Page 1 of 2

Irridium Plugs

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 11:20 am
by turbosingh
I have noticed recently the number of inferior NGK Irridium plugs in the country.Bought a set of brand new plugs for my RB an the car breaking up when boost comes in.Then i bought some Bosch an the car reving out clean.

Re: Irridium Plugs

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 1:06 pm
by 5forward
Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

But what exactly do u mean by "breaking up" ?

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 11:02 pm
by ~Vēġó~
there was a thread somewhere about imitation ngk plugs...

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 11:24 pm
by QG
Ohhh i now hearing about it....i will do a search on those fake plugs

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 6:30 am
by turbosingh
5forward wrote:Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

Misfireing or detonation.

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 7:40 am
by 5forward
Scene.Good thing i bought the super 4

Posted: March 18th, 2011, 9:49 am
by NXTREME
turbosingh wrote:
5forward wrote:Thanks for the heads up.Im running the bosch super 4(4 sprang plug)

Misfireing or detonation.

i bought a set of the NGK, worked fine for 3 months, after that i had the same problem, purchased another set from a different supplier in January, so far so good. i hear the v-power, as long as gapped properly, they work fine as well.

Posted: May 2nd, 2011, 10:00 am
by aidey
:-( Changed plugs in my rb few weeks ago.Hope i dont get these problems.Used the NGK Iridiums

Posted: May 3rd, 2011, 10:26 am
by NXTREME
careful who allyuh buying from yes.

Posted: May 3rd, 2011, 11:17 am
by turbosingh
NXTREME wrote:careful who allyuh buying from yes.

Posted: May 10th, 2011, 6:32 am
by THE SYNDICATE
i bought my set from gerard...

Posted: May 10th, 2011, 9:51 pm
by ~Vēġó~

Posted: May 10th, 2011, 9:59 pm
by turbosingh
~Vēġó~ wrote:Fake NGK Spark Plugs

Very Good info Vega!

Posted: May 11th, 2011, 5:38 am
by NXTREME
i goin an look for some HKS or sumting yes...

Posted: May 11th, 2011, 8:06 am
by THE SYNDICATE
turbosingh wrote:

Very Good info Vega!

X2!

Posted: May 20th, 2011, 8:24 am
by S.W 15
I have Irriidium plugs in my RB25 for almost a year now and never had any problems. Good info on the fake ones, will definitley look out for that when I am buying again!

Posted: May 22nd, 2011, 8:49 pm
by CD4Accord
I'm glad that I am importing plugs from the states for all my vehicles, at least that way I dont have to worry about the fakes...

A real shame that the consumer has to be abused like this in T+T

Posted: May 22nd, 2011, 8:51 pm
by 5forward
i think the "denso" irridium are good though...correct me if i'm wrong

Posted: May 23rd, 2011, 12:24 am
by RyoTech PerFormance
We at Ryotech Peformance will like to inform our customers that ALL NGK / NTK products sold buy us are directly imported from NGK Japan and are 100% Genuine.

I had a customer who bought a set of iridiums or platinums (can't recall) from a popular NGK retailer and the grounding strap actually broke off near the apex. They didn't even last him 24hrs...... please check for genuine markings when buying to prevent problems.

Posted: May 23rd, 2011, 3:49 pm
by CD4Accord
Denso makes two kinds of iridium plug.. A long life version and an ultra-fine tip "performance" version..

If going denso, go for the long life... The shorter lifespan isnt worth it for the .05hp or whatever the finer tip will produce..

That said, if you can get genuine NGK iridium IX, then its a superb plug..

Posted: May 23rd, 2011, 4:43 pm
by 5forward
how do i go about telling the difference between the denso "long life" version and the "performance" version?

Posted: May 23rd, 2011, 4:56 pm
by eViLwOn

Fantastic info.
Thanxs VegA!!!

Posted: May 23rd, 2011, 9:48 pm
by CD4Accord
The Denso plugs have different product codes.. I dont know them offhand but it can easily be found online...

The tip diameter is also significantly different between the two models and so is the packaging, naming etc..

Sorry I cant search right now but im on the school cumputers.. Just check out denso website

Posted: May 30th, 2011, 2:41 pm
by dreadman
i recently bought a ga15 head an block an with it i got denso plugs out of japan(not iridiums)........working good. actually i find it workin better dan d iridiums

Posted: May 30th, 2011, 6:46 pm
by rez
i need to buy plugs for my rb20det but i am going to tune for 350hp what is a good spark plug to use.

Posted: May 30th, 2011, 11:35 pm
by ~Vēġó~
no problem guys.....glad to share the info!

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 3:39 am
by CD4Accord
Well, my NGK iridium IX needed to come out of the accord... I don't know if one or all are fouled, but when I had the spark plug oil seal leaking, some oil got in there and really messed up my plugs..

Changed the seals and cleaned the plugs but they never seem to have recovered and just as a temporary diagnosis measure I threw in some ngk v-power and the car idles fine again..
I guess incidents like this remind me that sometimes you can never really get the full life out of iridium yes..

Next rounds I may try the Denso Platinum TT... For about $2.50 US each in the states why not

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 11:28 am
by 5forward
If im buying online ill buy the denso iridium...but which is better: IK20 OR IK16 ?

another question: My car (corolla dx wagon) has a sticker on the head cover stating to use spark plugs with two electrodes...how important is this?

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 2:02 pm
by CD4Accord
The difference between the IK20 and IK16 is the heat range... 16 equates to NGK heat range 5, 20 equates to 6...

For my particular engine the 20/6 is what is required because of the compression ratio etc...

Concerning the twin tip, I can't see it being that important but if you want piece of mind just buy some Denso Platinum TT for $2.50 US and that way you get your twin tip...

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 10:26 pm
by 5forward
alrite...but doesnt a spark plug with 2 electrodes suppose to look like this http://www.google.tt/imgres?imgurl=http ... 40&bih=809 ? ...the plug in the sticker looks like that