CARVtech March almost finished

CARVtech

CARVtech March almost finished

Postby CARVtech » February 6th, 2012, 8:39 am

Well it's been a long time. Tuning and hopefully ready to make some runs in Camden in March.

Hope you like......

http://www.carvtechpc.com/carvtech-projects.html

click on the link with the March to see a few pictures. Dyno sheet will go in there once finished.
IMG_0550 - Copy.jpg

Conrad

Re: CARVtech March almost finished

Postby Conrad » February 6th, 2012, 9:49 am

Ooooh, sweet!

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » February 6th, 2012, 11:57 am

Some insane projects there buddy, especially the subaru. Let me know if you looking for a test driver....will gladly do it for FREE.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 6th, 2012, 4:47 pm

400 hp N/A with a spray

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 9th, 2012, 1:39 pm

Ooooooh Hondas

marlener

Postby marlener » February 9th, 2012, 7:25 pm

I posted this car on an English website and the lads were rather impressed,a bit doubtful but impressed and waiting for dyno figures.I want to do this to my K10 but only in my dreams because money don`t present it self.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 10th, 2012, 4:58 am

What English site was that?
I put it up on one of the Micra clubs in the UK when it had the SR16 motor in. Some years ago it was on the SR20Forum as well when I used to be on there. The SR16 is sold now.
The engine you see in there was built almost three years ago and never run till now.

Postby turbosingh » February 10th, 2012, 6:23 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Ooooooh Hondas

marlener

Postby marlener » February 10th, 2012, 7:56 pm

I post it in the Micra club, that probably the same place you did years ago,I must say they like what they see and I can`t blame dem, 400bhp with a non turbo is impressive.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 11th, 2012, 6:00 am

http://www.micra.org.uk/threads/neo-vvl ... ost-406845

http://www.sr20forum.com/sr20ve-sr16ve/ ... lides.html

As of now the car is un-tuned. If I do not blow it to pieces, +200whp from the motor should be no problem at all. The rest of the planned 400whp will be nitrous........again no big deal. 400whp from a turbo motor does not raise eyebrows, why should it NA. Just a different power adder to the one everyone else likes.

marlener

Postby marlener » February 11th, 2012, 8:27 am

Hey saw the post in the Micra club and yes they were impressed even back then,you are being a bit modest though,a lot of guys not even making that power with their turbo because they can`t tune it properly,would love to pick your mind inbox on a project I`m working on,although this one might be using a neurons and spare brain matter.
I know where I`ll be in March when it is finish tuning though.you should looking in on the March club and see how we talk big with our small power.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 11th, 2012, 3:18 pm

N/a Sr20ve's have reached the 300hp mark raw power, crazy stuff.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » February 11th, 2012, 4:04 pm

300bhp equates to 150/litre.
The DE "high port" head SRs that were done by IES for the BTCC made just over 300bhp at 8000rpm.
The VE was used to make the same power at the same rpm and only used for reliability of the valve assembly, with no VVL actuation.

This is not about power as much as it is about being (1) the only head like this, (2) the only internal dimensional configuration like this and (3) engineered, built and tuned by me.
This motor will easily make over 300bhp, but to push the rods I selected with nitrous I am risking the bottom end, so 400hp at the wheels is probably in all honesty on the very top end of what I want to push this motor to anyway.

Any NA 2.0 NA 4 cylinder making over 300hp at the wheels is either (1) a nice fat lie, or (2) doing it well above 10,000rpm. Seeing is believing and my dyno sheet will be on my web site.......whatever the power it makes.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 11th, 2012, 10:14 pm

oh crap i made a mistake sorry , its an n/a sr24ve what made the 300hp i believe

mpower

Postby mpower » February 16th, 2012, 12:44 pm

yup its was a sr24ve, and now they are on a sr27ve.

http://www.sr20-forum.com/vvl/45669-project-sr27ve.html

INSANEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!

Postby black start » February 18th, 2012, 5:58 pm

^sr27ve you say? *heart attack*

Hater69

Postby Hater69 » February 19th, 2012, 9:25 am

OOOOOOH boy, Look at Horn for CARVtech... :drinking:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 21st, 2012, 8:01 pm

running methanol over racegas will help make some higher figures

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » March 8th, 2012, 6:42 pm

With the scoop and ram-pipes facing forward I discovered a terrible combination.................with the rain. Hope I can get it tuned for this Sunday.

marlener

Postby marlener » March 8th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Wait yuh running the car this sunday in Camdeen?Ah coming.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » March 8th, 2012, 7:00 pm

I am hoping, but I am up against all odds with this rain.

marlener

Postby marlener » March 12th, 2012, 8:10 pm

hey what happened on sunday man, didn`t make it, did you run the March?

