sr20 de & ve extractors

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 1:58 pm
by YDA Auto Accessories
folks i would love to know if anyone experienced trying to put the de aftermarket extractors on a ve........my mech said that it would bolt up fine.but the exhaust holes dont line up to properly.....just want to know if anyone can confirm this.cause i am getting a set of de extractors to buy......thanks

Re: sr20 de & ve extractors

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 5:21 pm
by sr20ve
wont work because the the the VE carry larger oval ports ..the DE carries a smaller circular ports.you would restrict exhaust gas flow

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 7:21 pm
by YDA Auto Accessories
hmmmmm.ok ok thanks alot for the info.....

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 11:17 pm
by FugiTECH
I dont think its the shape, but compare the both exhaust gaskets one ontop the other, and you will see when the ports line up the same but the 8 bolt holes are like 3-4mm higher or lower, widen the 8 DE Extractor bolt holes 4mm to the underneath of the flange and lift it when you are bolting it and it will line up

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 11:42 pm
by YDA Auto Accessories
ok tested it yesterday......the bolts line up perfectly but the ports kinda off.....for this to work one will need the grind down the flange to line up on the ports on the head...too much headache for me right now.lol....but the bolts line up bolt for bolt eh fellas......

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 7:05 am
by yakuza
THE_FUGITIVES wrote:I dont think its the shape, but compare the both exhaust gaskets one ontop the other, and you will see when the ports line up the same but the 8 bolt holes are like 3-4mm higher or lower, widen the 8 DE Extractor bolt holes 4mm to the underneath of the flange and lift it when you are bolting it and it will line up

^Listen to what he said, in addition you can spot weld some washers to the flange to keep the header in the new position.

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 12:27 pm
by Chiney
rubberz wrote:ok tested it yesterday......the bolts line up perfectly but the ports kinda off.....for this to work one will need the grind down the flange to line up on the ports on the head...too much headache for me right now.lol....but the bolts line up bolt for bolt eh fellas......

to be honest.. becuz u tested it..makes ur info alot more reliable than others comments..
unless dey can say how dey kno that info..trial and error or something

because this topic something that is very unclear around these here grounds...

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 2:33 pm
by Dave-ve
the guys in the US used to grind down the flange on the de manifold before ve extractors became more available. there might be dyno charts on the sr20 forum with this.

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 3:07 pm
by Chiney
i am so studyin to bring in some de extractors and do that

or see if i can call any of the guys from the sr20 forums and have dem ship one to miami for me..i see dey get them made for themselves

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 3:19 pm
by Dave-ve
there's the ssac header that is made for the ve.I bought an unbranded one a few years ago from TSC on the forum. the "ebay header" referred to on the sr20 forum is the unbranded ssac header.

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 3:28 pm
by Chiney
jus searchin through and saw that same info

the one u got from TSC works good on the sr20ve ??

by chance u got any links? i rdy to order yes..

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 11:23 pm
by swift gti funatic
if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

Posted: July 28th, 2010, 11:58 pm
by YDA Auto Accessories
i just said that i will try it out cause this matter is so unclear to most people......

Posted: July 29th, 2010, 7:27 am
by Chiney
swift gti funatic wrote:if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

good luck with dat..

its over 800US for jus the headers alone.. i checked my sources, so did justin, is pain!

japan doe wah sell them eitherrrrrrrrrr

Posted: July 29th, 2010, 11:09 pm
by swift gti funatic
Chiney wrote:
swift gti funatic wrote:if u get hold of some rs-r extractors that would be perfect! :twisted:

good luck with dat..

its over 800US for jus the headers alone.. i checked my sources, so did justin, is pain!

japan doe wah sell them eitherrrrrrrrrr

lol i may have some links... just have to consult ma ppl from the land of the rising sun :lol:

Posted: July 29th, 2010, 11:13 pm
by Chiney
cool cool

Posted: July 31st, 2010, 2:49 pm
by speedfreak44
well in worst case scenario... could you use the stock ve header and fabricate it with larger pipping ?

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 9:20 pm
by Civilian
^^eh ?

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 9:39 pm
by Chiney
i dont see why that would not be possible..

once its just the flange alone that person using... a good wielder shud b able 2 handle dat..

Posted: August 8th, 2010, 10:12 am
by speedfreak44
but with regards to power band its a long shot u wont really know where u will b at untill u dyno

Posted: August 8th, 2010, 9:17 pm
by Chiney
and if u have the exhaust system to go with it.
not talking about no set of crush bends..

proper 2.5" piping with good mandrel bends