sr20 de & ve extractors

YDA Auto Accessories

sr20 de & ve extractors

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » July 24th, 2010, 1:58 pm

folks i would love to know if anyone experienced trying to put the de aftermarket extractors on a ve........my mech said that it would bolt up fine.but the exhaust holes dont line up to properly.....just want to know if anyone can confirm this.cause i am getting a set of de extractors to buy......thanks

sr20ve

Re: sr20 de & ve extractors

Postby sr20ve » July 24th, 2010, 5:21 pm

wont work because the the the VE carry larger oval ports ..the DE carries a smaller circular ports.you would restrict exhaust gas flow

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » July 24th, 2010, 7:21 pm

hmmmmm.ok ok thanks alot for the info.....

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 27th, 2010, 11:17 pm

I dont think its the shape, but compare the both exhaust gaskets one ontop the other, and you will see when the ports line up the same but the 8 bolt holes are like 3-4mm higher or lower, widen the 8 DE Extractor bolt holes 4mm to the underneath of the flange and lift it when you are bolting it and it will line up

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » July 27th, 2010, 11:42 pm

ok tested it yesterday......the bolts line up perfectly but the ports kinda off.....for this to work one will need the grind down the flange to line up on the ports on the head...too much headache for me right now.lol....but the bolts line up bolt for bolt eh fellas......

yakuza

Postby yakuza » July 28th, 2010, 7:05 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:I dont think its the shape, but compare the both exhaust gaskets one ontop the other, and you will see when the ports line up the same but the 8 bolt holes are like 3-4mm higher or lower, widen the 8 DE Extractor bolt holes 4mm to the underneath of the flange and lift it when you are bolting it and it will line up

^Listen to what he said, in addition you can spot weld some washers to the flange to keep the header in the new position.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 28th, 2010, 12:27 pm

rubberz wrote:ok tested it yesterday......the bolts line up perfectly but the ports kinda off.....for this to work one will need the grind down the flange to line up on the ports on the head...too much headache for me right now.lol....but the bolts line up bolt for bolt eh fellas......

to be honest.. becuz u tested it..makes ur info alot more reliable than others comments..
unless dey can say how dey kno that info..trial and error or something

because this topic something that is very unclear around these here grounds...

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » July 28th, 2010, 2:33 pm

the guys in the US used to grind down the flange on the de manifold before ve extractors became more available. there might be dyno charts on the sr20 forum with this.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 28th, 2010, 3:07 pm

i am so studyin to bring in some de extractors and do that

or see if i can call any of the guys from the sr20 forums and have dem ship one to miami for me..i see dey get them made for themselves

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » July 28th, 2010, 3:19 pm

there's the ssac header that is made for the ve.I bought an unbranded one a few years ago from TSC on the forum. the "ebay header" referred to on the sr20 forum is the unbranded ssac header.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 28th, 2010, 3:28 pm

jus searchin through and saw that same info

the one u got from TSC works good on the sr20ve ??

by chance u got any links? i rdy to order yes..

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » July 28th, 2010, 11:23 pm

if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » July 28th, 2010, 11:58 pm

i just said that i will try it out cause this matter is so unclear to most people......

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2010, 7:27 am

swift gti funatic wrote:if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

good luck with dat..

its over 800US for jus the headers alone.. i checked my sources, so did justin, is pain!

japan doe wah sell them eitherrrrrrrrrr

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » July 29th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Chiney wrote:
swift gti funatic wrote:if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

good luck with dat..

its over 800US for jus the headers alone.. i checked my sources, so did justin, is pain!

japan doe wah sell them eitherrrrrrrrrr

lol i may have some links... just have to consult ma ppl from the land of the rising sun :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2010, 11:13 pm

cool cool

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » July 31st, 2010, 2:49 pm

well in worst case scenario... could you use the stock ve header and fabricate it with larger pipping ?
Last edited by speedfreak44 on August 8th, 2010, 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Civilian

Postby Civilian » August 7th, 2010, 9:20 pm

^^eh ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 7th, 2010, 9:39 pm

i dont see why that would not be possible..

once its just the flange alone that person using... a good wielder shud b able 2 handle dat..

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » August 8th, 2010, 10:12 am

but with regards to power band its a long shot u wont really know where u will b at untill u dyno

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2010, 9:17 pm

and if u have the exhaust system to go with it.
not talking about no set of crush bends..

proper 2.5" piping with good mandrel bends