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » March 12th, 2012, 9:10 pm

Well it was pressure. In short:

Tuned on the dyno on Friday and Saturday. Chasing the cam timing and trying to get it correct. With the ITBs on top of the motor it's a PITA to get to the cam gears so things are slow.
Anyway, went on Sunday to Camden in an attempt to see how it behaves.........not to hammer the car!
1st Run: Start only: Front wheels shook loose (I forgot to add 1/4 spacers to seat the wheels correctly). Two years since driving last, so I simply forgot about this.
2nd Run: Start OK, ran through 1st, into 2nd and onto 3rd........car leaned out drastically so was not able to push it.

On the 2nd run I found that the throttle linkage hit the scoop and bent over not allowing the car to idle. From the engine torquing backward.
The lean issue seems to be as a result of having the Ram Pipes facing forward and as road speed goes up so does the inlet air pressure..........learning curve!

Also with the SR16 I used to run out to 9500rpm, so 22in slicks were OK. With this motor I am holding at 8000rpm, so the 22's are too small. I need to put on some 24's and try again.

No use of Nitrous at all. Not ready for that yet.

So it's back to the dyno sometime this week to check on the cams again (changed timing again today).
Now have the ECU monitoring inlet air pressure at the Ram Pipe entry, so we'll see if this helps the leaning issue.

All told a steep learning curve while trying not to hurt the engine or damage the car.
I'm sure to the on looker and nay-sayers it was piss poor.......but EBMC. It takes time to sort and get it right.

marlener

Postby marlener » March 13th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Well it`s good to know that you are ironing out the little nicks, the car has a lot of potential and I can`t waith to see it after it has been sorted out.How did it do on the dyno.Wait those 22s you are referring are the rims size!!!Any problems with traction?

mpower

Postby mpower » March 14th, 2012, 2:25 pm

can't imagine the amount of knowledge involved here. big up!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 14th, 2012, 3:15 pm

amazing project !!!!! wat time do u estimate or hope for carvtech , i know that u are testing , but u must have some personal goal for this car with its current set up ,
i cant wait to see a nitrous run btw

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » March 14th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Well the car ran a 13.0 on 100shot with the SR16.
This engine (without nitrous) already makes the same torque and power as the SR16 did on nitrous.
Once I get the cams timed optimally to suit the extractors and the inlet manifold I plan on hitting it with a 130shot.
The car will not make 400whp as I originally planned, I do not want to break the gearbox or the engine. This engine was originally built dry sump for my circuit car, so it is not designed to use nitrous.

Based on the target power numbers and the calculator I use for ETs the car should be capable of mid 11 second 1/4 mile times. Will it, probably not, as Camden for some reason seems to be about a second slower than the proven cars are doing now.

To be honest, I just want it to work well, forget the time, I have not driven this car in two years and to park it up again with a damaged engine or box would be a shame as I hardly ever have time for these things.

marlener

Postby marlener » March 23rd, 2012, 7:04 pm

what`s the latest with the car,I know you say you don`t have much time to work on it,what did you do about the rain getting into the intake?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 24th, 2012, 11:41 am

CARVtech wrote:Well the car ran a 13.0 on 100shot with the SR16.
This engine (without nitrous) already makes the same torque and power as the SR16 did on nitrous.
Once I get the cams timed optimally to suit the extractors and the inlet manifold I plan on hitting it with a 130shot.
The car will not make 400whp as I originally planned, I do not want to break the gearbox or the engine. This engine was originally built dry sump for my circuit car, so it is not designed to use nitrous.

Based on the target power numbers and the calculator I use for ETs the car should be capable of mid 11 second 1/4 mile times. Will it, probably not, as Camden for some reason seems to be about a second slower than the proven cars are doing now.

To be honest, I just want it to work well, forget the time, I have not driven this car in two years and to park it up again with a damaged engine or box would be a shame as I hardly ever have time for these things.

im sure it cud break in 11 with a good 60 foot (most people think that you need 500+ figures to run 11 , when 300 in a light car could ) , have u weighed the car as yet with the set up ?
and what suspension set up in the front ?