Y12 Rider sputtering idle - PROBLEM SOLVED
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 6:58 am
by Premera
Started the car yesterday afternoon to leave office and noticed a rough idle, no check light came on though...........whilst accelerating I noticed the sputtering sound like a Subaru wrx and it felt like there was a missing.
Any ideas ?
Re: Y12 Rider sputtering idle ( like a subaru )
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 7:45 am
by Premera
thanks......could it be the throttle body too ? Thinking about it now, a few mornings when I start the car it used to sound like a variance in the air flow through the exhaust and then it led to this problem ?
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 8:30 am
by cinco
Yuh wash d engine?
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 8:37 am
by RaLLiArT
check plugs or coil pack.
if you have individual coil packs just unplug one at a time and see which one not making a difference.
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 11:37 am
by TRENDSETA
Coil pack.
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 12:01 pm
by Premera
No engine wash but drove thru rain yesterday and had water on road.
No check light on dash so thinking its plugs or throttle and not coil packs ?
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 3:25 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
i have all the parts for the engine also, i forgot to tell you
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 10:50 pm
by QG
I used wrong plugs already and check light came on within minutes. Smoke was coming out from the engine as well.
Just saying...If he is using wrong plugs he should have gotten an engine warning light while car is in operation.
Posted: February 7th, 2014, 10:53 pm
by QG
Premera wrote:No engine wash but drove thru rain yesterday and had water on road.
No check light on dash so thinking its plugs or throttle and not coil packs ?
A diagnostic scan should assist you.
Posted: February 8th, 2014, 3:18 pm
by Premera
Ok so we changed the plugs and checked the coilpacks ( all working good ). Still gettin a lil sputterin but not as bad as before. Gonna service injectors and will update.
One of the old plugs was a lil wet and smelt bad when removed.
Posted: February 8th, 2014, 10:42 pm
by QG
I serviced my injectors recently, it is a lengthy process due to bow these engines are designed.
Posted: February 9th, 2014, 2:36 pm
by Premera
Update 09 Feb - changed plugs and realised it was number 3 coilpack was defective......got one last nite from Anil Sooknanan on de forum ( bess quality parts at bess prices ).
Changed coilpack this morning and serviced injectors..........runnin sweet now. Working bess.
Next step, suspension and brake changeover and oil n tranny change.
See the before and after injector pics below
Posted: February 9th, 2014, 3:22 pm
by Premera
Before

- 1781436_10152181737062270_1996097495_n.jpg (9.11 KiB) Viewed 3963 times
After

- 1781712_10152181736722270_409307854_n.jpg (10.34 KiB) Viewed 3963 times