TIIDA IPDM PROBLEMS 2006+ Owners Beware!!!

silver bullet

TIIDA IPDM PROBLEMS 2006+ Owners Beware!!!

Postby silver bullet » November 30th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Tuners I am posting this up because I think it's important. The car is a 2006 Nissan Tiida RORO bought almost two years ago. About two months ago the car started shutting down suddenly while driving. Really strange, the car would be cruising along and then without warning the engine would just stall. First time it happened we thought it may have been some bad gas bought(uses premium).

After using out the gas and refilling from another gas station, drove the car and it worked great for about two days, then it happened again.This continued on and off for a few weeks, with the stalls getting more frequent. We scheduled to carry the car for a scan but before we could do that the car stalled again while driving, but this time would not start back.

We eventually got the car to the garage, the car was scanned and the mechanic said it was the IPDM(Intelligent Power Distribution Module) take a look at the attached pics. I had never heard of that before, but we were lucky he was able to locate a used one.It's the black box that sits in the engine bay right behind the battery. We installed it and the car worked perfectly, as a matter of fact I noticed an obvious improvement in fuel consumption.

Then three days ago it happened again. Now this is a very scary problem because it happens at any time, cruising, throttling or sitting in traffic. I decided to look up this problem and was shocked to read that this was a documented issue with this year and model car.And as a matter of fact was part of a massive global recall. This link http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor. ... CE00216AA5 is one of many publications of this issue.

Chances are the used module we received was also manufactured during this period, so we're in the process of sourcing a newer one. Now there are a few fixes for those who feel comfortable fixing ecus and fuse boxes. Here is a link I found http://www.clubtitan.org/forums/showthread.php?t=61920 ..Again one of many that give fixes and possible work arounds in the event of a stall. It seems that the problem is a defective ignition relay (A/T ECU IGN) inside of the IDPM.

Without this information we would have been hunting looking at all sorts of possibilities, ECU,AFM,Injectors,Fuel Pump,Battery e.t.c. But it's a documented design flaw in these vehicles.
I looked around on tuner to see if anybody posted this up yet, didn't find anything so I posted this up. I hope this is helpful to anybody right now who is experiencing similar problems with their car, and also for those who have 2006 or even 2007 models to get theirs checked out.

Cheers
IMG00043-20111130-1513.jpg
IMG00044-20111130-1513.jpg

bigchief3679

Re: TIIDA IPDM PROBLEMS 2006+ Owners Beware!!!

Postby bigchief3679 » November 30th, 2011, 6:11 pm

great info.

QG

Postby QG » November 30th, 2011, 9:59 pm

http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=66354

Seems like only Nissan uses this Module (IPDM)...I did some digging into it.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » December 1st, 2011, 4:10 pm

really great info!

elevated1

Postby elevated1 » December 3rd, 2011, 8:20 pm

buy toyota and throw that nissan

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 6:49 pm

pray Tarantula that this doh happen!!!!!

AKI

Postby AKI » February 23rd, 2012, 2:48 pm

great info , i also had to change my ipdm and i drive a 2005 bz11 cube nissan its exactly the same part
:oops:

Postby black start » February 25th, 2012, 2:01 am

good find op...

QG

Postby QG » March 7th, 2012, 11:57 pm

AKI wrote:great info , i also had to change my ipdm and i drive a 2005 bz11 cube nissan its exactly the same part
:oops:

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy and Wingroad uses the same IPDM box too.
Pressure!!!

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 9th, 2012, 6:30 pm

Has anyone heard of this problem with the local Tiida?

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » March 10th, 2012, 11:27 pm

what was the cost of the replacement part and do u know if N&M or the motorist wouldstock this new??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2012, 4:26 pm

would this cause a frequent frying of coil packs...particularly coil pack in cylinder 2????

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 15th, 2012, 8:14 am

one of my friends having the same problems u listed above in her 2006 wingroad...car has been to 3 mechanics & 2 electricians and they still can't find the problem....car out of service bout 3 weeks now.....

QG

Postby QG » March 16th, 2012, 12:10 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:Has anyone heard of this problem with the local Tiida?

Yes! A guy that works at Neal and massy told me they were installing headlights on a Tiida for a customer...and they managed to destroy the IPDM box. They HAD NONE IN STOCK and had to buy it foreign used at the bamboo.

He said it was a bit costly and VERY hard to find!!

They were unaware of how easily this box gets damaged. He advised using a separate current wire when it comes to installation on the electrical system.

After that ordeal...Neal and massy were able to stock those IPDMs and it sells for a sh*t load of money by them :lol: :lol:

QG

Postby QG » March 16th, 2012, 12:24 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:would this cause a frequent frying of coil packs...particularly coil pack in cylinder 2????

Doing a little forum digging over the Internet, I did not came upon any coil being affected by this IPDM issue.

Once they changed it everything worked just right!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 18th, 2012, 2:04 am

I guess that it's a further problem then.....thanks there QG....

QG

Postby QG » March 18th, 2012, 1:08 pm

You never can tell eh, sometimes one problem can lead to the next.

No probs!!

silver bullet

Postby silver bullet » November 20th, 2012, 10:02 pm

Quick update. Car still exhibited issues with sudden shutdowns, loss in power and hard starts. We eventually changed out the entire harness. It's been little over six months now, and the car works better than first purchased, no issues what so ever I hope this info is helpful to someone in a similar position.

QG

Postby QG » November 27th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Thanks for the update!

improvednewbie

Postby improvednewbie » January 29th, 2013, 8:46 am

so the harness was the problem after all and not the module?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 30th, 2013, 1:31 am

i sell them @ $800

Seedragon

Postby Seedragon » August 12th, 2013, 8:44 pm

Anil_S

Do u have the harness or the IPDM , is it the same as the wingroad ?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 12th, 2013, 11:35 pm

I have the ipdm, like 8 of them but they carry different codes too match the harness/ecu. if you look @ the guy photo you will see "USE SPECIFIED FUSE ONLY" 2. You need too match that. I could get harness if you want

Seedragon

Postby Seedragon » August 17th, 2013, 9:03 am

Anil tried calling u, please contact me asap.
I need your advise and assistance to find a y 12 wingroad rider harness asap.

shesh

Postby shesh » August 11th, 2014, 9:35 pm

I got a friend with a 2008 tiida.... stalls now an then, check light comes on/off intermittent as well. anyone aware of these issues? 1 mechanic said its an electrical prob.....

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 15th, 2014, 11:31 am

jeez and ppl telling me sell my ole car and buy a newer one :skurry:

whizzard

Postby whizzard » February 13th, 2015, 9:15 am

As they did a recall, is it safe to assume that this issue is resolved in newer models?

Advent

Postby Advent » February 20th, 2015, 11:09 am

im having this issue in a civic :/