need to buy plugs for my rb20det but i am going to tune for 350hp what is a good spark plug to use.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 30th, 2011, 11:35 pm

no problem guys.....glad to share the info!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 31st, 2011, 3:39 am

Well, my NGK iridium IX needed to come out of the accord... I don't know if one or all are fouled, but when I had the spark plug oil seal leaking, some oil got in there and really messed up my plugs..

Changed the seals and cleaned the plugs but they never seem to have recovered and just as a temporary diagnosis measure I threw in some ngk v-power and the car idles fine again..
I guess incidents like this remind me that sometimes you can never really get the full life out of iridium yes..

Next rounds I may try the Denso Platinum TT... For about $2.50 US each in the states why not

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 31st, 2011, 11:28 am

If im buying online ill buy the denso iridium...but which is better: IK20 OR IK16 ?

another question: My car (corolla dx wagon) has a sticker on the head cover stating to use spark plugs with two electrodes...how important is this?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 31st, 2011, 2:02 pm

The difference between the IK20 and IK16 is the heat range... 16 equates to NGK heat range 5, 20 equates to 6...

For my particular engine the 20/6 is what is required because of the compression ratio etc...

Concerning the twin tip, I can't see it being that important but if you want piece of mind just buy some Denso Platinum TT for $2.50 US and that way you get your twin tip...

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 31st, 2011, 10:26 pm

alrite...but doesnt a spark plug with 2 electrodes suppose to look like this http://www.google.tt/imgres?imgurl=http ... 40&bih=809 ? ...the plug in the sticker looks like that