QG15 problems/questions

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 14th, 2006, 7:57 am

The QG in my pops B15 has started to burn abnormal amounts of gas in recent weeks. full service done about 3 months ago. im thinking O2 sensor. any other thoughts?

In addition there is a bucking sort of problem at around 100kph.
thing is ... if i press for more gas the bucking disappears. if i release the pedal a little it also disappears.
the bucking is only present when the accelerator pedal is on that spot. for this im thinking TPS. can the QG TPS be cleaned ?

MIL is on. code is Crank sensor. everytime i clear the code, it lights back up after about 10 min of driving (no other ill effects). anyone knows what could be causing this or is it just a case of change the sensor.

Any help would be appreciated.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 14th, 2006, 10:01 am

Me thinks you answered your own question... Change the crank sensor and see if your problem remains.
While you are in the buying mood, the purchase of a cam sensor is also a good idea.
Common failures on the QG - Cam, Crank and Air Flow.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 14th, 2006, 10:02 am

no ideas then?

QG

Postby QG » December 14th, 2006, 11:28 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:no ideas then?

you can change the cam shaft sensor, i've changed mines b4 and the car drives good. My problem was the car used to cut off on me while driving and i've done a computerized analysis test and the problem was the cam shaft sensor...so i changed both the cam and crank sensor. But in your case i think you should change the air flow sensor. Hope that solve the problem.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 14th, 2006, 2:40 pm

thanks....
anyone remember the price of the crank sensor?

Big Z,i'm NOT in a buyin mood. :lol:
but then you gotta buy what you gotta buy. :|

QG

Postby QG » December 14th, 2006, 3:46 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:thanks....

$250 for one at Neal and Massy, brand new. Avoid buying second hand sensor.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » December 14th, 2006, 9:59 pm

but wha causes it to burn plenty gas?

JWT

Postby JWT » December 14th, 2006, 11:24 pm

could be air flow sensor
take out spray it with eletrical spray and clean it
and see what happens there

but if you are getting acrank code clear it and go for a run in mayaro
run the car for a long journey you do not have to run hard
may help

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 15th, 2006, 8:24 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:thanks....

thanks for the price..

MAF was the first thing i cleaned then changed plugs again and still the same gas guzzling.

QG

Postby QG » December 15th, 2006, 9:15 am

sometimes too if the the injectors clogged, the qg engines uses up lots more gas while driving. try cleaning the injectors or buy of bottle of octane boosters (gas treatment) and see if this works.

QG

Postby QG » December 15th, 2006, 9:17 am

turbonator wrote:but wha causes it to burn plenty gas?

also when qg engines needs a tuning, it tends to burns extra gas.

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » December 16th, 2006, 1:04 pm

not a bad $$$$$$ 4 new and original :?

QG

Postby QG » December 17th, 2006, 2:14 am

sti-hybrid wrote:

not a bad $$$$$$ 4 new and original :?

Not bad you say? The technicians made me bought two because sometimes the other one goes bad. I bought the camshaft + the crank sensor...so i ended up paying $500.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » December 17th, 2006, 10:17 am

pull out de engine and put a vvl

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 18th, 2006, 2:10 pm

man would i ever love to... ^^^^^

QG

Postby QG » December 18th, 2006, 2:36 pm

yeah same here.

QG

Postby QG » December 18th, 2006, 2:38 pm

aye speaking of vvl, yuh ever hear how it sounds with a mss hooked up? It sounds mean, vtec eh want nothung with it.

Empress

Postby Empress » January 12th, 2007, 12:33 pm

Strugglerzinc, you got those sensors?? check the motorist in cunupia ask for chris, they had in stock a while ago not sure if they still do.

2ren

Postby 2ren » February 3rd, 2007, 1:59 am

had that problem with my qg15. when it went in for full service i had the injectors cleaned and problem disappeared.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 18th, 2007, 6:42 am

O2 sensor changed $635
Crank sensor & Cam sensor $250-$300 each

Fcukin car stil burnin gas like a mofo :evil:

I'm open to suggestions 2nrs....

eitech

Postby eitech » May 18th, 2007, 8:08 am

dude, ur mil light on, if it's d crank sensor playind arse, change it...then proceed from there. keep it simple first. yuh go just confuse yuh head worryin oda shyte.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 18th, 2007, 8:30 am

so what is the abnormal amount of gas?

QG

Postby QG » May 18th, 2007, 9:56 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:O2 sensor changed $635
Crank sensor & Cam sensor $250-$300 each

Fcukin car stil burnin gas like a mofo :evil:

I'm open to suggestions 2nrs....

How much gas u burning so? How far do you drive the car on a daily basis and how hard do u accelerate?

Have u ever changed the fuel filter, it usually be in the gas tank and cost around $250 or so. If it's clogged or mucky, the car may tend to use extra gas to pass through the filt.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 19th, 2007, 6:30 am

eitech, crank and cam sensors changed already.

sm, close to quarter tank Couva to POS and back.

Nissan QG15DE, is my pops car so it dont pass 100 km/hr. Never changed the fuel filter so will try that next. i suppose by now it needs changing.

Idiot mechs start recommending sensors to change from a side. I am now of the opinion that most of them ent know they a$$ from they elbow and just goin by trial and error hoping the problem solve itself.

eitech

Postby eitech » May 19th, 2007, 7:01 am

well check fuel filter. it quite eazy to do. i checked mine yesterday.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 19th, 2007, 8:07 am

eitech wrote:well check fuel filter. it quite eazy to do. i checked mine yesterday.

Thats the one in the tank correct?

eitech

Postby eitech » May 19th, 2007, 12:07 pm

yup..

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 19th, 2007, 12:27 pm

Wha i wha know is y them engines and dem burning so much gas? Other than d crazy gas consumption dem engines does work real nice eh but is real ppl who i know who have cars wid dem engines bawling because it drinking real gas. :|

eitech

Postby eitech » May 19th, 2007, 1:35 pm

my b15 does real chinks on gas..it all comes down to somethin wrong. i does get 350 to 375km over a week drivin off a full tank. and dats moderate a/c usage plus sum spirited drivin..with proper maintenace, a lil gas treatment...

eitech

Postby eitech » May 19th, 2007, 1:38 pm

is either ur fuel, air, or electrical system playin d arse. do the reaquired maintenance on each and see what happens...if no results, well..then....i guess ur jus faked.. :shock: