rear view mirror

Posted: January 4th, 2010, 6:39 pm
by free
is there a special adhesive to use when installing a rear view mirror on your windscreen...(like the mirrors the almeras come with).........any advice or help will be appreciated.........

Posted: January 4th, 2010, 8:02 pm
by ~Vēġó~
automotive double sided tape should work well..........but when I had replaced my windshield in my last car I saw the installers use some type of glue to fix the mirror to the glass.....

Posted: January 4th, 2010, 8:35 pm
by D_bodyguard
^^ i think is called bondex or something so .... there is also a place in the vicinity of sutton street in San Fernando that sells a glue (yh getting 2 sticks hardner and compound) that you have to roll together and it get hard but very easy to use .....cant remember the place nor the glue na but i will eventually .....this can be use to stick that mirror plus almost any other thing you can thing of ...lol even glass to glass ....it cost around $75 fir it and is around 4-6 inches long and 1cm thick......when i remember the name i will say !!!

Posted: January 4th, 2010, 9:31 pm
by ~Vēġó~
^^not mighty putty???

Posted: January 5th, 2010, 9:07 am
by rollingstock
i had the problem of anytime i turn up the bass in the car the mirror falls off, i got an oem glue at the homestore, it consists of an activator and the glue, i'll get the name later when i'm home, wasn't expensive, think i bought an extra one.

Posted: January 5th, 2010, 11:10 pm
by D_bodyguard
^^not mighty putty???

that does work nice too but no that;s not d name ...still hadda find out ...lol

Posted: January 7th, 2010, 9:20 am
by rollingstock
The brand is permatex, got it at the homestore for $14.49, works really good. It's one use only, but believe me if you use it properly the first time you won't need to use it again.

Posted: January 7th, 2010, 6:56 pm
by free
cool thank yuh people.......this is ah big help...thanks again everyone .....

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:31 am
by free
The brand is permatex, got it at the homestore for $14.49, works really good. It's one use only, but believe me if you use it properly the first time you won't need to use it again.

thanks again rolling stock.....this working great..............