SR20 Problem

swift gti funatic

SR20 Problem

Postby swift gti funatic » June 14th, 2009, 9:06 pm

So guys... on preparing for work one cold early morning (4:30 am). I started my car and for about 2 seconds or so i heard a rattling noise. (Sounded like a diesel starting up)
Sounds like there was no oil in the head. After those confusing 2 seconds the engine picked up idle and carried on like normal. I only notice this happens when the car sits down for awhile and all the oil drains from the head to the sump.
I questioned... is it lifters? Is the timing chain slack? I'm a bit confused soo all the SR20 gurus out there lend a hand/your advice and help a 2nr out 8-)

Cheers

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 14th, 2009, 10:30 pm

SR20VE??

its the Timing Chain making noise...

could be the tensioner or lack of oil when started

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » June 14th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Dragsta, it's a SR20DE... honestly doesn't sound like the timing chain,not sure tho... sounds internal. hmm
I checked oil levels.. and they seem fine. It only happens on Cold mornings or when the car sits down for awhile and isn't started.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 14th, 2009, 11:09 pm

well afaik, the oil takes a little while to reach up, so within that time, the chain is dry..so will make a lil grating sound until oil reaches

i knw the SR20VE does do that..
my 2c

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » June 15th, 2009, 12:56 am

i mean i've been drivin the car for mths now with this happening and it's still goin strong. thanks tho Dragsta,

Licensed to Walk!
Location: Refusing to beg ppl to do the job they're being paid for!

Postby Licensed to Walk! » June 15th, 2009, 6:49 am

My SR18DE in the P11 did the same thing; if it was parked for 2/3 days- got the same kinda noise when started.

Gool

Postby Gool » June 15th, 2009, 9:15 am

i have a sr20de installed in my car 5 yrs now..everytime i start on mornings or when engine is cold its the same thing. rattles for a few second and den back to normal.. its been doing that for over 2 yrs now! and not single problem with engine.
idles smoothe and quiet.

here is something u can do yourself at home to help.

remove engine cover, you will see running ontop each camchaft an oil line.

unbolt each oil line. careful to take note of which bolts and washers going where.

use bars and clean each line. spray inside out. some black sheit gonna run of it. thats dirt and gunk. this clogs the nozzles on the line. replace the line and now a faster heavier flow of oil falls on the lifters and noise and wear will be greatly reduced.

hope this helps.

also, fram oil filters are pretty restrictive. if you use fram try switching to purolator.
or another brand. this may cause the oil to travel a bit more slowly through the engine. and from research and my own experience.. use nothing thicker than a 15w40 grade oil. ideally.. its supposed to be 10w30.

sr's main weakness is oil! take no chances! and i dont have to tell you to change oil on time :D

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » June 15th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Gool,hmmm i use fram with royal purple 20w50 :?

Gool

Postby Gool » June 16th, 2009, 1:31 pm

lol! like i psychic o wat? lol well bro.. those stuff wont damage ur engine... but.. it will help slow down ur oil pressure and oil lack on startup will be more prevalent.

no need to drain oil and change asap.. but try cleaning ur oil rail and on ur next oil change try a thinner royal purple oil and another filter.

yuh see.. fram rel good... TOO GOOD! and thats also turns out to be a problem :wink:

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 18th, 2009, 8:06 pm

i have a sr 18 in a p11 having the same problem but what i noticed for that 2 seconds
of rattling the oil light does remain on and after the 2 sec the rattling stops and the light comes off. And i using a fram filter and castrol 20w 50 oil. was using the 10w 30
oil but it gets a little noisy after a while. the 20w 50 was recommended by a few people. I feel its the filter thanks for the insight.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » July 18th, 2009, 8:15 pm

kripplerz, as you know the main problem with sr20s is oil.. soo i was a bit worried about that... but my sr20 is wierd :lol: :lol: one minute it will make that noise on early morning start up.. next minute it's fine.. gremlins i tell you :roll:

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 18th, 2009, 8:31 pm

Dragsta wrote:SR20VE??

its the Timing Chain making noise...

could be the tensioner or lack of oil when started

its EXACTLY that...
mine is doing the same.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » July 21st, 2009, 3:54 am

Gool wrote:i have a sr20de installed in my car 5 yrs now..everytime i start on mornings or when engine is cold its the same thing. rattles for a few second and den back to normal.. its been doing that for over 2 yrs now! and not single problem with engine.
idles smoothe and quiet.

here is something u can do yourself at home to help.

remove engine cover, you will see running ontop each camchaft an oil line.

unbolt each oil line. careful to take note of which bolts and washers going where.

use bars and clean each line. spray inside out. some black sheit gonna run of it. thats dirt and gunk. this clogs the nozzles on the line. replace the line and now a faster heavier flow of oil falls on the lifters and noise and wear will be greatly reduced.

hope this helps.

also, fram oil filters are pretty restrictive. if you use fram try switching to purolator.
or another brand. this may cause the oil to travel a bit more slowly through the engine. and from research and my own experience.. use nothing thicker than a 15w40 grade oil. ideally.. its supposed to be 10w30.

sr's main weakness is oil! take no chances! and i dont have to tell you to change oil on time :D

Good advice dey Gool....

I was supposed to do that long time....

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 21st, 2009, 10:24 pm

those gremlins i think i have some of those.

se776

u need a oil pump

Postby se776 » August 5th, 2009, 3:34 pm

it happen to mi fue month ago .d crank shaft drives d oil pump. any time u c the oil light on the dash stays on wen u r driving.u no its time to change it befor it cost u a engine.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » August 5th, 2009, 7:03 pm

Bleed the lifters.

DE-Gunk/Gum the head while u under the tappet pan.

navinmadhoo

Postby navinmadhoo » August 7th, 2009, 8:49 am

hey guys i had that same problem, but that wen i just built back the engine. the timing chain was a bit slack because the lack of oil pressure, this is due to the engine now starting up and the oil pressure has to build so that the tensioner can tension the timing chain.

this i would say is kinda normal cus wen the oil pressure builds the oil ligh goes of an the noise stops after a few seconds.

u should change ur oil every 30,000 km on a sr20de, and 10,000 km on sr20det depending on how much pressure u put on the engine.

i think dis info should help.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » August 7th, 2009, 9:39 am

The SR tensioner is ratcheting.

It goes out and is locked in that position, as stuff wears and the chain stretches it will continue to move out, if it can, because it has full oil pressure behind it.