securing my fog lamps

formula_1

securing my fog lamps

Postby formula_1 » June 20th, 2007, 2:37 am

I would like to get some advice on how to secure fog lamps on the B15. Unfortunately, mine was stolen from the vehicle in Chaguanas. I am considering buying a new pair, 'cause it enhances the look of the vehicle.
What is the easiest and cheapest way to secure these fog lamps from those bandits?

azis

Postby azis » June 20th, 2007, 8:20 am

epoxy down the screw that bolting on the fog into the bumper thaz the best i can think about... but if you have to change the bulb you would have to jack up the car and change it with the fog on the bumper

Postby wagonrunner » June 20th, 2007, 10:00 am

azis,
you could lose your bumper doing that eh.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 20th, 2007, 3:08 pm

jed, my best remedy fuh dat is doh park any and anywhere. It has proven successful so far for me...

droppa

Postby droppa » June 20th, 2007, 3:24 pm

yuh cud take out the bumber and drive some screws in it from places where they wud not be able to screw it out without takin the bumper off the vehicle.... :twisted:

and as azis say drop some epoxy on it...... :mrgreen:

Postby Maserati » June 20th, 2007, 3:32 pm

they wud not be able to screw it out without takin the bumper off the vehicle....

lol i eh go put that past some of dem tief yes

azis

Postby azis » June 20th, 2007, 7:01 pm

^^^basically padna if you securing ur fogs try and secure ur bumper too cause if they cant get the fogs and they want it bad enough.... nothing will stop them from taking the bumper too lol

Postby equipped2ripp » June 20th, 2007, 8:13 pm

:roll: :roll:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 20th, 2007, 8:56 pm

azis wrote:^^^basically padna if you securing ur fogs try and secure ur bumper too cause if they cant get the fogs and they want it bad enough.... nothing will stop them from taking the bumper too lol

^^^The consequence of all the securing is....If they can't get it, they won't let you keep it. I know of several cases where ppl 'secured' their fogs and later got them smashed by whoever tried to steal them unsuccessfully, including a police officer's P11.

It's sad really that we have to spend so much for the fogs, spend more to secure it, have your car vandalized/damaged and then have to start all over again. :evil: :? :shock:

azis

Postby azis » June 21st, 2007, 7:36 am

people in this country are shameless........ instead of stealing it just buy ur own like evrybody else !!!!!......... i lost my indicators in gulf city mall
and i learnt the hard way to park my car facing the road where ever i park in the mall

Reyos

Postby Reyos » June 21st, 2007, 8:15 am

man is not only in the malls nah...i have real friends who had their vehicles tampered with at the car park at work
I now put in a bumper with fog lights on my B14....what a friend told me was to buy the screws that require an alan key to take it out...after you put them in seal it with epoxy or seal the entire light on the bumper......most of the time man does steal them thing to sell it yes...

Pedro

Postby Pedro » June 21st, 2007, 11:53 am

^^ I did this as well with my Almera. But as you guys said, if the thief is a real thief, he goin to get the fogs one way or the other or he leaving you without them.

Is true, people have no morals anymore they thiefing for thiefing sake and shooting for shooting sake. Man gettin kill for $20 phone card and thing, so imaging what they will do for a $500-$700 pair of fogs.

Rx

Postby Rx » June 21st, 2007, 12:00 pm

Quiksilver wrote:man is not only in the malls nah...i have real friends who had their vehicles tampered with at the car park at work
I now put in a bumper with fog lights on my B14....what a friend told me was to buy the screws that require an alan key to take it out...after you put them in seal it with epoxy or seal the entire light on the bumper......most of the time man does steal them thing to sell it yes...

works well

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » June 21st, 2007, 12:02 pm

wats the price for a pair of b15 fogs

Antic

Postby Antic » June 21st, 2007, 12:59 pm

Rx wrote:
Quiksilver wrote:man is not only in the malls nah...i have real friends who had their vehicles tampered with at the car park at work

works well

this could work for the N16 too?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 21st, 2007, 1:13 pm

