Replacing a T25 turbo

tucker

Replacing a T25 turbo

Postby tucker » August 16th, 2007, 2:42 pm

guys can I replace my T25 turbo with a T28 from a pulser. Would it bolt up and would i need to do any upgrages to the engine management. oh it on an SR20det red top

azis

Postby azis » August 16th, 2007, 3:11 pm

i think you will need the pulsar manifold also

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 16th, 2007, 7:15 pm

yeh but he wanna kno if he would need to increase the fuel mappin to account for the bigger turbo.

so i think if you using back stock manifold with stock pulsar turbo and wastegate you MAY need to do a SLIGHT upgrade in the fuel system...
like for instance do you have a boost controller? and if you DO plan to increase boost,
you may wanna look into upgrading fuel pump. or if you lookin to go a lil further down the line one time,
you can get a e-manage to increase your injector pulse rate to accomodate for the increase in boost.

and yes if you wanted to know if it bolts up...yeh i THINK it does.
according to the fellow nissan guru i tlked to... he said:
SR IS SR :twisted:

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 16th, 2007, 7:16 pm

btw:
it on an SR20det red top

which red top?
u12 / u13 / pulsar? ... not that it matters...

sss

Postby sss » August 16th, 2007, 7:19 pm

it will bolt right up u would not have to change your manifold and if u raise boost do not go above 14 psi or i u don,t have it already install a fuel regulator that can adjust and u good to go

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 16th, 2007, 7:53 pm

^^ yup

btw what's the average price of a t28 pulsar turbo & manifold :?:
Last edited by Sinister_Audio on August 16th, 2007, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 16th, 2007, 7:54 pm

t25/28 is same flange. Good to go, but I wouldn't take it up to 14psi so quickly. Bigger turbo would require more fuel at same boost...see how the stock ecu and injectors/pump respond first.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 16th, 2007, 7:56 pm

oh, and check sr20forum.com

i think i saw a similar thread recently on another forum

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 16th, 2007, 7:56 pm

flatline wrote:t25/28 is same flange. Good to go, but I wouldn't take it up to 14psi so quickly. Bigger turbo would require more fuel at same boost...see how the stock ecu and injectors/pump respond first.

yeh good info!
buh would a Air/Fuel Ratio Gauge be sufficient to tell if he runnin too rich or too lean?

i know a wideband would be more precise, but would it be a neccesity?

tucker

Postby tucker » August 17th, 2007, 11:53 am

well it's from a U13 and it's always set to 15PSI without any trouble. so by installing a T28 would it make any differance or should i leave it as it is?

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » August 17th, 2007, 12:06 pm

tucker wrote:well it's from a U13 and it's always set to 15PSI without any trouble. so by installing a T28 would it make any differance or should i leave it as it is?

well a 28 is a bigger turbo so at the same pressure its gonna flow more air hence you're gonna need more fuel..... as flatline said I think jumping to 14-15psi right away isn't advised gradually increase boost and see if your current combo is up to the job especially on stock pump

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 17th, 2007, 1:49 pm

safest bet:
walbro 255 f. pump & get a regulator
n u in should be in the game on ST0CK boost

n how de hell it on 15psi btw?!

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » August 19th, 2007, 12:10 am

I doh mean to sound outa-timin but...how much more fuel could he need to warrant getting A Walbro pump?If you see what im saying...would it really be necessary?

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » August 19th, 2007, 12:16 am

cdx2k1 wrote:I doh mean to sound outa-timin but...how much more fuel could he need to warrant getting A Walbro pump?If you see what im saying...would it really be necessary?

Not really stock pump does well generally from stock level every pound of boost your go up by add one pound of pressure

What we're saying is that there are many factors involved in boosting cars i.e what work one night might not work the next so go slow and easy feeling the car out until you're satisfied that all is well then floor that sucker lol!!!!!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 19th, 2007, 8:19 pm

well I have a question...

I planning on gettin a T28 from a pulsar with manifold to put on my avenir engine. Question is since the avenir's turbo faces down and the pulsar faces up is it easy to get it to face down or will I have to change my ic piping ???

JWT

Postby JWT » August 20th, 2007, 9:39 am

Increasing turbo size = increasing airflow

remember 14psi on a t25 is not the same as 14psi on at28 because of the size and flow of the bigger turbo

get a fuel pressure regulator turn up some psi on it to allow for more fuel and that should work for now.

If you have cash get an SAFC and you should be good there

sss

Postby sss » August 25th, 2007, 11:28 am

no all u have to do is turn the turbo to face down like the avenier

rev hard

Postby rev hard » August 25th, 2007, 6:56 pm

important to get a fuel regulator 2 increase psi...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 26th, 2007, 10:29 am

T25 vs T28 is chalk and cheese. The T28 hits harder pulls your rpm faster. Stock ECU will be able handle fuel but you will need to upgrade your fuel delivery. Walbro pump and if you got the cash an Adjustable fuel pressure regulator will save you an engine.