Old School 180 B help..

FURIOUSBENNY

Old School 180 B help..

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » November 27th, 2007, 4:49 pm

This is a topic that burning to me.

I'm bringing back my father's 180 B datsun to glory but my biggest hurdle is the Steering box which has a serious "play".

Apart from having the steering box "Re-bushed" what alternatives do I have.I was thinking if Sean Reddy could convert the Monster Sunny to real wheel drive anything is possible..Ent..

punisher

Postby punisher » November 27th, 2007, 8:03 pm

you need to get a rebuild kit for it.........

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 27th, 2007, 9:55 pm

open it up and get a Machinist to rebuild the worn parts

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » November 27th, 2007, 10:38 pm

just buy a new used one :lol:

FURIOUSBENNY

Steering box

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » November 28th, 2007, 6:23 am

In relation to getting a rebuild kit, where can I get one?

A Machinist already worked on it some years ago and I was told that it worn real bad now.

I also have a "new used" one at home but it too is worn out as can be seen from the adjustment screw on the top..

Can Anyone else to help?

solo

Postby solo » November 28th, 2007, 7:34 am

There must be some other Nissan steering box that can be modified to work there Benny. You tried those Nissan forums already?
I'll ask around on my end to see what I can come up with...

FURIOUSBENNY

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » November 28th, 2007, 1:14 pm

Yeah i tried Nissan forum already but like men don't study these classics.

I really want to bring back this car as it was my first car, the first car I kissed in, the first car that brought me home safely when my head was bad and it never stall since we had it.

It was in the family from new and passed on to me.. Please..

eleanor300

Postby eleanor300 » November 29th, 2007, 2:13 pm

hey man i think you can convert to a steering rack and eliminate the box. the nissan B14 power steering rack is usually a simply one that can be modified on the vehicle. even though the car might not be power steering i think they just fill the rack up oil and plug it off. i dunno if this helps. you'll have to buid some brackets to hold it place though

Postby Dave » November 29th, 2007, 2:50 pm

There must be some other Nissan steering box that can be modified to work there Benny

has to be, blue bird 910 even and in those 910's, they retroed in laurel power steering unis

FURIOUSBENNY

180 B

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » November 29th, 2007, 4:46 pm

Okay do you know someone that has actuall done this with the rack from the b 14..

FURIOUSBENNY

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » December 13th, 2007, 6:21 am

Anyone has an idea at all..

180beast

Postby 180beast » December 11th, 2008, 2:17 am

mines have a play too ...so i went to buy one and right now i end up opening my old one and sleaving over the shaft and it now has less play but put transmission oil in it that helps....