project sr20ve 20v 6 speed install.

d_sunnyboi

Re: project sr20ve 20v 6 speed install.

Postby d_sunnyboi » December 30th, 2012, 11:07 am

i myself in the future would like to own a evo 6...just love those..

Postby Rooki3 » December 30th, 2012, 6:34 pm

sound boy 64, like u get yur permit bai

Postby Ted_v2 » December 30th, 2012, 6:45 pm

Rooki3 wrote:sound boy 64, like u get yur permit bai

Prowling the streets all now 8-)

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 5th, 2013, 9:30 am

for the fellow '' serious b11'' guys...just posting up these pics of my brake upgrades..any questions you have feel free to ask!..
front..jpg
rear.jpg
046.JPG
048.JPG

Postby black start » January 5th, 2013, 11:26 am

^real sweet set up there bro.

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 5th, 2013, 12:03 pm

[quote="black start"]^real sweet set up there bro.[/quote][quote="black start"]^real sweet set up there bro.[/quote]

yea bro..thanks...re-painted the calipers yesterday so i took out some pics and said let me post them up.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 6th, 2013, 10:40 am

I love it. Keep up with the great work.

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 6th, 2013, 11:48 am

thanks bro...eager to start the swap..well take pics of every step/install.

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » January 7th, 2013, 2:07 pm

Car looking sweet so far! good luck with build! Building a b11 with a ga16 myself but the car suffering doesn't get time to work on her.

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 13th, 2013, 10:23 am

small update BIG problem...took out the e15 yesterday morning and did first test fit of the 20v into the engine bay!!..which didn't go as we thought!..turns out the 6 speed box is to long/girth by roughly 2 inches to be able to fit, so on that note gonna have to change the gearbox to the 5 speed hopefully i get an lsd one...on another note so much for being the only 6 speed b11 in the world..also tried fitting the u14 booster..with minor metal re-shaping would fit nicely!..

would post up the 6 speed for sale as i get a 5 speed lsd box!!!..
031.JPG
032.JPG
024.JPG
005.JPG

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 13th, 2013, 10:29 pm

I stopped by to see Riyad's install yesterday. Your 6 speed dreams may not be lost but you'll need to source a SER/Specv box out of the US which is pretty easy and cheap.
BTW Riy is a master electrical tech and the mass of spec and wiring diagrams and consults he was doing to get the pedal communicating with those TPS sensors, it's not going to be pretty if you're paying by the hour.

Postby turbosingh » January 14th, 2013, 8:31 am

I have a Side mount LSD box if u interested pal.Call 7427482

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 14th, 2013, 8:27 pm

d_sunnyboi,all still may not be lost with ur box. how low is that car? if the box sits under the sub chassis,how low is it to the ground?

(i looking for a pair of 300zx calipers. do u know where i can get? need 300zx and not skyline. thanks.)

black start, the guy not from beujcal, he from warrenville.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 14th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Only difference with the 300zx is that the NA calipers are 26mm(rotor and iron).
Why 300zx though syndicate?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 14th, 2013, 9:41 pm

^cause of offset of rims and the length of studs and not mention the height of my car.

to use the 30mm means i have to change studs and raise my car back up as the rims will touch the outer of the fenders.

with the 26mm i can use my same studs and rims(might need a 5mm spacer) but that can still apply to my application,and won't have to raise back up!

u sure the 26mm is iron and not aluminum?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 14th, 2013, 10:12 pm

I'm doubting myself now, let me double check.
Good points to note with the offset, how much thicker is it when mounted? The trick isn't so much the offset actually, it's the spoke. I had +45mm clearing a brembo bbk.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 15th, 2013, 6:09 am

the caliper is aprox. 3/8 wider. meaning it will push out more than the 26mm ones.

i have on Advanti tuner 6's.the spoke design looks like it will clear but i haven't tried it yet to verify. more than likely i'll need spacers!

i'm sure you'll tell me it's aluminum calipers. lol

Postby turbosingh » January 15th, 2013, 6:55 am

Syndicate You might have to use R32 but depending on your offset you might still have to use spacers.Only R33 an up are aluminium.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 15th, 2013, 7:02 am

viewtopic.php?t=233849
P11-Brake-upgrade6.jpg

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 15th, 2013, 7:04 am

according to the thread and the pic,the 1990 300zx n/a calipers are aluminum!

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 15th, 2013, 9:03 am

You'd think the author of the thread would know this. hahaha

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 15th, 2013, 11:01 am

^^ i should think so too.. :lol:

*but u still ent admit is aluminum eh! :oops: *

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 15th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Update on install..got a experienced guy to look at the situation and the clearance issues are solved!!!
What was done was that the shifter arm was raised upwards to clear the chassis..
The engine is in the car on its four mounts, onto seeing about the axles!!

Syndicate..got them from deon or ''on the inside''..

was reading about the clearance issues..these didn't clear the wheels, but what i did was placed a washer between the caliper and spindle..so it pulled back in the caliper and cleared the wheel spokes.

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 15th, 2013, 11:37 pm

will post pics later on..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 16th, 2013, 4:26 am

d_sunnyboi wrote:Update on install..got a experienced guy to look at the situation and the clearance issues are solved!!!
What was done was that the shifter arm was raised upwards to clear the chassis..
The engine is in the car on its four mounts, onto seeing about the axles!!

Syndicate..got them from deon or ''on the inside''..

was reading about the clearance issues..these didn't clear the wheels, but what i did was placed a washer between the caliper and spindle..so it pulled back in the caliper and cleared the wheel spokes.

the r32 u used, were the iron or aluminum ones? the spacers/washers were my plan B! :oops:

hola at me if u don't get through with ur axles! 8-)

Postby turbosingh » January 16th, 2013, 6:35 am

Posted Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:26 am

Lol like yuh dreaming the brakes Syndicate!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 16th, 2013, 9:22 am

^yea dawgy :oops:

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 16th, 2013, 10:25 pm

correct..these are aluminum...from the 300z.

got new spindles today, w11 4x114.4, these spindles accept the p12 vj so it just to find axles of the correct length, also installed the new coilovers.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 17th, 2013, 5:41 am

the axles u got with ur purchase,did u try them as yet? are they long or short?

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » January 17th, 2013, 10:08 pm

[quote="THE SYNDICATE"]the axles u got with ur purchase,did u try them as yet? are they long or short?[/quote]

I tried the p12 axles, what i came up with is the right side going on the left + cut re-spline to 12'' and have to look for a axle for the left which is 16'' because the left is to short to work on the right.

Where's the best place to get motor mounts remade solid???..want to get them remade in the soft type polyurethane.