Has anyone gotten engine mounts made @ Lotec?

sr18de

Has anyone gotten engine mounts made @ Lotec?

Postby sr18de » July 25th, 2004, 1:57 pm

Well i did not get a response in the Classified section so I posting here.

I was thinking of changing my engine mounts. Can anyone tell me what is the procedure do I have to carry my mounts for them or what I was thinking is if I can carry some busted mounts and they could fabricate them for me from those?

It is for a Nissan Primera FWD...

Postby SR » July 25th, 2004, 3:51 pm

check dave dais d lotech man however i do not think teflon mounts are the way to go as they may be to rigid

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 25th, 2004, 7:50 pm

which one would be better?
brand new nissan mounts or ones made from lotech?
cuz we have to change over the mounts in our b14 right now so it would be good to know right now which one wud be the better choice

JWT

Postby JWT » July 25th, 2004, 10:36 pm

well i am doing my car own
i wil keep u posted but i am using polyurathane

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 25th, 2004, 11:28 pm

What polyurathane are you using?

Postby Dave » July 26th, 2004, 11:45 am

get a good mount and let them make the teflon inserts for them
solid teflon is too rigid to run, is your car full race? if not them just get the teflon inserts or u could fill yourself with 3m window weld

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 26th, 2004, 2:23 pm

Dave, where you buy the 3M window weld again? How much for it and how much I need to fill the gaps in my 2 crossmember mounts.

VVL, let us know what you're using as well.

Postby Dave » July 26th, 2004, 3:46 pm

window weld is kinda of very hard to get
i bought the last 3 tubes from mathuras and was there today and none in sight
the 3m window sealant is the same kinda of thing but not as aggressive but works good

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 26th, 2004, 4:52 pm

Keep an eye out for me... I need some ASAP

Postby Dave » July 26th, 2004, 4:59 pm

the 3m sealant is easy to find, black tube with white writing
the weld is a white tube with blue writing

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » July 28th, 2004, 2:09 pm

Dave you is ah real boss jed I was going to put some teflon on d Starlet when time to change them come about.........

So do you recommend the same 3m Weld for me too........ if I still have the Starlet?

How exactly do I apply it?
What's the benefits I was told most cars can't buss teflon mounts does this make the mount just as strong or at least close?

Postby Dave » July 28th, 2004, 2:11 pm

yup, u just fill the space between the rubber and let it dry for like 2-3 days
basically once the mount doesn't move, rubber won't burst and the mount would remain in tact.

sr18de

Postby sr18de » July 28th, 2004, 11:18 pm

but Dave that's only if the mounts are good? you would not put that 3m weld on a busted mount!

Postby Dave » July 29th, 2004, 8:37 am

u fix the busted if u can't get a good one
i have bought good ones and fixed cause obviously that makes more sense but if better can't be done then you can fix the busted ones
the article I read has a guy fixing totally busted mounts in a civic with a b18 swap :shock:

Postby Dave » July 29th, 2004, 9:10 am

GA16

Postby GA16 » July 29th, 2004, 10:11 am

I had mine done by a guy up in duncan village, la romain and it seems to be holding out fine so far, he removed the busted mounts and refilled them with solid rubber, the engine hardly moves now as compared to the original mounts and i just feel a slight vibration in the car at idle. if this is what u are looking for u should look into this also. He has different grades of rubber to fill with so you have a choice as to how rigid you want them made.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 29th, 2004, 2:56 pm

Where is this place GA16? I living up on that side, and I need to do my engine mounts.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 29th, 2004, 3:52 pm

^^^and how much does it cost?

GA16

Postby GA16 » July 29th, 2004, 6:39 pm

i'll have to dig through too much sheite to find back that bill to get the address for u guys, so might as well try and give directions.......it's right up on duncan village by them bar-b-que fellas and dem. if u coming from san fernando side and u reach the junction, continue as if you going to debe, and it would be the house that is just opposite chanker's building, chankers building would be on the right side of course, so his place is on the left, on the corner......has a chain link fence, upstairs and downstairs house, cyah miss it. he charges around $200 per though. but is really good work u getting

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 29th, 2004, 7:54 pm

I know where it is thanks! 8)

art n motion

Postby art n motion » July 29th, 2004, 10:37 pm

killer you can do it your self as long as you get the 3M window weld 8)
I did mines and they holding out very well...but you know my engine eh have yours and Dave's kinda HP :mrgreen:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 30th, 2004, 8:07 am

Tried that, window weld done buss already...... :twisted:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » July 30th, 2004, 9:46 pm

well mines holding out really well and I think Zort used it as well...talk to him :idea:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 30th, 2004, 10:47 pm

doesnt the engine mount secure the engine in place?
if soo then why not use something more sturdy than rubber to hold it in place?
why not use metal but wit rubber coatings or something to still allow some play by the engine to prevent damage?

GA16

Postby GA16 » July 31st, 2004, 11:49 am

jnqaz wrote:doesnt the engine mount secure the engine in place?
if soo then why not use something more sturdy than rubber to hold it in place?
why not use metal but wit rubber coatings or something to still allow some play by the engine to prevent damage?

the main issue with that would be vibration, basically the stiffer the engine mount the more vibration you would get transferring onto the car's chassis/body. for an all out race car this would be fine but not for a daily driven car. there are all kinds of engine mounts/inserts out there, its up to the individual to find which suits them best. I've heard of fellas car's literally fall apart from too stiff engine mounts, causes bolts to break off or run slack under the car's chassis.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » July 31st, 2004, 12:06 pm

car's literally fall apart from too stiff engine mounts, causes bolts to break off or run slack under the car's chassis.

yep this would happen with a very stiff/rigid mount :!: