SR20 Transmission Wiring - help needed!

Stark Auto Rentals

SR20 Transmission Wiring - help needed!

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » May 4th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Hey guys,

I have a question with regards to the SR transmission and the wiring.

On the transmission there are three jacks on it.

One has seven wires. The other one has three wires and the last one has two wires.

Can anyone advise me what these wires are for or provide a wiring diagram or any kind of information please?
Last edited by Stark Auto Rentals on May 5th, 2009, 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 4th, 2009, 5:01 pm

the one with the 7 are for the Neutral switch and display on the dash. the other is jack is for the Overdrive solenoid and lock up solenoid

yakuza

Postby yakuza » May 4th, 2009, 6:53 pm

And the other one is the speed sensor.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 4th, 2009, 9:34 pm

seven wires -pnp switch
three wire-overdrive and lockup
two wire-speedo signal

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » May 5th, 2009, 8:21 am

ok guys, thanks for the info......

i have another question.........

what wires are required for the transmission to actually work and change gears..........

right now, none of the wires are connected and the transmission appears to be locked in 2nd gear.......it's either 2nd or 3rd i believe.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » May 5th, 2009, 10:39 am

guys, here's the whole story. i'm actually helping a friend out.

He had a sr20 engine and transmission in the car.......car is a 626 btw, so no original harness and ecu and stuff.

the transmission got damaged in the car and had to be replaced. the one that was in the car was a cable type transmision.

he got another sr20 transmission and placed it in the vehicle. however, this transmission did not have any kickdown cable. Also, out of the three jacks on the transmission, only one was able to plug back in as normal. that was the one with the two wires, so i assume that is the speedo signal.

now the other two jacks are different from what is on his sr20 harness in the vehicle.

he also got a transmission ecu with the transmission and it looks like this:

my question is does he really need this ecu to be connected for this transmission to work? as it is, with only the speedo signal connected, the transmission appears to be locked in 2nd gear......

the other problem is that he did not get the plug in harness for the transmission ecu so we're really trying to see if we can get it working without that transmission ecu.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 5th, 2009, 4:58 pm

Oh gosh yuh coulda say that from B4 :roll: :roll:

dbaby

Postby dbaby » May 5th, 2009, 8:33 pm

oh ok...well for sure you hafta wire in that trans. ecu no two ways bout that so go look for a jack for that trans ecu... :roll:

dbaby

Postby dbaby » May 5th, 2009, 8:33 pm

oh ok...well for sure you hafta wire in that trans. ecu no two ways bout that so go look for a jack for that trans ecu... :roll:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 5th, 2009, 10:40 pm

waste of time and money. you know how much that gonna cost to wire!. you need to tie it in with the engine. :(

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 5th, 2009, 11:43 pm

i had a slight feeling it was an electronic controlled tranny u was talking bout
u got some work to do now :(

slackwire26

Postby slackwire26 » July 22nd, 2009, 12:51 am

Hey did u ever got the wiring diagram. i need d same thing. cud u email me @ k.pustam@hotmail.com :(

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » July 22nd, 2009, 8:08 am

slackwire, sorry man, never went ahead with that. I purchased one of the normal tranny's instead and used that.

demented

Postby demented » July 27th, 2009, 12:01 pm

Here's the tranny ecu wiring diagram off a P11 Service Manual

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » December 22nd, 2009, 5:22 am

hi

i'm doin the same conversion in a 626 with the same engine an transmission

is there anyone with the colour code for transmission module ?

if so please post it or pm me

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » December 22nd, 2009, 3:56 pm

audiopipe, that is the same diagram i got..... what you need now is the pinout when looking at the connector

Chef1

Re: SR20 Transmission Wiring - help needed!

Postby Chef1 » November 1st, 2020, 1:29 pm

Hey guys does any of the pnp switch of the cable type transmission go too the brain or any of the sensors besides the neutral switch

Anil_Sooknanan

Re: SR20 Transmission Wiring - help needed!

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » November 15th, 2020, 12:09 am

Lock up solenoid