chipping and programming the ECU

joel

chipping and programming the ECU

Postby joel » January 18th, 2010, 1:47 am

does anyone here in Tnt do it? if so has anyone here have any experiences to share? I am considering sending my ECU to be chipped and retuned at RS Enthalpy but before i do that i want to know if anyone locally can do it properly...

let me know

QG

Postby QG » January 18th, 2010, 2:40 pm

pm azoturbo....
he should have the info you're looking for

terry_b20

Postby terry_b20 » January 18th, 2010, 8:36 pm

wat ecu would you like to re-chip dude?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 18th, 2010, 10:46 pm

does anyone here in Tnt do it?

Man keep your money and buy a SAFC and an aftermarket unit.

joel

Postby joel » January 19th, 2010, 6:46 am

terry_b20 wrote:wat ecu would you like to re-chip dude?

avenir...
not just talking rev limit and speed cut

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 19th, 2010, 11:41 am

which avenir? W10 or W11 ?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 19th, 2010, 5:27 pm

Please do not chip yuh fackin ECU down here.. Yuh do that ah bun down yuh car :lol: :lol: On the real though trust me get an SAFC and a 300zx airflow.. wait nah we done discuss like yuh wah me show yuh how it will get orn or wah :lol: :lol:

joel

Postby joel » January 19th, 2010, 9:02 pm

krack korn wrote:which avenir? W10 or W11 ?

W10

Picasso, if you'd like that can be arranged :lol:
oh gosh man leh meh just find out what going on in the local scene nah man. we cyar just write off we own just so, it must have somebody down here that can do it properly.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 25th, 2010, 11:04 pm

W10 is doable.

question is what exactly u want? a generic tune like JWT et al or a custom tune for your engine and mods?

joel

Postby joel » January 26th, 2010, 1:36 am

custom tune for my engine and mods

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 26th, 2010, 1:53 am

u cud just ditch the ecu and go full ems :lol:

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 26th, 2010, 5:04 pm

if u want custom then u could not do it "away" anyhow, it will have to be done here in our climate with our gas on your setup.

understand that custom will mean some dyno time = $$

joel

Postby joel » January 27th, 2010, 9:01 am

krack korn, ok, but we puttin the cart before the horse when we start to talk money. If i know that somebody can do it here, then I can talk to them and find out the basic process, decide if i want to go that route, then talk money.

So having said that, do you know someone that I can talk to? Are you the guy?

Maybe someother people want to know about the service and don't know who they can talk to. so let me know

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » January 27th, 2010, 11:20 pm

Hakims in Princes Town are capable of doing Nissans and Hondas

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 28th, 2010, 10:20 am

money is the first thing to think about because if u cannot afford what u want its just a pipe dream. Fact still remains that what u want to do, unless u are carring the car abroad with a supply of NP gas to tune there and bring back, has to be done here and will start at about $2500 and then add dyno time costs and whatever the tuner charges.

First if its a conversion, it has to be checked to see its been done right and all the required signals are getting to the ecu. U need to start with everything in top shape, good plugs, clean maf/throtle body clean injectors, good fuel pressure etc. Any modification u make like change of intake, exhaust, cams, cam timing will require retuning.

It can be done in stages. install daughterboard with basic generic tune and limits changed removed. Then things get more complicated and expensive.

several ppl can install the required daughterboard, including myself.

A generic program can be put on that will work ok to pretty good.

after that the chips can be reprogrammed. Fan control, what temperatures the fan will come on at can be altered to use in conjunction with lower temp thermostats. The MAF can be changed, the injector size can be changed, as well as type(brand as well as saturated to peak and hold). Depending on the daughterboard launch control, VVL activation, NOS activation, and a host of other things can be implemented. Multiple maps for different drivers and fuels, basic boards can do 2~4 after that it can be like 30, a number u may never use, but can be used to store old 'tunes' incase u want to revert back to an older setup or just to see how it runs with the new setup.

When tuning and dyno time will be required is to get the AFR curve u want and then to maximise and fine tune the timing map to get the most power

To extract the most from your engine, dyno time or extensive road runing and data logging will be required. Dyno time is fairly costly. road tuning will still involve the tuners time and effort =$$

It is something u can learn and do yourself, not really that hard once u understand the concepts. This route can save u lots of money as well as cost u lost of money.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » April 20th, 2010, 9:18 am

will a z32 maf work on a w11 engine with w11 ecu without an safc?

krack korn

Postby krack korn » April 20th, 2010, 10:03 am

To work properly you would need to use an safc or daughterboard, you can use bigger injectors and adjust FP to work OKish.

since bigger injectors would be bigger than 370's and you know how they cheap in side feed variety from 440 go up, so doing that might put u in a situation where the candle cost more than the funeral.

cheapest/simplest option is probably older model ECU with daughterboard and VQ table for the 300zx maf.

NissanLover

Re: chipping and programming the ECU

Postby NissanLover » June 19th, 2020, 11:25 pm

Okay. Need some advice