pros & cons of a rb25 in a 180
Posted: September 10th, 2009, 8:15 pm
by skyline dett
yo tuners i need some advice on this i am thinking about putting a rb25 in my 180sx just for fun would i run into any problems with handling etc.
Posted: September 14th, 2009, 5:44 pm
by skyline dett
ok wow
Posted: September 14th, 2009, 7:25 pm
by FugiTECH
your 180sx will just be slower with a rb25 than putting a CA18DET or SR20DET,
anything else ?
Posted: September 14th, 2009, 7:32 pm
by skyline dett
ok thanks bro
Posted: September 15th, 2009, 12:40 am
by Gaijin
I have come across a couple 180's with rb and the only thing(s) you might run into is the fact that it might not handle all too well meaning no taking corners at high speeds because the only way you may survive it is by powering it out. The other thing was cooling problems due to the space, but if you are will to spend your money , you will not really have that problem. hell I'm thinking of doing the same thing to a 180 I'm buying so let's hope for the best!!! Prentice from Peak Performance did one with a rb25 and he got it to the 500 horse power ranger so who knows.
Posted: September 15th, 2009, 7:33 am
by skyline dett
Gaijin, thanks bro thats some good info ill looking into that ill let you know if iam going tru with it
Posted: September 15th, 2009, 7:54 pm
by FugiTECH
Notice Gaijin has come across and not actually has a 180 with a rb , ask him how much cars that 500hp 180 actually beat?
Posted: September 17th, 2009, 2:50 pm
by skyline dett
ok i heir you THE_FUGITIVES, but i not looking for no 10sec thing just to rip up and have fun on the weekend lol but thanks for the advice
Posted: September 22nd, 2009, 6:51 pm
by southside crew
I think SR would be the best bet... Parts wise...
also I got a padna with a S13 Silvia with a RB20DET and he is seeing cooling problems from day one.. My cuz had a 180 with a RB25DET cooling problems again... ( end up gettin fustrated and selling the car)
I have a 180 with a CA18 DET but I goin Sr20 det black top ( S13)
Posted: September 22nd, 2009, 8:42 pm
by skyline dett
ok cool thanks southside crew, well i dont know what i doing yet lol i mit sell my Sr20 det black top and go s15 sr20
Posted: September 23rd, 2009, 10:05 am
by moti
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 12:48 pm
by 180beast
^^^^^^ ahhh daz d real sheit day fellazz..... bess engine day

Posted: September 25th, 2009, 3:02 pm
by skyline dett
bump lol that look mad
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 7:25 pm
by Razkal
if you wanna get crazy, slap a vg30 in there...that'll suprise the sheit out of alot of peeps...small mods getting you enough whp adn torque to rag doll the car around on call. just deal with suitable brakes and suspension first for such a build
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 8:34 pm
by skyline dett
that vg30 big boy lol sound good
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 8:41 pm
by moti
Razkal wrote:if you wanna get crazy, slap a vg30 in there...that'll suprise the sheit out of alot of peeps...small mods getting you enough whp adn torque to rag doll the car around on call. just deal with suitable brakes and suspension first for such a build
why you eh tell him to put in a RB20 or better yet a 20B
just kidding

Posted: September 25th, 2009, 9:01 pm
by FugiTECH
who the hell puts vg30's in 180sx's, Razkal do you have a vg30 in a 180sx ?
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 9:09 pm
by skyline dett
lol ok tuners we just talking lol
Posted: September 25th, 2009, 9:35 pm
by southside crew
if you want to *wild up* jus google LS1 V8 In 240 SX.. or sum related to that... I rem seeing a vid with the V8.. in there....
Posted: October 29th, 2009, 1:41 pm
by turbosingh
Yeah i have an RB25 in my 180sx an a sr20 nor a ca18 ever beat me.I tink we shud line up d Fugitives Pulsar against sonny's black RB powered charmant an den we go talk!
Posted: October 29th, 2009, 2:22 pm
by Riworx:..
Hi we do these swaps here all the time, great idea and with the correct suspension setup handling is not a problem. I would suggest a good set of coilovers with camber plates if you don't already have it. Negitive camber will be your best friend!!!! to dial out understeer!!!! Just watch out for inner tirewear.

Posted: October 30th, 2009, 4:26 am
by skyline dett
Riworx:.., ok bro were you from i like the sound of that
Posted: October 30th, 2009, 10:28 am
by Riworx:..
That may be a problem,

I am located in Vaughan, ON , Canada........
If you need any wiring info or any other help please feel free to contact me:
japanautosupply@hotmail.com
Good luck with the swap!!!!

Posted: October 30th, 2009, 1:50 pm
by .:PROZAC:..
Damn foreign tuners..
Here is one of his in a S14(200sx)

Posted: October 30th, 2009, 1:55 pm
by Conrad
Damn that's close.
What can onedo to clean the oxidised cam-shaft covers? Have a friend with a similar issue.
Posted: October 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
by .:PROZAC:..
It's not actually, the camera angle is deceptive. I'm not sure what was used on this one but I've used a very soft metal cup-brush.
Here is another in a S13(180)