wtk. s13 redtop and blacktop

Posted: April 26th, 2008, 11:22 pm
by Shio
will an s13 redtop ecu work on a blacktop s13 trouble free?
i know it will bolt up and drive
cuz thats what im using but i fine i getting a funny idle and don't know what causing it ........
is a mines ecu by the way and i have no idea what it is tuned for ......any how i can find this out as well locally?
tried emailing mines and that did not work

Posted: April 27th, 2008, 8:42 pm
by riva racing
I can download the rom file from the ecu via the diagnostic port, once mines did not disable it, and let you know what they did.

you will need to get the com port connector from a nissan front half

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 8:52 am
by Shio
thanks ill see if i can get someone with an s13 who will to swap ecu

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 6:17 pm
by Tuner Imports
emailing mine's never works. :mrgreen:

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 8:44 pm
by Shio
now he tells me :(
pm me a price on the manifolds yuh have nah

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 8:53 pm
by turbonator
I doubt that would work :? isn't the blacktop the one wit VTC, if so d mapping on the 2 ECU's might be different. Well i eh know much eh but das just my opinion :fadein: .

Posted: May 1st, 2008, 7:26 am
by nismown3d
noobz

s13 redtop and blacktop use the same ecu, it's perfectly safe

if it's a mines ecu run high octane fuel and raise your idle to 1200

Posted: May 1st, 2008, 2:35 pm
by turbonator
^^ So you saing that once yuh run high octane fuel and raise yuh idle to 1200 then everything will be alright :? . I think the whole purpose of having a Mine's re-programmed ECU is to take advantage of performance mods done to the engine by Mine's. I eh doubt that it will work as is but won't work all dat good because that ECU is for another engine. But den again that's just what I think :roll:

Posted: May 1st, 2008, 3:21 pm
by nismown3d
thanks tips. in case you haven't noticed my everyday job is to build high performance cars. i come across mines ecu's daily, but thanks for the lesson :roll: can you tell me the difference between a blacktop s13 sr20 and a redtop? valve cover color, and blacktops are newer....THAT'S IT.

depending on what type of mines tune you have, you'll need to raise your idle if it's their race tune because they all idle like sheit, especially if you have cams. and run high octane fuel, i can't stress this enough, their tunes are AGGRESSIVE... trust me, you don't want to detonate.

Posted: May 1st, 2008, 6:34 pm
by turbonator
is a mines ecu by the way and i have no idea what it is tuned for

das all :!:

Posted: May 2nd, 2008, 1:14 am
by nismown3d
did he not state he's getting a shitty idle?

Posted: May 5th, 2008, 10:05 am
by Shio
nismown3d wrote:did he not state he's getting a shitty idle?

thanks for all the usefull information
i did raise the idle thats the only way it is driveable
i have some mods i want to put up
ill try some high octane after and see what happens :roll:

Posted: May 6th, 2008, 7:11 am
by nismown3d
also clean your MAF, and make sure and adjust your idle from your TPS not your throttle body

Posted: May 7th, 2008, 11:32 am
by Shio
hmmm
adjusted it from the throttle body man
ill have to put it back
and adjust from the tps then
thanks for the heads up