Want my suggestion replace the empty fog space with a matching set of mesh grills. It isn't worth it to replace and then slip up once and have it stolen in the malls. This is the thieves thriving business, audi, sidemarkers, any type of fogs almera sides, side skirts, anything that can be stripped in under 10 minutes is food.

azis

Postby azis » June 21st, 2007, 4:33 pm

wats the price for a pair of b15 fogs

the imitation costs $1100-$1200 but dont change the bulbs with more powerful ones cause the lense will melt

videsht

Postby videsht » June 21st, 2007, 4:36 pm

nah it hav places sellin de imitation for $600

formula_1

Postby formula_1 » June 22nd, 2007, 1:57 am

Where r they selling for $600. Would it make sense to modify the fog lamp area with fiber glass to prevent the fogs from being removed at the front. I have seen this on the Toyota Corolla where part of the bumber divides the fog in half.
yuh ketch meh drif??..........i tink these bandits have meh paranoid!

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2007, 2:06 am

hmm..whatever idea allyuh have, dem bandits already two step ahead..

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 22nd, 2007, 6:27 am

Check Bobby's in de Bamboo there they have the tiwan fogs.... i suggest you clear coat it first before installin it on u r ride....

As for the securing part... bro i live by if they want it no matter how much you secure it, deh go take it.... what i can say is just be notefull of where you park at all times and never take ne ting for granted... meaning carparks, malls, on the streets in valsayn.....ne where....

just be carefull.

:?

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2007, 8:19 am

^^^dais chue. If dey really want it dey go tek it no matter what. I jus makin it a lil harder fuh dem, when i not around the vehicle of course

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » June 22nd, 2007, 9:07 am

If they want the fogs real bad let them take it but take a lil something too- sharpen a 1/2" piece of steel rod down to a pencil point-real sharp. spring load it under the bumper next to the fogs ,set it and just wait.
If you want you can put it out in the rain/dew for a few days to rust very well.
Ensure you have a sign next to the fogs saying do not steal fogs or something like that because you do not want to go to jail.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 22nd, 2007, 11:51 am

eitech wrote:hmm..whatever idea allyuh have, dem bandits already two step ahead..

^^^True dat! A pardna lost his set off of a Primera last night in MovieTowne.

I was getting a set to install, but it making me feel to go HID instead.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2007, 12:03 pm

note to self, "don't park in movietown" :shock:

the khan

Postby the khan » June 22nd, 2007, 10:42 pm

sorry to hear that, ah know how uh feel, I installed fogs on my wingroad and it only lasted a week. ah looking for another set, ah like the idea of the epoxy. had to learn the hard and expensive way.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2007, 11:36 pm

i ain't puttin no epoxy nah..next ting i have to look fuh fogs and ah bumper

formula_1

Postby formula_1 » June 22nd, 2007, 11:53 pm

Khan, have you stopped to think who are the people buying these stolen fogs and at what prices? Replacing your fogs would simply mean supporting a thriving business of banditry. Any way take a good look at the bumpers of taxis and other hustlers. In my area i have noticed four taxi cars with fog lamps obtained almost overnight.

Isn't there technology that can track down stolen car parts......data dot, GPRS..
Any ideas here??

Postby equipped2ripp » June 23rd, 2007, 4:03 am

formula_1, datadots yeah... but not for small items as fogs etc

trinicvt

Lost my fogs too...twice

Postby trinicvt » June 23rd, 2007, 1:38 pm

I lost the fogs off my Primera in Gulf City car park, prior to that someone tried to rip the front bumper off at the anchorage. I replaced the fogs and bolted them to the bumper and some one stole them last week while I was parked on Grey Street, POS. They ripped it off the bumper, so much for the bolts. At least they had the decency to wrap the exposed wires in tape. I'm fed up, makes no sense having a body kit of fogs in Trinidad, you just end up being a victim of those uneducated criminal retards that prey on the hardworking members of the population.