Page 1 of 2

sr16ve and sr20ve

Posted: April 24th, 2010, 10:29 pm
by Chiney
ok
so we both know about the both engines and their chances of making good numbers to the wheel.

we know that wen the sr16ve brain and cams are both used on the sr20ve good power gains can be achieved with good tuning too.

question or discussion is :

which engine ( N/A applications and Turbo , but not compared against, makes no sense comparing na with boost) in the end, will have greater potential to produce more HP, WHP or BHP ? mainly WHP ...

how and why ?

now lets not forget the rare but powerful sr26ve n1 :twisted:

discuss 8-)

Posted: April 24th, 2010, 11:21 pm
by nareshseep
what type of vehicle? if its a light vehicle SR16 :twisted:

Posted: April 24th, 2010, 11:45 pm
by Chiney
just a general discussion

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 1:29 am
by Civilian
sr20ve all the way ! :lol: :lol: :lol:

sr16ve works great also.... but all in all... 20ve has way more potential for more whp... experienced it myself...

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 8:03 am
by Anil_Sooknanan
Civilian,yuh wha ah run?

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 8:36 am
by Chiney
smiley, u using the sr16ve cover on ur sr20ve ?

plus...theres no replacement for displacement!

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 11:06 am
by timsoo
sr16 ve produces about 175
sr 20 ve produces about 190
but sr20 ve, 20v produces 205
so i think the sr20 ve would have more potential for power.

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 11:10 am
by Chiney
true true
but..

wat about mods?

wat about a properly tuned sr16 with all "its" bells and whistles?

remember they use the sr16 cams to make the sr20ve more powerful... if the sr16 already has that...then should it be able to gain more power easier?

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 2:55 pm
by Civilian
Anil_Sooknanan, :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ... anytime u ready...lol

Chiney,nah i have the sr20ve cover on the sr20...sr16ve cover on the sr16ve an pack up in a corner dey...LOL....

but from changing the sr16ve engine and sr16ve ecu to sr20ve engine and sr20ve ecu... i gained approx 28hp to the wheels...
also...using the sr16ve ecu on the sr20ve produced a flat spot between approx 5k and 6k and about the same max power while revving to 8k instead of 7k, cant remember exactly...

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 3:08 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
Civilian, I'm 100% sure i beating you :roll: those short legs you got how fast can you run :lol: :lol:

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 3:21 pm
by Chiney
hmmmmmmm
u dont say...

so did u use anything from the sr16ve on the sr20ve at all? other than the same gearbox?

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 3:29 pm
by Civilian
Anil_Sooknanan, well i cud still win.. but it only hav one way to know ... nex ting yuh fall down or somn or get bun an i still goin strong ... is a WHOLE quarter mile... LOL... :lol: :lol:

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 3:40 pm
by Chiney
all dat sheit u talkin and cant bring my 55w ballast yet?
i get a 35w already..

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 3:54 pm
by Civilian
^^^It in meh car since u tell me abt it...i jus doh be around uwi lunch time when u cud come an it hard for me to drop it as i have exams these days an i home unless i have exam...if is anything i can drop it on wednesday afternoon ... or ill be around uwi thursday lunch time.. let me know when is better....

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 4:08 pm
by Chiney
yeh
wednesday evening perfecto

it still under warranty eh
:mrgreen:

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 4:09 pm
by Chiney
sooo

wats ur opinion on the sr16ve and why did change over to sr20ve

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 4:26 pm
by Civilian
sr16ve = greatest 1.6L engine ever built second to the n1... it good to have to tap up them b16 them... LOL

sr20ve = more power...

i didnt want to put in the sr20ve cuz i raced and beat more than one sr20ve with my sr16ve... yakuza was the encourager who encouraged me to put in the sr20ve... an i was more than satisfied with the increase in power with just an engine change over... and as you say ... no replacement for displacement... LOL...

my sr20ve faster than my sr16ve tho ... wayy wayy wayyyyy faster

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 7:15 pm
by yakuza
:D:D YUH READY YET????Image

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 7:18 pm
by Chiney
^^ BWDMC

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 7:43 pm
by Sookdeo
so chiney wat u have up your sleeve boy....tell me i will have to come your funeral jus now???? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 9:55 pm
by Civilian
yakuza, you know ... i was thinkin ... i lookin for a sponsor for that now...LOL...

but i ready for it ... it eh ready for me yet tho ... soon soon ... lol

Posted: April 26th, 2010, 10:28 pm
by Chiney
^ u using ur sr16 cams in the sr20?

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 5:52 pm
by Chiney
for this swap i wanna use my stock air box... no real different with a short ram really..unless i decide to go with cold air induction with i dont see myself doin anytime soon.

but............ if i change cams.. to either sr16ve n1 cams or sr16ve cams... should i change to either ram or cai ? or stock is fine?

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 7:09 pm
by yakuza
If you goin N1, use 3" piping, N1 engine came with 80mm MAF and 70mm throttle.

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 7:35 pm
by Chiney
wat about the normal sr16ve cams?

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 7:52 pm
by yakuza
Is up to u, but stock air box box is fine.

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 8:07 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
yakuza wrote::D:D YUH READY YET????Image

bwtma how all them ching chong men on speed so
ah waiting on the one with d 4wd p11 to jump in too :lol: :lol:

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 8:28 pm
by Chiney
aye aye
i fedup tell u i is only half chinese eh :x

doe make meh walk with meh chopper

Posted: May 3rd, 2010, 8:30 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan