Page 1 of 2

WTK where does build over engine mounts with polyurethane

Posted: September 20th, 2010, 2:56 pm
by faster the better
wha do over a mount with polyurethane so i doh have to buy a new one every 5-6 months
hear bout a place down south cipero street bout once i pass couva i loss
have anywhere else closer up north does do it

Re: WTK where does build over engine mounts with polyurethan

Posted: September 20th, 2010, 4:03 pm
by Dave-ve
what engine? you may be able to get poly inserts for it.

Posted: September 21st, 2010, 9:59 am
by faster the better
fwd sr20 rear engine mount the one that like to buss

Posted: September 26th, 2010, 1:24 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
^^^get through yet?

Posted: September 27th, 2010, 8:47 am
by faster the better
nah nuh yet
still sourcing a place

Posted: September 27th, 2010, 1:46 pm
by ivar
sasco cipero street......

Posted: September 27th, 2010, 7:24 pm
by Dave-ve
if you are looking at making solid mounts, be warned, a lot of vibration gets transferred to the chassis. mine took about 4 months to settle in before vibration was tolerable. the mount lasted about 4 years before the rubber deformed and needed replacing.

Posted: September 28th, 2010, 9:08 am
by faster the better
ivar wrote:sasco cipero street......

yeah i know bout there but i will never find there nuh i go get loss and turn round

Dave-ve wrote:if you are looking at making solid mounts, be warned, a lot of vibration gets transferred to the chassis. mine took about 4 months to settle in before vibration was tolerable. the mount lasted about 4 years before the rubber deformed and needed replacing.

thats the thing self i want i cyah be changing that mount every 5 months

Posted: September 28th, 2010, 10:52 am
by Dave-ve
the place is easy to find. head west from the Mon Repos roundabout into San Fernando and turn left at the second traffic light onto Cipero street. drive till you see the first street on the right(Suttom street). sasco is the 2nd or 3rd building opposite this.

Posted: September 28th, 2010, 11:50 am
by faster the better
i will try and find the place
or i hadda get a guide
saturday i will swing down there

Posted: September 30th, 2010, 1:34 pm
by abbow
SASCO 652-8786

If you are close by and cant find it...call the number and he will direct you from wherever you are.

Dont do the solid mounts...have it done with the spaces. it works better than the original thing. I had all my mounts redone and it works well.

Posted: September 30th, 2010, 1:46 pm
by faster the better
thanx bro for the advise
will do that didnt know they did it with spaces
but thanx i will look for the place saturday

Posted: September 30th, 2010, 8:06 pm
by yakuza
Something like this you looking for?

Posted: October 1st, 2010, 5:35 pm
by +Mello+
^^^ level vibration!!!

Posted: October 1st, 2010, 6:15 pm
by Dave-ve
^ but with improved acceleration.

Posted: October 1st, 2010, 6:29 pm
by 5forward
Ofcourse..one thing for another.Plus this this wont mashop as fast even if d driver like to "mash out" often

Posted: October 3rd, 2010, 12:38 am
by dreadman
polyurethane bushings are great to use but even better with the spaces as abbow said......it allows more movement between the inner bushin to the outter housing creatin less vibration felt from inside d vehicle.....dats y original bushings have spaces on some sides of the bushings

Posted: October 3rd, 2010, 7:21 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
^^^well, as said above bro....u can't have something for nothing! pros and cons! :|

Posted: October 4th, 2010, 9:04 am
by faster the better
good advise bout the spaces in the mounts
i wha get it done soon

Posted: October 6th, 2010, 9:09 pm
by Zed Sqd
Sasco is good if you just want a mount done over in the normal "rubber". That's what they do.
Be warned, you have to walk with the old mount before they give you one (hopefully thay have one that was already made over). Also, they just do a simple moulded mount that is not like the original. i.e. with the number of spaces and orientation of the spaces relative to the mount housing to minimize vibration.

Posted: October 7th, 2010, 7:09 pm
by faster the better
i have the old mount and all here
but they does do it in polyurethane????
i doh wha no normal rubber

Posted: October 7th, 2010, 7:36 pm
by Zed Sqd
not polyu. normal rubber compound.

Posted: October 13th, 2010, 11:48 pm
by imperial
The local polyurethane is RUBBISH.
I did over my gearbox mount and rear engine (x member) (SR20DET FWD) mount because my whole front suspension is polyurethane (Energy Suspension... never done ting) and within 2 months... it mash tuh F!CK up!
$1000 gone down de drain.
I went and had it done over by Sasco... everything back to normal.
My theory is... with that kinda power... you have to give up some luxuries... and the vibration wasn't so unbearable as to stop driving the car totally and I re did ALL my mounts to SOLID rubber mounts.
Car is driven everyday... my old man doesn't complain either.
Had it in the car about 5 years now (done by Sasco), I jus went and play farse and try the polyurethane that I see a machine shop advertising in the express...

So its up to you... but in my view, the LOCAL polyurethane is rubbish.

Posted: October 14th, 2010, 3:37 pm
by faster the better
scene scene i open to advise right now cause the new mount aint buss yet

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 8:51 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
^^^what u decided? i need to replace my sr tranny mount!

Posted: March 18th, 2011, 9:51 am
by NXTREME
sasco ftw....i did my swap 9 months now an the mount they made for me still in top condition, hadda carry the others to make over....

Posted: March 20th, 2011, 3:01 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
went yesterday by sasco and made over my tranny mount.SOLID,no spaces!

the youth man kept askin me if i sure i wanted it solid! lol

installed this morning....have to carry it for a run to see how she pullin! :twisted:

*fraid to leave home,them phagwa people might spray down meh car!* :shock: :oops:

Posted: March 21st, 2011, 6:53 am
by NXTREME
yeh they doh recommend full solid, the metal bushing where the bolt passes through usually lets loose from the rubber after a while.

me ent know when u goh check me to tag along for a test run too :lol:

Posted: March 21st, 2011, 7:32 am
by faster the better
how the feeling yuh getting plenty vibration??

Posted: April 1st, 2011, 10:16 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
NXTREME wrote:yeh they doh recommend full solid, the metal bushing where the bolt passes through usually lets loose from the rubber after a while.

me ent know when u goh check me to tag along for a test run too :lol:

when u ready! :P