Has anyone gotten engine mounts made @ Lotec?
Posted: July 25th, 2004, 1:57 pm
by sr18de
Well i did not get a response in the Classified section so I posting here.
I was thinking of changing my engine mounts. Can anyone tell me what is the procedure do I have to carry my mounts for them or what I was thinking is if I can carry some busted mounts and they could fabricate them for me from those?
It is for a Nissan Primera FWD...
Posted: July 25th, 2004, 3:51 pm
by SR
check dave dais d lotech man however i do not think teflon mounts are the way to go as they may be to rigid
Posted: July 25th, 2004, 7:50 pm
by belalegosi
which one would be better?
brand new nissan mounts or ones made from lotech?
cuz we have to change over the mounts in our b14 right now so it would be good to know right now which one wud be the better choice
Posted: July 25th, 2004, 10:36 pm
by JWT
well i am doing my car own
i wil keep u posted but i am using polyurathane
Posted: July 25th, 2004, 11:28 pm
by sr18 Primera
What polyurathane are you using?
Posted: July 26th, 2004, 11:45 am
by Dave
get a good mount and let them make the teflon inserts for them
solid teflon is too rigid to run, is your car full race? if not them just get the teflon inserts or u could fill yourself with 3m window weld
Posted: July 26th, 2004, 2:23 pm
by sr18 Primera
Dave, where you buy the 3M window weld again? How much for it and how much I need to fill the gaps in my 2 crossmember mounts.
VVL, let us know what you're using as well.
Posted: July 26th, 2004, 3:46 pm
by Dave
window weld is kinda of very hard to get
i bought the last 3 tubes from mathuras and was there today and none in sight
the 3m window sealant is the same kinda of thing but not as aggressive but works good
Posted: July 26th, 2004, 4:52 pm
by sr18 Primera
Keep an eye out for me... I need some ASAP
Posted: July 26th, 2004, 4:59 pm
by Dave
the 3m sealant is easy to find, black tube with white writing
the weld is a white tube with blue writing
Posted: July 28th, 2004, 2:09 pm
by ninjaboost
Dave you is ah real boss jed I was going to put some teflon on d Starlet when time to change them come about.........
So do you recommend the same 3m Weld for me too........ if I still have the Starlet?
How exactly do I apply it?
What's the benefits I was told most cars can't buss teflon mounts does this make the mount just as strong or at least close?
Posted: July 28th, 2004, 2:11 pm
by Dave
yup, u just fill the space between the rubber and let it dry for like 2-3 days
basically once the mount doesn't move, rubber won't burst and the mount would remain in tact.
Posted: July 28th, 2004, 11:18 pm
by sr18de
but Dave that's only if the mounts are good? you would not put that 3m weld on a busted mount!
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 8:37 am
by Dave
u fix the busted if u can't get a good one
i have bought good ones and fixed cause obviously that makes more sense but if better can't be done then you can fix the busted ones
the article I read has a guy fixing totally busted mounts in a civic with a b18 swap

Posted: July 29th, 2004, 9:10 am
by Dave
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 10:11 am
by GA16
I had mine done by a guy up in duncan village, la romain and it seems to be holding out fine so far, he removed the busted mounts and refilled them with solid rubber, the engine hardly moves now as compared to the original mounts and i just feel a slight vibration in the car at idle. if this is what u are looking for u should look into this also. He has different grades of rubber to fill with so you have a choice as to how rigid you want them made.
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 2:56 pm
by killersuzuki
Where is this place GA16? I living up on that side, and I need to do my engine mounts.
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 3:52 pm
by belalegosi
^^^and how much does it cost?
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 6:39 pm
by GA16
i'll have to dig through too much sheite to find back that bill to get the address for u guys, so might as well try and give directions.......it's right up on duncan village by them bar-b-que fellas and dem. if u coming from san fernando side and u reach the junction, continue as if you going to debe, and it would be the house that is just opposite chanker's building, chankers building would be on the right side of course, so his place is on the left, on the corner......has a chain link fence, upstairs and downstairs house, cyah miss it. he charges around $200 per though. but is really good work u getting
Posted: July 29th, 2004, 7:54 pm
by killersuzuki
I know where it is thanks!

Posted: July 29th, 2004, 10:37 pm
by art n motion
killer you can do it your self as long as you get the 3M window weld
I did mines and they holding out very well...but you know my engine eh have yours and Dave's kinda HP

Posted: July 30th, 2004, 8:07 am
by killersuzuki
Tried that, window weld done buss already......

Posted: July 30th, 2004, 9:46 pm
by art n motion
well mines holding out really well and I think Zort used it as well...talk to him

Posted: July 30th, 2004, 10:47 pm
by belalegosi
doesnt the engine mount secure the engine in place?
if soo then why not use something more sturdy than rubber to hold it in place?
why not use metal but wit rubber coatings or something to still allow some play by the engine to prevent damage?
Posted: July 31st, 2004, 11:49 am
by GA16
jnqaz wrote:doesnt the engine mount secure the engine in place?
if soo then why not use something more sturdy than rubber to hold it in place?
why not use metal but wit rubber coatings or something to still allow some play by the engine to prevent damage?
the main issue with that would be vibration, basically the stiffer the engine mount the more vibration you would get transferring onto the car's chassis/body. for an all out race car this would be fine but not for a daily driven car. there are all kinds of engine mounts/inserts out there, its up to the individual to find which suits them best. I've heard of fellas car's literally fall apart from too stiff engine mounts, causes bolts to break off or run slack under the car's chassis.
Posted: July 31st, 2004, 12:06 pm
by art n motion
car's literally fall apart from too stiff engine mounts, causes bolts to break off or run slack under the car's chassis.
yep this would happen with a very stiff/rigid mount